1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BAD GTX 760 SLI performance

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by AlexAXL, Sep 29, 2013.

  1. AlexAXL New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    18 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi guys,

    I have bought an extra GTX 760 for my rig and noticed that it is actually slower than my actual single GPU. Tested in 3D Mark and a little play off in Crysis 3.

    So, here's my rig:

    MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3
    PSU: Sirtec High Power BR12 750W Bronze
    CPU: AMD Phenom II X2 550 BE , stock clocks @ 3,1Ghz (which, by the way, cannot be unlocked)
    RAM: 8GB DDR3 Corsair @ 1333 Mhz Dual channel / 2x2GB + 2x2GB
    GPU 1: MSI GTX 760 Hawk / 2GB
    GPU 2: MSI GTX 760 TF Gaming / 2GB

    Onto the benchmarks:

    Icestorm / Single GPU / GTX 760 Hawk : 62394
    Icestorm / SLI GTX 760 : 55617

    Firestrike / Single GPU / GTX 760 Hawk: 4248
    Firestrike / SLI GTX 760: 3726

    Tried even an OC to the CPU: Stable OC was @3,5Ghz:
    Icestorm / SLI GTX 760 : 67002
    Firestrike / SLI GTX 760: 5513

    Any ideas why these little numbers?
    Maybe the CPU bottlenecking? If this is the case which AM3+ CPU should I get? Is the AMD FX 6350 enough?

    Thank you for your help !
     
  2. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,273 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    341
    Location:
    CZ
    get a new CPU seriously you expect a dual core to be able to feed what is essentially a GTX 780.
    Get an 6300 and overclock it to 4.5Ghz I also suggest faster ram because that tends to help AMD cpus quite a bit in terms of speed.
    Also pleases fill out your system specs
     
  3. AlexAXL New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    18 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok, I already upgraded from a DDR2 platform to a DDR3 , but by then I didn't know that the CPU could be a problem to a SLI rig. So I bought the fastest compatible RAM for Phenom II X2.
    From what I read, the FX 6350 could be the solution. What do you think? Is it better over the FX 6300? Or should I get the FX 4k series?
     
  4. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,618 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    get an fx 8320, should be enough.
     
  5. shovenose

    shovenose

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    797 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    That CPU is a joke - perhaps SLI uses more CPU which is causing your problem.
     
  6. AlexAXL New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    18 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well, forgot to mention that the funds are limited and could only get something ~ 180$.
    Won't that FX 6300 or 6350 do the job?
     
  7. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,273 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    341
    Location:
    CZ
    He doesn't need the cores all he need is frequency which is where a 6300 beats the 8320. So I would get the 6300 and overclock it seriously it has an unlocked multiplier and as such should be a piece of cake to get to 4+ ghz.
     
  8. AlexAXL New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    18 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok, we are getting somewhere. So, the solution could be the FX 6300, but isn't the FX 6350 a better choice? I mean, looking at the numbers, the FX 6350 is a little more speedy than the FX 6300. But, say we OC them, which is better at this point?
     
  9. shovenose

    shovenose

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    797 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    FX6300 is going to be a massive improvement :)
     
  10. Ralfies

    Ralfies

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    95 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Norman, Oklahoma
    The FX-6350 is essentially an overclocked FX-6300. If you plan on overclocking yourself then you may as well save some money and get the FX-6300. The FX-6350 may be binned a little better so it might reach a tiny bit higher overclock, but likely not enough to matter.
     
  11. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,196 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    Location:
    Home
    6350/6300 are essentially the same chip, one clocked higher (wouldn't be an issue since you will be overclocking anyway).
     
  12. AlexAXL New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    18 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok, just ordered the FX 6300 along with the Cooler Master 212 EVO for the OC, and another Cooler Master SickleFlow fan for this cooler (perhaps it helps even more).

    Should I feel sorry though if I didn't order the 8300?
     
  13. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,446 (8.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,575
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Maybe a little ;)
    Sickleflow fans arent the best fans for radiators/tower coolers. They're silent and have almost zero static pressure, but they can push a decent amount of air. I replaced my server's hyper 212 fans with a stock H100 2000RPM fan and put the stock CM fan as a pull. Temps are far better on the server while it crunches away at 1.4v @ 3.5Ghz.
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2013
  14. AlexAXL New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    18 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Say I OC this CPU to 4,5-4,6Ghz, won't the performance of the 2 cards be visible? Or the second card will be most of the time useless?
     
  15. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,446 (8.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,575
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    I dont understand what you're saying.
    If you have SLI enabled, any game that is capable of using the two cards will use both of them. The only time the second card will become useless is if you disable SLI or you play something that doesnt support it.
     
  16. AlexAXL New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    18 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    What I'm trying to say is that with my actual config /CPU these 2 cards in SLI perform worse than a single card. So, with an OC FX 6300 @ 4,5 Ghz, will I see the real benefit of the second card, in SLI mode?
     
  17. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,446 (8.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,575
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Yes. With that new CPU you will probably see almost double the performance. Maybe not exactly double, but almost.

    http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/geforce_gtx_760_sli_review,14.html
     
    AlexAXL says thanks.
  18. AlexAXL New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    18 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    How about if I throw an SSD 64GB Adata SP900 to this rig? Will I see also some little increase in perf?
    Also, as I didn't quite get it, do I have to reinstall the OS for the SLI to work properly? Some say yes, some say no. What is your recommendation?
     
  19. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,162 (4.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
    ALright most people are candy coating things here

    the FX 6300 will show SLI scaling but its going to be in the 30-60% range most of the time. THis is due to the fact that while the FX6300 does have 6 cores it has them grouped in modules that share things like cache and FPU etc

    so in terms of fully configured cores its like a 3 core CPU with Hyper threading from Intel, except the AMD chip has lackluster Single Thread performance.

    Put it bluntly in more than a few older titles you will see very little change. In newer titles that take advantage of more cores performance will improve to a fairly good degree.
     
    AlexAXL says thanks.
  20. AlexAXL New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    18 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok, guess it wouldn't be late to cancel the order and make the final decision towards the FX 8320. What do you think? Should I stick to the 6300 or go for the 8320 and benefit from a little better SLI experience (if any)?
     
  21. AlexAXL New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    18 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Anyone in favor for the 8320 for SLI? Or better stick to the 6300? I kept searching the net zone but found nothing to clear my mind...
     
  22. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,162 (4.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
    FX 8320 is a decent CPU in single threaded situations its no better than the FX6300

    In multi threaded situations it can be a bit faster. the price difference is minor but its not going to matter much.

    Just keep it in mind for the future if you plan to run multi gpu go Intel. AMD is not the answer in that regard on the CPU front.

    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/crossfire-sli-scaling-bottleneck,3471-11.html
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2013
  23. AlexAXL New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    18 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OK, just ordered the FX 8350 along with the Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO and the Adata SSD.
    Do you think performance will be plenty in SLI with this config?

    Another thing is the PSU, do you think that it is enough to run without problem? I am planning to OC this CPU a little to 4500Mhz.

    So, is it ok tu run the PSU Sirtec High Power BR12 750W Bronze with these components?

    MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3
    CPU: AMD FX-8350 (will be running @ 4500Mhz)
    RAM: 8GB DDR3 Corsair @ 1333 Mhz Dual channel / 2x2GB + 2x2GB
    GPU 1: MSI GTX 760 Hawk / 2GB
    GPU 2: MSI GTX 760 TF Gaming / 2GB (will be clocked at 1111Mhz to match the Hawk)
    HDD1 WD 500 Blue
    HDD2 WD 320 Blue
    DVDRW ASUS
    SSD ADATA 64 GB SP900
    3 120mm Fans , 1 92mm Fan and for the CPU Cooler the CM Hyper 212 EVO
     
  24. AlexAXL New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    18 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Anyone?
     
  25. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,843 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,337
    you should be fine - the Sirtec is made by a Taiwanese company called High Power who make decent PSUs from what reviews i can find.

    You might also want to consider getting faster ram as that helps keep the graphic cards feed with data when it comes to gaming, 1600Mhz is fine but you can go higher if you wish. Ive heard that the 8350 wont support 1866Mhz in Quad Channel configurations though I dont know if thats still an issue.
     
    AlexAXL says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page