1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bad Bios flash on GA-MA790x-DS4 rev1.0

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by n0tiert, Sep 17, 2008.

  1. n0tiert

    n0tiert

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    925 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Main - Germany
    Hi m8´s ,

    I have a problem with my Mainboard Gigabyte GA-MA790x-DS4
    I tried to update my Bios with latest from Gigabyte: ma79xds4.f5c
    Did it from USB Stick (Like several others too), all seem´s OK since there was no Error in Post.....
    After Reboot i only get a Black Screen and PC try´s to do some from cd-rom drive....
    (Dunno if it search´s for single bios.bin)

    My try´s:
    Placed old PCI Card inside 1 memory stick hdd & dvd-rom
    (matrox mystique works !)
    Dos Boot CD
    AUTOEXEC.BAT
    ibmdos
    flashspi.exe bios.bin
    even with awardflash.exe /../.. i had no luck
    Unplugged PSU & MB Battery for 24h to get checksum failure ... nope not work



    The Strange thing is if i place Mainboard Driver CD in it stops checking drive
    since i don´t see what he try´s i dunno what i should do
    on any other it (my bootdisks) forces to load whatever

    Checked the web and found this:

    http://forums.mydigitallife.info/showpost.php?p=26329&postcount=5

    On my Mainboard they placed МХ25L4005 instead of МХ25L8005
    so i dunno if that might help in my case to force checksum failure on main bios chip
    to gain fallback on 2nd bios chip ... i also have no switch in manual.


    My Bios Chips:

    [​IMG]

    might one of you have a idea !

    If nothings helps i go for RMA on Saturday i hope the Store change it directly and not sending it to Gigabyte might be a long time to get it back :(

    thx

    n0tiert
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2008
  2. allen337

    allen337

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    958 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Danville IL
  3. n0tiert

    n0tiert

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    925 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Main - Germany
  4. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,405 (4.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,718
    well the next time you want to do a bios flash, purchase a bios chip for your mobo from this site encoded with the bios you wanted,

    http://www.biosmedic.com/

    http://www.bios-repair.co.uk/

    that way you have a spare chip to flash in case of failure of the other. You can recover a certain way but it can be dangerous without the right tools to recover from a bad bios flash.
    also you may want to look at this site for some basics on bios flashing, best bet is to use a floppy disk and not a USB drive or Winflash.

    http://www.loggan26.aquiss.com/Custom_Flash.html

    i know that site is for DFI boards, but the flashing of bios is all the same just about, just gotta make sure you get the right bios for your board- aka model and revision, to look for revision of the board look at the silk screen.
     
  5. n0tiert

    n0tiert

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    925 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Main - Germany


    Yeeeah great idea, but the Bios chip is solder on the MB :laugh:
    (as u might seen on the image) so if i solder arround the guaranty
    is lost !
    and a dos based flash from usb, or Boot-CD is not that dangerous
    than flashing from a dos disk ?! isn´t it ?

    the Shop changed it without any questions and no need to pay a single $

    but m8 thx anyway for the great try

    n0tiert
     
  6. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,405 (4.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,718
    looks like they cut corners with that board by soldering the chip, you could have the board sent in to that same company i believe to have sockets installed for the bios chips, so you can swap them out for different ones, My system uses a Mod Bios.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page