1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bad Flash HD 6870

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by nona, Nov 2, 2012.

  1. Doomy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    19 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    you wanna read the thread ? again buddy
    already confirmed that its bricked beyond all normal methods of recovery
    dead or not you short the wrong set of pins you have a good chance of wreaking it is a last resort and its not something for someone with out a good bit of experience should attempt you can hold power to ground because its A GROUND you put power to one of the serial pins and good bye sally .... usually the reason for the stern tone was to make him STOP because he was playing with forces he didn't understand .... that usually ends badly
  2. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,253 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,420
    ya i read through everything that was posted and he exhausted every means of recovery without taking it to a shop, but of course he possibly could have damaged the card by shorting pins out too.

    Most PC shops i know of dont have that capability to reflash a video card. Some have a means of reflashing a PC Bios but thats about it
  3. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    He still has not tried blind flashing the card. So apparently he has not exhausted all normal methods of recovery. Maybe yet again you should let people who have tried this and had it succeed before running in screaming wolf.
  4. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,253 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,420
  5. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    718 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    Have you considered that maybe your PCI slots are fried, coz after reading the thread I have noticed that it seems your PCIs don't work by this i men the PCI-E & PCI coz both seem to show black screen.

    Have you tried your cards in another computer or motherboard? If not please do so
  6. Doomy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    19 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    re read the thread please
  7. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    718 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    Mostly curious about the PCI VGA not displaying, some 8MB nonsense. About the 6870 its possible that its dead after shorting pins.
  8. Doomy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    19 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    he said he got it to work ......
  9. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    718 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    What's this then? does not appear to be working
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,150 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,473
    play nice. no warnings.
    Aquinus, Chicken Patty and cdawall say thanks.
  11. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    He needs to try this if it doesn't work the card is messed up

    The command is to force the card to flash the bios that's how I flashed mine with the wrong bios a friend gave me XD

    But I was able to blind flash it and its working again

    Blind flash your not going to get any picture on the screen but the mb doesn't know that but it still boots on the usb and that's how you blind flash it
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    He could be really fancy and write an autoexe.bat to do those exact commands. Unluckily if memory serves me right it waits for user input at the end or you could run a -exit -shutdown command to prove it ran.
  13. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Idk anything about that lol

    But got mine to work again I new it was bad cuz I switched to the 1 bios and it showed the bios splash screen then ask what was wrong with the bios and he told me it might of been a lighting bios XD

    But I also saved the stock and blind flashed it and it worked

    But if he hasn't tried this he need to...

    Dommy is making it more difficult cuz you can tell the op doesn't know much :ohwell:
  14. nona New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    41 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well, all of you are saying that I burnt the GPU by shorting the pins. And I don't know whether shorting the pins have burnt it completely. If shorting the pins burnt it then why its fans are spinning and it is producing heat like normal and PC is booting up with it installed?

    I want to know that, if it is burnt by shorting the pins then, would it still produce heat and would its fan still run?? I mean if it shorting pins made it completely dead then it should have stopped showing any sign of life.
  15. nona New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    41 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    If you guys want, I am uploading photo of its pins that I had tempered with.
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,150 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,473
    dude. there are billions of transistors in that card. its not a light bulb. burning one part doesnt mean you burned the fan motor with it.


    you can try and re-flash it, or you can bin it.
    Aquinus says thanks.
  17. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,253 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,420
    http://www.bjorn3d.com/2010/05/flashing-your-video-cards-gpu-bios/

    http://www.bjorn3d.com/2010/04/boot...-nvidia-gpu-bios-recovering-from-a-bad-flash/

    http://www.bjorn3d.com/2010/04/boot...-nvidia-gpu-bios-recovering-from-a-bad-flash/

    Auto Execute should help it all.

    as long as you designate which slot the dead card is in.

    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=342247

    Heres the Proper guide with all command switches for ATIFLASH
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=57750&page=2



    http://forum.techinferno.com/general-notebook-discussions/1738-[guide]-amd-vbios-flashing.html

    http://forums.anandtech.com/archive/index.php/t-2188641.html

    Your GPU/bios can be fried and the fans will still spin because of power going to different power branches of the video card.

    Honestly Id try the autoexec.bat method after creating the proper file and the proper directory path with command switches.


    ATIFlash commands- there are tons that force/bypass certain checks so you could technically put any effin bios on the card.
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2012
  18. nona New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    41 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    [​IMG]
  19. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,253 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,420
  20. nona New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    41 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    @eidairaman1

    I am gonna try autoexec.bat method now. and report back asap.
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,150 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,473
    good luck
  22. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,253 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,420
    course before putting ATIFlash on the USB drive you need to extract it from the zip file.

    ok before you do. Follow directions on how to make a bootable USB drive.

    after that Put ATIFlash on the USB Drive

    Put the uncompressed BIOS File on the drive (Closest one from here to what your video card is, cross reference the files to the cards on the HIS site)


    copy command to install bios into autoexec.bat without replacing anything else in the autoexec.bat. include all force switches from this site including proper bios file name (my last post below). Including a restart command

    after everything is done save it. remove the USB drive, Restart the machine and set the first boot device to be the USB drive.

    ensure your primary video adapter is set for the PCI E card (Remove the effin cable from the IGP to the video card)

    shut the machine down and plug the USB drive in,

    once it powers up, after awhile it should restart on its own, (normally see the Optical drive lights flash) once it restarts pull the USB drive and hopefully on the dead video card you will finally get your POST/Bios Splash Screen.
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2012
  23. nona New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    41 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    Ok I made a bootable USB with Windows 98 boot files.

    Copied Windows 98 boot files into USB except those which were already present in USB (like, COMMAND.COM, IO.SYS and MSDOS.SYS)

    Copied atiflash and Barts.rom (My GPU bios) to USB.

    The link you have give me http://www.bjorn3d.com/2010/04/boot...ios-recovering-from-a-bad-flash/#.UJdmwVFcD1U. says to make a Autoexec.bat file, but whe I create a Autoexec.bat file using notepad and save it to USB, it says that Autoexec.bat file is alrady present in USB. should I replace that????

    Now you say that " copy command to install bios into autoexec.bat without replacing anything else in the autoexec.bat. include all force switches from this site including proper bios file name (my last post below). Including a restart command "

    Does it mean that, I should go to USB and right click on autoexec.bat then click EDIT and when a notepad opens up, should I write atiflash -f -p 0 Barts.rom and save it????

    or should I use -fa or -fm or -fs or -fp instead alone " f ".

    What is the command to restart the PC and should I add it to Autoexec.bat file???


    I am really sorry for my ignorance but if it can recover I don't want to do anything myself. I will follow your instructions and would not do a single thing without a confirmation from you guys.
  24. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,253 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,420
    course before putting ATIFlash on the USB drive you need to extract it from the zip file.

    use the existing autoexec.bat, right click on it and edit it using notepad, use all of the -f* (* being the other letters following -f) commands, -f -p 0. honestly id make the rom file the original file name from where you downloaded it from in autoexec.bat



    @echo off
    cls
    @ECHO OFF
    x:atiflash -fa -fm -fs -fp -f -p 0 biosname.rom
    @ECHO OFF
    REBOOT.COM
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2012
  25. nona New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    41 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    One more thing,

    this thing .............

    @echo off
    mscdex /d:Micron /m:10 /l:R
    set cddrive=R:
    call mouse.bat


    ................................is already present in autoexec.bat file of USB. and there are four ways to edit and save it:

    FIRST Method

    @echo off
    mscdex /d:Micron /m:10 /l:R
    set cddrive=R:
    call mouse.bat
    C:atiflash -f -p 0 Barts.rom
    C:atiflash -fa -p 0 Barts.rom
    C:atiflash -fm -p 0 Barts.rom
    C:atiflash -fs -p 0 Barts.rom
    C:atiflash -fp -p 0 Barts.rom
    @ECHO OFF
    REBOOT.COM




    SECOND Method


    @echo off
    mscdex /d:Micron /m:10 /l:R
    set cddrive=R:
    call mouse.bat
    @echo off
    cls
    @ECHO OFF
    C:atiflash -fa -fm -fs -fp -f -p 0 Barts.rom
    @ECHO OFF
    REBOOT.COM



    THIRD method


    @echo off
    mscdex /d:Micron /m:10 /l:R
    set cddrive=R:
    call mouse.bat
    @echo off
    cls
    @ECHO OFF
    C:atiflash -f -p 0 Barts.rom
    C:atiflash -fa -p 0 Barts.rom
    C:atiflash -fm -p 0 Barts.rom
    C:atiflash -fs -p 0 Barts.rom
    C:atiflash -fp -p 0 Barts.rom
    @ECHO OFF
    REBOOT.COM


    FOURTH Method

    @echo off
    cls
    @ECHO OFF
    C:atiflash -f -p 0 Barts.rom
    C:atiflash -fa -p 0 Barts.rom
    C:atiflash -fm -p 0 Barts.rom
    C:atiflash -fs -p 0 Barts.rom
    C:atiflash -fp -p 0 Barts.rom
    @ECHO OFF
    REBOOT.COM

    Which one should I use?? Please you write final lines I will copy them to Autoexec.bat file(and will remove the files which were already in Autoexec.bat) and save it.
    :banghead:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page