1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Batman Arkham City PC Thread

Discussion in 'Games' started by MxPhenom 216, Nov 23, 2011.

  1. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,629 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,047
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    [​IMG]

    Welcome to the Batman Arkham City PC Discussion Thread​


    Batman Arkham City PC Features

    -Tesselation
    -DX11
    -Nvidia PhysX​

    Batman Arkham City for PC was released today and can be had for $40 on Steam if you have Arkham Asylum already in your library.

    I made this thread because I didn't see any thread already made about this game. I feel this game diserves special attention and a healthy discussion, because Rocksteady gave PC version some benefits that most games right now(other then Battlefield 3 really) do not have.

    I have been playing this game for the last hour, and I definitely give props to Rocksteady this game is great on the PC. Tesselation, DX11 lighting and other features, and Nvidia PhysX that actually work. Everything looks great and the tesselation features add a lot to the Arkham City World; not to mention it hads some great texture features to Cat Women ;). Overall, i love Arkham Asylum but i think i will love this iteration even more. I love the way these games capture the character we know as BATMAN! Great work RockSteady.
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2011
  2. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,527 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Location:
    United States
    I'm going to pick this up as soon as I can afford it. I'm too busy with Skyrim at the moment. I loved Arkham Asylum, and Mark Hammill as the Joker is absolutely brilliant.

    I've heard a lot of really good things about this game from my friends.
  3. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,812 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,440
    I'm hopefully going to pick this up tomorrow after I finish some work on my car.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,629 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,047
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    One thing that needs to be done is new drivers for the game. I have noticed really bad microstutter to the point it freezes for a split second. Not bad, but new drivers from atleast Nvidia would probably help. I love the tesselation and what tesselation can really do to a game. Can make it much more immersive, and gives everything more character. Just great, even if people hate nvidia for promoting it so much, you cannot deny that it offers more to the game environment and characters
  5. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,661 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ohio
    Awesome game so far.. needs a patch. DX11 runs like shit, I have to run it in DX9 for now. Catwoman's Whip makes me hot.
  6. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,629 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,047
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Cat women's body gives me a stiffy in the first scene of her haha! Its not to bad. a little stuttery
  7. mav2000

    mav2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    451 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    Bought the physical verion, hopefully it reaches me sooooon.
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,759 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,801
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Played about an hour on a 6950 2GB, with 11.11 drivers. Gonna try the hotfix NAOW. :shadedshu Was hard to stop playing.:D
  9. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,639 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,375
    anyone seen a benchmark mode ?
  10. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,759 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,801
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yep, it's got one.
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  11. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,629 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,047
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    agreed

    Best part of the game is how fluid the combat and fighting system is.
  12. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,759 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,801
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    START:
    [​IMG]

    FINISH:
    [​IMG]


    Kinda broken on AMD cards ATM.:banghead: Seems locked to 60FPS max, too. Takes about 90 seconds, 6 different areas, maybe?
  13. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    870 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Dawn
    Been playing since yesterday, or well, I'm headed off to visit my brother until the 28th, so I just got my toes wet in the game really. But I'm sort of ok with that, AMD needs to put out a better driver than 11.11a, there are parts that are awful framerate-wise, and hopefully they'll have a good 11.11x driver. My 6850 is getting, according to the benchmark, 30max, 25avg, and 5min...:banghead:...which is killing me. Somehow I doubt they'll get a good driver out the door for the game by the time I return, but that's not the only problem, the other problem is that it's a port, I think the game needs to be optimized better for PC to start with, Not just the driver layer.

    Luckily, somehow, my massive framerate drops have been limited to a few instances, none of which were in the midst of massive action, so it's sort of been okay, but the 16 :eek: gig download took way too long with Valve's servers so heavily hit.
  14. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,629 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,047
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    yeah i get the same frame rate drops as you. Its either game doesnt run to well in DX11 or its card drivers
  15. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,759 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,801
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Actually, I'll jsut step out and say that the "TWIMTBP" programm is i nfull effect, and for this Batman game, like it's predecessor, "TWIMTBP" is on nVidia cards.

    :banghead:

    And liek it's predecessor, AA is broken on AMD cards, as you can see in the screenshots I posted above.

    I'm mad, becuase that's just not gonna stop me from playing the game, but it is going to taint my playing experience.


    I hate you, nVidia, and your Piss-X and "TWIMTBP" program!!!:mad:

    "TWIMTBP" is how I wish, not how your money chooses.:mad:



    :nutkick:


    Should have bought a console version. :roll:
  16. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,629 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,047
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    this game is the main reason why i didnt get a hd6950 a few months ago haha
  17. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    I still haven't beat Arkham Asylum. Maybe by the time I get around to doing that, they will have the AMD issues fixed and the game will be on sale.
  18. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,515 (13.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,918
    Since AA works with Arkham Asylum now, it shouldn't be too hard getting it working with Arkham City. I'm picking this up tonight and I'll see what I can do. I assume they're using the same Unreal engine? As far as DX11 goes, I wonder if there is a giant underground tesselated ocean (or something like it) in this game like Crysis 2?
  19. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,759 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,801
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, engine seems to be primarily the same, with some updates.



    As to the AA thing, jsut look at the "Gotham Monorail" sign in the second image above, and try telling me AA is working...:laugh:

    It took AMD how long to get Asylum working?

    As to Tesselation, I disabled it via CCC. That's not what is causing the poor performance, unfortunately, as that's easy to fix.

    SLowdowns happen due to what seems to be testure streaming from the CPU? Once you get the game and see when it pauses/slows, you'll understand, i think. My 6770 pauses at the same exact times as my 6950, so it's not a real problem, just coding, IMHO.
    erocker says thanks.
  20. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,629 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,047
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    this wasnt made by Crytek. And it seems that tesselation is only on the right things. It looks great and works well. I doubt Rocksteady would go that route and make a whole tesselated ocean under the map
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,515 (13.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,918
    Lol, we'll see.
  22. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,629 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,047
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    only part ive seen tesselation used so far was when i was down in this chimney of a building finding a way in to the building. oh and on Cat Women.
  23. John Doe Guest

    Unreal 3 engine so you have to disable smoothFPS or put a higher number from the config file,

    SS'es look nice BTW, reminds me of the old one. Will be buying this once I'm done with the other things.
  24. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,629 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,047
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    wow this game is great, it has side missions. Im definitely going to get my play time in this game!!!
  25. Abe504

    Abe504 New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    59 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    yea i have been playing it non stop. Just an Amazing game so far, glad i waited for the pc version. Rocksteady really need to be the official super hero game developers, just a really polished game.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page