1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Barcelona benched

Discussion in 'General Nonsense' started by theonetruewill, Oct 4, 2007.

  1. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    UK Exclusive
    After what seems like forever (actually a delay of just over six months), we've finally got our hands on production samples of AMD's Barcelona quad-core CPUs.

    Barcelona - Quad-core Opteron, to give its production name - is the first AMD processor to use 65nm fabrication, down from the 90nm of its previous-generation processors. Being Opterons, the new parts are bound for servers and workstations. Phenom, the consumer version based on the same architecture and replacing the Athlon range, will be coming next year.

    Besides supporting four processing cores on a single silicon die, the major architectural difference is in the cache arrangement, being the first processor in modern times to sport L3 cache. While each core has 512KB of dedicated L2 cache, the third level is a shared extra 2MB available to all four cores for a total complement of 4MB.


    Read the full article and results: PC Pro
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2007
    Snipe343 and kwchang007 say thanks.
  2. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,844 (5.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,627
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Woot????? I thought Brisbanes were 65nm??? either I am the son of a dead mans wart or PCpro need to get some new staff!

    OK, I am probably just a wart like thing :eek:
     
  3. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,844 (5.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,627
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    No warts for me!!!!
     

    Attached Files:

    • AMD.doc
      File size:
      20 KB
      Views:
      83
  4. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    I think they are referring to the previous generation Opteron's, which the Barcelona replaces; not the other chips in their standard commercial lineup.
     
    Tatty_One says thanks.
  5. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,844 (5.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,627
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I stand corrected! But it does say the "first AMD processor" :)
     
  6. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    That one got me too at first, till I realised that the Barcelona was the next gen Opteron and they were talking about the last gen opty.
     
  7. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    They are being imprecise; as a reviewer you shouldn't be imprecise otherwise you cause confusion.
     
  8. von kain New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    782 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    athens/greece
    something that most people don't really know or care

    the current Barcelona opterons are the least crippled as is for the cut down version of the real opterons with ht3 turn off!!!!
    this is because most of companies which they will like to update from current am2 mobos to latest qcores barcelonas and because many manufacturers use barcelonas on previous set ups



    would you like to know more???? http://www.theinquirer.net/gb/inquirer/news/2007/09/26/amd-barcelona-ht3-turn
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page