1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Batman: Arkham Asylum Enables AA Only on NVIDIA Hardware on PCs

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Sep 29, 2009.

  1. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    wtf, are you talking about, we are paying our hard earned money for their game you know, but what they do? instead working it more playable to other hardware, they chose to crippled the game so they can take some money.

    and no it's not about game stability, it's just one fucking greedy developer. look at the news, they just change device ID and viola AA worked flawlessly(and crush nvdia performance) it's just like :

    IF device ID=ATI then
    {
    AA=disable
    }


    they should mention it in the box that's say "it's for Nvdia card only" so ATI owner card won't get pissed, ypu know
     
    WarEagleAU and tkpenalty say thanks.
  2. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    The API's functionality was removed altogether after one patch, then DX10.1 stopped working after that. You CLEARLY dont understand what the recent APIs have been written for if you say its costly to implement. DX10.1 and DX11 both are to make life easier for coders so its illogical why they'd fall back on DX10.

    Get back on topic will ya? Personal question, are you a conservative person?

    Before any fanboy comment is fired off, im using an 8800GT. Not going to go for nvidia for my next GPU however, due to their draconian market practises.

    Totally irrelevant. In this case, the drivers are not the issue, but the game basically prevents AA in game from working whenever it detects an ATI card. As shown the developers easily averted this by changing the devID, and hence proves thats its nothing to do with the drivers.
    On this note I've been having way more issues with Nvidia's drivers than AMD's drivers.

    Its not fanboyism. Its a logical fallacy to assume that because AA doesnt work in this case AMD's drivers suck.
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2009
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  3. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,991 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,232

    BAAAAHHH My head is hurting. I'll rearrange my thoughts first, formulate a proper argument. It should also be mentioned that ATi was pushing for DirectX 10.1 support to stay...but if the stability issues were universal as you point out, then why do they do so? Hmmm....
     
  4. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    My job says diffrent.
    IT people want to move away from nvidia due to driver issues.

    Quadro is more a standard, therefore the bosses like it, strange company yes.
    ATI in all laptops though, not an issue.

    Ati drivers always been poor?
    I cant say that.

    I cant say ati should invest in developing games, then it turns out to be a money game rather than making just a product that supports a API that game devs use and then we're done.

    Not pay for making AA being supported in games.
    Pay so you wont get crippled performance.
    Not Pay so the game works as it can, just because you didnt pay the dev.
     
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,826 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,765
    Yes, and you got the game you paid for. However, you didn't get the optimizations that nVidia paid for.(Using reasoning 1 here).

    Or you got a game that crashes halfway through(using reasoning 2). Would you prefer to pay for a game that won't let you finish it?

    And if you read the article, it didn't crush nVidia's performance, in performed a lot worse with AA enabled, while nVidia cards see no performance loss.

    Yes, and that might have been an dicision made to help fix stability in a very unstable game.

    Personal answer, generally I don't like to make baseless statements, and tend to argue and play devil's advocate whenever someone else does.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. cauby

    cauby New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    121 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Brazil
    I really don't see any reason why to be pissed off about this if you can just enable AA on CCC.Sure,there might have a hit in performance,but if it works then it's fine for me....
     
  7. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Very conservative there only being so mindful for the corporations when the wealth will never get to you. In the end the consumer loses.
     
  8. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    ¨
    AC didnt crash for me or any of my friends. DX10.1
    There was no problem, review sites didnt have issues either.

    The fact that you support paying of game devs for other cards to be bad is just unbearable.

    Way its meant to be played is perfectly fine if the FACT that the game ran as it should, and not with intentional crippled performance like its proven...
    ATi does support game devs, and give videocards to them so they can check if it works, and support them with documentation and alike, nvidia's strategy is bigger, but they also bribes as it seems like with the result in some TWIMTBP games.
     
    WarEagleAU and tkpenalty say thanks.
  9. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,991 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,232
    Well the majority who may be playing the game would be badly hit in forcing AA (like me in CoH for example, forced 4x AA is unplayable - less than 20fps most of the time during the built-in benchmark-, compared to 4x AA in-game - around 40 fps most of the time in the benchmark).

    And before I be branded an ATi fanboy, I had an Nvidia GeForce 6600 for 4 years.
     
  10. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    :toast:
     
  11. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,965 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA

    Leave personal questions to PM's. Also the terms conservative and liberal are different for Aussies because their politics are different there.

    Maybe you were getting different information because the sites were blocked by the ACMA. j/k

    http://www.time.com/time/business/article/0,8599,1888011,00.html :eek:



    :laugh: And I bribe online retailers to send me products in the checkout process. BRIBES! BRIBES! I TELL YOU!!! :roll:
     
  12. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29,569 (10.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,070
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    That's a convincing argument. If you're an ATI owner, Batman: AA is lesser worth its price for you, because not only will you not be able to use the PhysX effects (because ATI GPUs can't accelerate it), but also that its in-game AA won't work (even though the feature works perfectly fine on ATI hardware). Since there's no mention on the box that you need NVIDIA GPUs to be able to use the in-game AA, it's also misleading.
     
  13. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    I have/have had:
    Riva TNT2.
    Geforce 256, Geforce 2MX, Geforce 2 TI, Geforce 3 TI 560(gainward) ,Geforce4 TI 4600, Geforce 6800GT, Geforce 7800GT SLI, Geforce GTX260

    Ati Radeon 9800 Pro, X850XTPE, 1950XTX, 2900XT, 3870X2, 4870CF

    So same applies to me, so you guys see where most of my money have gone... now im not buying more of nvidia, unless they become a underdog without money so they cant do meant to fail program.
     
  14. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,667 (4.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,013
    Location:
    US
    So i may as well get it for the PS3 then ? lol. I remember some what the same thing with Oblivion when it was released were ATI cards could do HDR and AA were as Nv card could not at the time so they stopped the ATI cards from being able to do it.

    Well thats how i remember reading it on there forums when it was released.


    Sad soooo sad maybe people should be sueing nvidia more often. As this sounds totally unfair and the makers of the game need a foot in there ass too.
     
  15. Sihastru

    Sihastru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    362 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    You are here.
    So much misplaced anger, rage, mouth foaming rage... I don't see any of these fanboys attacking any other company in this way.

    AA is not an industry standard, it just seems that way. The truth is that AA implementations are very different from company to company. If AA were a standard then ALL cards (ATI, nVidia, Intel, VIA, Matrox) will see the same comparable drop in performance when AA was enabled.

    The truth is, they are using completely different ways to implement it, with so many optimizations it's amazing it still produces the same comparable effect. The same can be said about AF and a bunch of other "quality enhancing settings".

    I need to know what happens when you play this game on an Intel GPU. Why didn't anyone raised this problem? This is not just a two horse race you know.

    Is it really nVidia's fault because you bought an ATI card? Is it ATI's fault because you bought and nVidia card? I don't know, but I do know it is both these companies' fault because you didn't bought a VIA or Matrox card. And if you don't own an ATI or nVidia card, you should take a number for the "screw Intel queue".

    When you bought a video card you made a choice. Nobody forced you to do it. Accept it and live with it. Don't be angry if some things might not work as fluently as you think they should.

    You guys are so narrow minded. It's like being angry at Ford because one of their engines does not accept the pistons from a VW. I mean, it's a piston, it's a standard...

    Another reason because you are narrow minded is because you're ignoring the console market. These days consoles are the priority for the developers. The PC game is just a port. And if a company pays for that port, it wants to see that money being pored into resolving compatibility issues with it's own products, not the competition's.
     
  16. laszlo

    laszlo

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    893 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Location:
    66 feet from the ground
    :laugh: good one

    is a green bug but the red insecticide will kill it ...:laugh:
     
  17. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29,569 (10.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,070
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    So much for misinformed arguments. AMD tested the in-game AA, and it worked. So regardless of this AA implementation being a standard between NVIDIA and AMD, it works, and was yet disabled for ATI hardware.
     
  18. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,676 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,213
    I just wonder how many of the people here, as well as in the industry, who are complaining about the 'business practices' of NVIDIA, are the same ones who think M$'s (for example) operating practices and Intel's are just fine...
     
    5 Million points folded for TPU
  19. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    HEhe, i dont like MS, therefore, only thing running MS are gaming platforms, i got no other choice.
    I buy AMD for the intel reason.
    I use Linux for everything else, suits me JUUUUUUUUUUST fine :D
    And ati got a open source support there aswell.
     
  20. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    smoke and mirrors
     
  21. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29,569 (10.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,070
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    That really isn't a problem. Whether the feature 'works' or not on the given hardware is all that matters, and it does. Stability issues is cannot be used as an excuse to completely remove the feature. If stability issues did exist, they should have left the feature available to everyone and worked on them. Besides, the game does not advertise that its AA features don't work on ATI hardware (or that it requires NVIDIA hardware for AA, just like it properly advertises PhysX).
     
  22. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta


    then they don't deserve our money (using reasoning no.1)

    do you have a solid proof that the game will crashes halfway through(using reasoning 2).


    so i say ATI owner card must boycott this game and rate it so low in every on-line store. so they will suffer 40% loss from us ATI owner.
     
  23. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,676 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,213
    :confused:
     
    5 Million points folded for TPU
  24. Sihastru

    Sihastru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    362 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    You are here.
    Again, does it work on an Intel GPU? A test made in-house by the developer company QA department is much better conducted, then a quick test run. Testing one or two or three cards does not qualify for a PASS. We can make many assumptions, some can be true, most can be false.

    nVidia could disable the entire game on ATI cards. Why would this be a problem? It's practically their game. It's like Badaboom. It uses CUDA. A game is an application that is geared towards entertainment. PhysX should be reason enough to explain an incompatibility. Apple does it all the time. Takes a random small thing and makes a big deal out of it.

    EDIT: btarunr, my post is not a comment to the OP. It's a result of me wasting my time reading all the angry posts after that.
     
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,902 (11.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,193
    despite your trying to use rational logic, you umm, failed.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Batman_Arkham_Asylum
    [​IMG]

    note the "unreal engine" ? you see, this game was made from an existing game engine, well known to work on ATI and NVIDIA hardware with antialiasing.

    you can also rename the games .exe to UE3.exe from what i hear, and then use catalyst control centers AA (even before the patch) and everything works well.

    This is purely a dirty trick from nvidia, since NV only add AA to some things in game, while ATI now has to waste power antialiasing EVERYTHING (taking a performance hit) and inconveniencing end users.


    Indeed. and a default feature of the engine used.

    indeed. i went RE5 over this, due to this lame issue.

    unfortunately, the lack of AA will never make it into enough news to hinder sales that much.
     
    WarEagleAU, AsRock and btarunr say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page