1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Barcelona FPU Scores

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by devguy, Sep 3, 2007.

  1. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    Looks legit to me. If so, this is good news for AMD fans. This is only a 2ghz facing a 2.33ghz cloverton.

    Here
     
  2. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Its about dells severs you see it in the last part in the back

    I want to see desktops test
     
  3. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    Well, since barcelona info is about as rare as a penguin in the desert right now, you'll just have to wait until it gets into the hands of some desktop benchmarkers like the rest of us.
     
  4. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    :laugh: then why did you post it ?

    Do you have a sever ?
     
  5. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,546 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    Not enough data, done by AMD, old info as well as it states Barcelona will be out in August. I'd rather wait for some real benchmarks.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Sh00t1st

    Sh00t1st New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    371 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Austin,Texas
    barcelona comes out next monday from my source inside amd :-D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Yay... only a week to wait until we see prices.
     
  8. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    for severs or desktops ?
     
  9. Sh00t1st

    Sh00t1st New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    371 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Austin,Texas
    servers
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Sh00t1st

    Sh00t1st New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    371 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Austin,Texas
    it should be pretty nice, from what i hear, although what i hear is just from amds propaganda mill.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Sh00t1st

    Sh00t1st New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    371 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Austin,Texas
    to bad my source doesnt get much info on the core speed and such, i wish they did lol.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    FPU....K8 beat Core 2 in FPU clock for clock. No surprise here that K10 will beat Core 2. After all K10 is basically an improvement on K8.
     
  13. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,546 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    If it does it isn't really relevant, since Penryn is the thing to beat, not Conroe.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Uhh Penryn is basically a shrink of Conroe with more cache and better dividing. I honestly don't think Penryn is going to beat K10 or K8 in floating point clock for clock...AMD's are just too good at floating point.
     
  15. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Cuz arernt the Penryn going to be a true Quad like the AMD's that should help and with more cache I think there going to beat them

    and there going to be 8cores to right ?
     
  16. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    I think Penryn is still going to be two dual cores on one package.
     
  17. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,546 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    The whole "true quad core" story makes no sense, never has. Ever since the 486 dual CPU systems have been on the same bus and weren't connected otherwise, would you claim these never were true dual CPU systems? Nobody knows what chip will be faster currently, we have to wait and see. The "true quad core" thing really won't be the deciding factor. I'd like to see the new Xeon chipsets first, see if their memory issue is fixed. If it is performance will leap forward again, otherwise Barcelona has a fair chance.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)