1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bandwidth control

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by kengo24649, Apr 21, 2011.

  1. kengo24649 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    79 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    is there a way i can control the amount of bandwidth my brother uses? he spend all day watching videos on youtube (4 -6 youtube tabs) and waiting for the buffer to finish, i've already told him that he should just watch 1 videos at a time but he wont listen :confused: is there such software for me to limit his bandwidth usage so that i wont get affected by the things he does on the internet? :confused::confused: we are both connected to a router, Linksys WRT54G v5.0 firmware
    and yes there is a QoS feature i just dont know how it works and how to set it up
  2. kengo24649 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    79 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    bump
  3. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    dd-wrt thats what i use, it can do it, if thats a v5 router its limited to micro, i used to have one, upgraded to uhh, WRT54G v2.0, then WHR-HP-GN [awesome cheap router, antenna upgradeable, good buy]

    dd-wrt can do just about anything, personaly i prefer openWRT myself but alot of things are easier to pull off in dd-wrt so its pretty darn popular
    kengo24649 says thanks.
  4. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    On pc: NetLimiter. On the router: use dd-wrt
    kengo24649 says thanks.
  5. kengo24649 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    79 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    thanks for the replies. @mrhuggles can you post the DL link of that dd-wrt ur saying?

    i kinda fucked up our router now, (connected directly to modem) i forgot the config of it for it to connect to Router>Modem>Internet xD
  6. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,548 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    300
  7. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    dd-wrt is as good as it gets (and it's what I use), unfortunately it's a little complicated.

    One of my friends who is less technically inclined showed me Gargoyle (based on open-wrt), which includes all the bandwidth monitoring/limiting features from dd-wrt but it's designed for novices.

    If you're installing software locally you have several options (such as Netlimiter mentioned by Thracken). Someone else on TPU mentioned Traffic Shaper XP, but I've never tried it. Most gateway servers will also provide QoS and bandwidth control, but they'll also provide a lot of extra features that you'll never use.
    kengo24649 says thanks.
  8. kengo24649 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    79 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    @Streetfighter2 ok i already fixed my router's firmware now, i dont want to fuck it up again xD
    my linksys is WRT54G V5.0 Firmware Version is v1.02.8
    so i went to gargoyle website and found several links but am not sure which to download cuz if my router fucks up again it will be a lot of work to fix it :S
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2011
  9. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    I actually use NetLimiter on LAN parties to stop the game patch exchange p2p from clogging up my gaming bandwidth :)
    kengo24649 says thanks.
  10. kengo24649 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    79 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    ehh i tried netlimiter but i need to install into his pc right? cant there be like for router? controling the bandwidth of a certain router port so that there is control for the badnwidth he using?
  11. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    All limiter programs for PC are supposed to be installed on the PC you want to limit.
    For your router, you would need some software to run ON the router, and DD-WRT is afaik the only thing that will work there.
    kengo24649 says thanks.
  12. kengo24649 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    79 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    ok so i went to DD-WRT and searched for my Linksys there which is:
    WRT54G V5.0 Firmware Version is v1.02.8
    and found this: [​IMG]
    but which of this 2 should i download?
    i am just making sure so i wouldnt screw up again
  13. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    OpenWRT (which Gargoyle is based on) is not compatible with your router because it only has a 2MB flash. Sorry :(

    (If I'd noticed this earlier I wouldn't have recommended Gargoyle.)

    http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linksys_WRT54G_v5.0_&_5.1_&_6.0

    I just want to reiterate that you can bork your router when attempting to flash DD-WRT.

    Also, there is quite a lot of reading and studying that should be done unless you don't mind buying a new router or you already have experience flashing routers. The process itself is actually quite simple, but you want to do it all correctly and be prepared in case something goes wrong.
    kengo24649 says thanks.
  14. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,080 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    698
    Location:
    Rochester area
    installing dd-wrt is not for the novice if you do not understand what you are doing YOU WILL BRICK the router emphasis on the "WILL"
    even if you do know what you are doing you can still brick it
    kengo24649 says thanks.
  15. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,880 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    It's pretty easy, just read up on it. For DD-WRT you need to use both of those downloads shown.
    U flash with one first, then flash with the second. But, i must emphasize, read up on it in the wikis. there should be an article giving you step-by-step instructions for your router.

    Edit - And make sure you use your exact model number, there are a few iterations of the WRT54G with varying flash memory sizes.
    kengo24649 says thanks.
  16. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,412 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,234
    your router undoubtedly already has some kind of QoS functionality. without getting too involved in it you can simply set your computers packets to a higher priority than his and you should see an immediate improvement.
    kengo24649 says thanks.
  17. kengo24649 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    79 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    This is how the QoS looks:[​IMG]


    i am on Port 3 so i set it on high priority. thats the only thing i've done so far, and i dont want to touch those options over there cuz i might just screw things up:confused:, such as flow control idk if i should set it enable or disable for more internet speed
    and if could anyone could tell how much upstream bandwidth i should put there.:confused:
    streetfighter 2 says thanks.
  18. kengo24649 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    79 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    yes there is improvement, but once he opens 5 -7 youtube tabs its kind of thesame even i am set on high priority
    streetfighter 2 says thanks.
  19. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    Yeah, Easy Rhino is not entirely correct. The QoS features on stock wrt54g firmware are notoriously lacking.
    Many of my friends, who have little or no technical knowledge, managed to do it. Everyone has to start somewhere.

    kengo24649 will have to do some reading, but he can ask questions when he gets stuck. I have faith. :)
    That statement does not concur with the official instructions:
    http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linksys_WRT54G_v5.0_&_5.1_&_6.0
  20. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,880 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Hmm. sorry, i hadn;t read the instructions for the WRT54G - on mine i had to flash both, first a preliminary Firmware, then the full firmware.
    I'm reading that link now.


    Navigate to the folder that you are using, and select vxworks_prep_03.bin.
    Hit upgrade.

    Wait for FIVE FULL MINUTES. Go for a walk. Don't you TOUCH that router for FIVE MINUTES.
    When five full Earth minutes have passed, power cycle the router.
    Browse again to 192.168.1.1. If you get a blank window, clear your browser cache. NOW you should be in the MANAGEMENT MODE window.
    Select the My54gImage.bin file that you created. Hit Apply.
    Wait for the "Upgrade Success" message, and then WAIT FIVE FULL MINUTES again. Don't TOUCH your router.


    Are those two steps not applying 2 different firmwares? one preparatory one for the full firmware?

    Sry, i only have experience flashing my D-Link Dir-600, which was a bit of a pain as there seemed to be a few different guides each with slightly different steps.

    Ahh, i see now.. those two downloads in the window aren't used to flash his router, right?
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2011
  21. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    VxWorks is the OS that Linksys wrt54g routers (v5 and up) use. Unfortunately the bootloader for VxWorks isn't compatible with dd-wrt so a Common Firmware Environment (CFE) must first be flashed. Once CFE is in place, the dd-wrt firmware can be flashed.

    I'm pretty sure everything I just said is included in the legendary "peacock thread".
    Correct, that was what I was trying to point out.
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2011
    silkstone says thanks.
  22. kengo24649 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    79 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    @streetfighter so there are 2 links up there on the image which of those 2 should i download?
    after downloading one of em i just upgrade my firmware to it right?
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2011
  23. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    Please follow the official instructions.

    There you will be directed to download the following:
    http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=58231

    For the love of god follow the instructions!

    Personally I wouldn't read the entire peacock thread, but do scan it for information that relates to you. Other than that, follow the instructions!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page