1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bad Bios Flash!

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by binladenpl, Apr 30, 2008.

  1. binladenpl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    118 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hello, I was installing different bioses to see if i can get my xbox drive connected throught the motherboard sata. I installed 1008 and it did not work so i chose to go for the 1009 beta , i had to force because the string was mismatched i am 100% its the bios for my motherboard. Now my computer wont post. It wont beep after i turn it on and nothing on the screen.


    My hdd and cdroms spin up tought not the floppy.

    What should i do help
     
  2. mag96 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Try recovery jumper
     
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,156 (12.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,683
    If all else fails and the bios that you flashed on the motherboard is bad, you basically need a new bios chip IF the bios chip is replaceable. Judging by a picture of your motherboard (if it was the correct picture), your bios chip may be soldiered on, in which case the board may be dead. If you can replace the chip, you can get them here: www.biosman.com
     
  4. binladenpl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    118 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Where is the recovery jumper>??
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,156 (12.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,683
    It's in your motherboards manual. If you don't have the manual it can be downloaded on Asus's support site.
     
  6. binladenpl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    118 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Recovery jumper is the clear cmos and system settings jumper>???
     
  7. binladenpl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    118 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I cant find anything about the recovery jumper. Some one help me
     
  8. binladenpl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    118 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I have "Clear RTC RAM/CMOS (CLRTC1) is this the recovery jumper?
     
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,156 (12.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,683
    Yes. It may also help to take the battery out for about five minutes.
     
  10. binladenpl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    118 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    its out

    taking out the batt is the same as the jumper?
     
  11. binladenpl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    118 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    if nothing can be done................this is when i can shoot my self in the head
     
  12. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    How exactly did you flash your bios. Did you flash it while running windows or in the bios? And take out the battery for five minutes put it back in and try again.
     
  13. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,831 (6.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,355
    on a clear RTC it is supposed to be move RTC jumper to pins 2&3 then remove battery ...wait 5-10mins....replace battery, and put RTC jumper back to pins1&2.
     
  14. mag96 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    it depends on your mb
     
  15. mon74

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    174 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Ensenada, Mexico
    Remember to also unplug your psu for a while, it has helped in clearing the CMOS when the battery is out... :D
     
  16. binladenpl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    118 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    i flashed with awdflash throu bios, on this flash it was weird because the first few (around 5-10) blocks were erased and programed, on other flashes the first few blocks were not removed and not programed.

    i turn it off for like 2 hours now and even the psu and battery and still nothing
     
  17. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,831 (6.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,355
    Sounds to me that you didnt tick the flash all part of winflash where it turns all the blocks the same color prior to flashing....As mentioned at this point if the BIOS is socketed, concider yourself luck and get a new bios chip from www.biosman.com .

    Other wise if the bios is not socketed, I suggest 2 things...


    1 Go look for new mobo, flash has fubar'd that chip.

    2 try to RMA, and be honest and tell them it was a bad flash, see if they will help you!
     
  18. binladenpl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    118 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    ok i will let it go fu*k this crap pc.

    Can you look through my list and tell me if its a good choice. all from newegg. all other parts like hdd psu cd dvd rom iwill take from old pc as psu is new and 500watt


    EVGA 512-P3-N801-AR GeForce 8800GT 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail
    Item #: N82E16814130318
    Return Policy: Limited Non-Refundable 30-Day Return Policy

    -$20.00 Instant
    $30.00 Mail-in Rebate

    $204.99
    $184.99

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI MCP ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
    Item #: N82E16813131013
    Return Policy: Limited 30-Day Return Policy



    $134.99

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail
    Item #: N82E16811129021
    Return Policy: Standard Return Policy

    -$20.00 Instant


    $139.99
    $119.99
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ - Retail
    Item #: N82E16820231098
    Return Policy: Memory (Modules, USB) Return Policy

    -$35.00 Instant


    $83.99
    $48.99
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Brisbane 2.6GHz Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core Black Edition Processor Model ADO5000DSWOF - Retail
    Item #: N82E16819103194
    Return Policy: Processors (CPUs) Return Policy



    $93.99
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    total + shipping = 616.90 - Worth it??

    if someone can make a cheap and good setup please let me know or suggest something
     
  19. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,156 (12.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,683
  20. binladenpl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    118 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    every thing alse is ok?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page