1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bad Motherboard or 4930k overclocker?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Paladone, Jan 29, 2014.

  1. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    421 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Hey guys,

    I apologize in advance because I already have a couple similar posts to this but I am getting seriously fed up.

    I don't have an awful lot of experience with overclocking, but I have spent countless hours trying to over clock my 4930k. While some ocs have worked sporadically, after what has literally been dozens of hours, I have been completely unable to over clock my 4930k and of top of that, my ram won't run set it's intended speed and none of the left dimm slots on my mobo even work. I recently bought this as rock motherboard a couple weeks ago to replace my 2 yr old broken asus maximums and ever since, I have had nothing but trouble with it.

    I do not know if I am doing anything wrong in terms of overclocking, I have just been adjusting the CPU ratio and core voltage and LLC, how ever, I have also attempted to adjust other voltage settings and core current limit etc.

    There is one thing I do however know, and that is that I will without a doubt, not be buying any similar as rock products any time soon. It feels like too many issues for the motherboard to just be faulty. Back to Asus it is then I guess.

    I do really appreciate all of the help you have all given me because I have so many issue with this motherboard and would not have solely been able to solve any of the.
     
  2. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,446 (8.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,575
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    My previous ASRock board also broke, as such I have zero faith in any of their products, and the motherboard I had felt pretty cheap and poorly made. Replace your mobo man, it's shown nothing but trouble for you lately.

    OC'ing to an average clock speed is literally as easy as adjusting multi and adding a few .05 volts. LLC can help.
     
    Paladone says thanks.
  3. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    421 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    It seems to be stable at 4,2 on stock voltage but won't stabilise at all above 4.2, from 1.20v all the way up to 1.50v
     
  4. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,446 (8.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,575
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Ouch, Intel processors don't need 1.5v unless you're doing seriously extreme overclocking. As a point of reference i managed 4.4 on 1.3v on a 3570K.
     
  5. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    421 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    O
    On my old asus motherboard with no overclocking experience I managed to run my 3770k at 4.9ghz, 1.30v and it took me 15 minutes to do, ran it like that for a year and a half.
     
    RCoon says thanks.
  6. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,446 (8.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,575
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    I got a bad overclocker, you got a good one, it seems :laugh: your motherboard is a toaster
     
    Paladone says thanks.
  7. True Christian

    True Christian

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    78 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Oshawa, Canada
    This is why I stick to Asus mobos. They are of the best quality and have the best feature set for overclocking the CPU and RAM.
     
    Paladone says thanks.
  8. Eroticus

    Eroticus

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    252 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Israel
    Rampage IV Black Edition
     
  9. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,054 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I wouldnt really say that. Gigabyte boards are up there too, especially if you are good with tweaking and playing with settings, since their BIOSs are setup pretty loosely, when it comes to settings.
     
  10. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    not many people with SKT2011 systems here to help you, unfortunately. OH, what's that? I have 3960X and 4960X, in multiples?

    Oh, right!

    It's not your board.


    IVB-E chips are this way, but let's see if we can't push you a bit further. Please list full system specs and upload BIOS screenshots of clock, voltage, and memory timings options from your BIOS, and maybe you and I can get somewhere rather than just saying "buy new stuff, I got other chips for other platforms, and they work great!". :rolleyes:


    Not like you've ever used one...you simply talk to me too much. :p

    Go check the 5000-post thread on OCN for that board. Same problems. I had two of those, now just have one. Typing from it now.

    It's not his board causing his issues.
     
    MxPhenom 216 and brandonwh64 say thanks.
  11. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,054 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Indeed ol' man!
     
  12. rangerone766

    rangerone766

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,036 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    I can't help you with settings, I have never messed with socket 2011.

    But I can say this. Not all of asrock stuff is junk. I have a z77 oc formula, and it is beast. Could be you got a bad board. It happens with all brands.

    I have heard that asrock's tech support sucks. So if you can return it to where you bought it. That will be much easier than dealing with RMA.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page