1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bad Performance

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by SeeK, Mar 31, 2006.

  1. SeeK

    SeeK New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    138 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    markkleb: Hehe... actually, since I got the Chuck patch, I haven't had any problems at all.

    xdaxxchampxx: That's pretty much what I get too. Something changed when I got the patch... now I can run at 1280x1024/HDR/4xAA/8xAF with all in-game settings maxed out.
    And I get about 65-75 in caves, 50 in houses and about 30-40 in forests, with drops down to about 24 sometimes. So it's pretty okay now.
  2. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    when u say fully maxed out seek.. do u really mean setting manually all those slider bars fully over to the right and with everything switched on.. ???

    trog
  3. SeeK

    SeeK New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    138 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    Yeah, that's right.
  4. Megatron New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    92 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    QFE:nutkick:
  5. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    "Praise be Akatosh... it's working. HDR. And AA. Combined. I tried running at 1280x1024/HDR/6xTAAA/16xHQAF with all settings in the game maxed. Holy hell. I... this is amazing. Just wow.

    A slideshow of pictures that are too beautiful to describe with my vocabulary. Shit. It really is increadibly beautiful. And I get ~5 FPS. Stunning. Wow. Amazing.

    ... Of course I cannot play with such a framrate. Therefore my current settings are 1280x1024/HDR/2xAA/8xAF at maxed settings. Flows pretty okay at ~40 FPS in Chorrol and about half that in forests. This shit is still very beautiful. I can't wait to get my hands on a X2900XTX. Then I'm going to play this game. At the top. Settings. Wow."

    the problem is megatron.. the above is seeks first post after the patch download it does kinda conflict with his last one.. he he he

    i had better find the patch and download it.. cos if seeks last post is the one to believe the patch must be working bloody miracles.. he he he

    the only way to find out is to try it and see.. i recon..

    trog
  6. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    well.. just i installed the chuck patch.. i was running 6 x AA and bloom lighting before..

    i nips into the video settings and click HDR to "on".. up pops message saying u cant have hdr and aa together.. but i ignores it thinking the chuck patch would give me it anyways.. i do notice a frame rate improvement.. but when i went back the video settinngs they tell me AA is off.. so i attempts to turn it on..

    up pops the message telling me HDR is gonna be turned off so i set 6 x AA and look at some frame rates.. they are back where they were before i turned HDR on..

    basically the chuck patch dosnt work at all with my game.. but HDR gives better frame rates than does bloom and 6 x AA.. which figures cos 6 x AA will hit the performance more than HDR does..

    but the chuck patch dosnt let me run the two together.. what it does for other folks i dont know.. but it dosnt work for me..

    trog
  7. Megatron New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    92 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    :p
  8. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    nope not exactly i tend to read instructions when all else fails.. he he

    i will follow yours and see what happens.. i had simply tried it in the game..

    trog
  9. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    well bin there done that.. but..???

    before the chuck patch arrive i had experimented with with either hdr or bloom and 6 x AA.. from a "jaggy" point of view hdr dosnt seem to need AA.. but i thought the peoples faces looked too shiny so i opted for bloom and 6 xAA.. i never tried bloom without AA..

    i know setting AA in the ccc should over ride game settings.. i always set mine to application preference.. but i do wonder exactly what oblivion does when someone has forced AA in the ccc with no chuck patch and tries to set HDR in the game.. would the option be greyed out or simply be ignored..??

    having supposedly forced AA in the ccc.. the game still says i cant have it and supposedly the chuck patch ignores the game sttings and give me what i have in the ccc 6 x AA..

    but do i believe chuck.. he he he.. do i have 6 x AA and hdr.. ???? or do i not.. my frame rates seem the same as with no 6 x AA.. i cant see any visual improvements thow there were no jaggies to be seen anyways with just hdr and no AA..

    i still recon it aint working.. he he he.. i really do find it impossible to believe that i can set 6 x AA without some drop in frame rates.. and thats apart from the no visual improvement factor.. not as any was needed it looks pretty enough with hdr and no AA....

    i recon an LCD monitor helps with jaggies.. when u run at a resolution less than the monitors native resolution as i mostly do.. the monitor interpolates and tries to produce a false resolution.. in window this causes the image to lose sharpness and is bad thing..

    but i think this monitor interpolation when in a game tends to act just like AA does.. it slightly blurs everything together and lessens the jaggy effect u would normally get without AA..

    my monitors native resolution is 1680 x 1050.. i am running oblivion at 1200 x 750-sh..

    i have to switch off hdr and see what difference 6 X AA makes visually to my frame rates and any possible jaggies.. i expect both a visual improvement (less jaggies) and noticable drop in frame rates..

    trog
  10. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    yep its working.. the trouble is i have to shut down the game before each change takes affect.. but by carefully standing in exactly the same place and holding my sword up in front of me i can test both for jaggies along the sword edge and fps.. running my monitor at 1280 x 750 i have to look hard to see jaggies..

    amazingly the fps difference between 6 x AA and no AA is very small.. from say 35 fps to 33 or 32 fps.. with both AA and HDR it drop to 30-ish.. nothing massive and far less than i expected.. but then again the visual improvement dont exactly hit me in the eye either.. he he..

    but it works.. even if the ingame settings says it dosnt.. and at lower resolutions it will make a bigger difference..

    with an x1900 card the ccc can be left at forced 6 x AA except for benching.. there aint no real need for the standard application preference i have always used..

    trog
  11. Satchmo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    406 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    cali
    look at my specs, i play oblivion maxed out @ 1024x768, with 2xAA and HDR.

    Forests:
    15-25 fps
    10-15 in combat

    caves:
    40-60 fps
    30-40 in combat

    Large City during the day:
    25-40 depending on the number of NPC's and objects
    25-30 depending on the number of NPC's and objects

    i dont understand someone playing at 1280x1024 er whatever it is, do you have a HD moniter? most standard CRTs dont dont have that much detail in the first place.
  12. SeeK

    SeeK New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    138 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    How can you guys have so high frameates? If I enable 6xAA in CCC I notice a HUGE drop... or was that 6xTAAA? Might be... hehehe.

    But now that I've tried playing with AA I'll never run without it again. The difference is huge, even at 2xAA.
  13. M. Mellough New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    97 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    Personally, I downgraded "expect" to "hope" :D

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page