1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

bad company 2 white screen

Discussion in 'Games' started by caleb, Jun 25, 2010.

  1. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,551 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    Hey

    Just got myself some 3870 gigabyte card so I bought BC2 and gave it a shot. Instead of playing I get random white screens. I can hear the game and it responds to mouse clicks but randomly it just stops for a few secs and then the video goes completly white.

    Any clues ? I just installed it and set stuff to LOW in 3D as usual with low GFX
    (drivers from ati page yesterady,win7 64bit and rest as in spcs)
     
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,282
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Use the 10.4a driver for BF:BC2. Both 10.5 and 10.6 drivers are quite problematic with that app, and although AMD states these two drivers feature fixes for multi-monitor users, they actually made things much worse.

    You should be able to find 10.4a here on the site somewhere. In the end, the issue you have does seem to be the driver failing to recover properly after a crash. I've yet to find a driver that completely eliminates the problem 100%.
     
  3. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,551 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    lol ati :)
     
  4. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,185 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,708
    Have you done a clean install of the drivers lately?
     
  5. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,282
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I've got a fresh OS to test drivers with, and my comments are based on a fresh install, as I'm still trying to deal with my Eyefinity issues.

    10.5 made the "big cursor" issue worse for me, and 10.6 will eventually crash in Corssfire Eyefinity, and BFBC2 isn't the only app affected, but by and far, it's the worst.

    It's like they made a signifigant change in 10.5, and then optimized this change for performance in 10.6, but the fact that they have released 2 crossfire profiles to deal with BFBC2 tells methat there is a big issue with BC2 and these recent drivers.
     
    caleb says thanks.
  6. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,185 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,708
    I was talking to the OP. His problem may not be as big an issue as yours.
     
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,282
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    True enough, he's not even running the same gen of gpu. But it's also not just ATi users affected by this problem. Info can't hurt...if he has the same problems, with differnt gpus, we can look elsewhere for the problem, ykwim?
     
  8. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,185 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,708
    ykwim? Sorry I'm getting old.
     
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,282
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    you know what I mean. heh.

    EDIT: I got a 3870 here, I should load it up and see what happens, but I haven't the time at the moment..maybe tonight I can get around to doing it.
     
  10. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,185 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,708
    Isnt the 3xxx series EOL? If so I would look for the last driver supported.
     
    caleb says thanks.
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,282
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Maybe..but i think just up to the HD2xxx series do not get full driver support at this point.
     
    caleb says thanks.
  12. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    this same thing happens to me if I run it in DX10 mode on my gtx 260's. try getting the bfbcs config launcher and manually make it run dx9 mode
     
    caleb says thanks.
  13. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,551 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    Thanks a lot with this. Changing to DX9 sorted this out. Too bad it looks like BF2 now but what else could I expect from this 3 epochs ago hardware.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page