1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bandwidth management?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by gsp3rm, Oct 16, 2008.

1. gsp3rm New Member

Thanks Received:
    Im a total noob in networking so i hope someone can help me with my problem..OK..I have a network(in one house) with 13 PC/Laptops on it. The set up is

[Modem]-->[Wireless Router]-->PCs/Laptops

Most of my housemates using p2p download application (Ares) and some of them using Video streaming(TVU) at the same time. And i suspected that, this cause me unacceptable lag while playing Online Game.FYI, when only me and 1 of my friend are online(im on online gaming and my friend downloading using Ares) i did not lag in the game. I read that P2P downloading use too much bandwidth in a network.

I hope that there will be solution for my problem because if the solution is to talk with them, i already tried and it failed.I intend to separate my bandwidth from them or at least to limit their bandwidth usage.Thanx in advance.

note:My router : Netgear WGR614 v7 (I'm the one who can access to the router)
    Im using PC with wired/LAN connection
    and Sorry for my bad english...

2. FordGT90Concept

FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

Thanks Received:
    I am encountering a similar situation with my router (DGL-4500) where one computer using up a lot of upload bandwidth is also reserving all the download bandwidth too when hardly any is being used. My router has a feature which prioritizes traffic called Gamefuel. Look through the options in the router and see if anything mentions priority. That's probably what needs to be altered. The more difficult task is figuring out what ports the traffic is flowing through. You might have to restrict lower the priority of all their traffic if it is random.

Crunching for Team TPU
  3. [I.R.A]_FBi

[I.R.A]_FBi New Member

Thanks Received:
    is there ddwrt available for ur router?