1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Batman Arkham City PC Thread

Discussion in 'Games' started by MxPhenom 216, Nov 23, 2011.

  1. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,810 (13.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,192
    If anyone else is running a dedicated PhysX card with an AMD card here's what to do:

    With AMD card and drivers already installed and ready to go, install the Nvidia card and the latest WHQL drivers.

    Install Nvidia PhysX software: 9.11.0621 http://downloads.guru3d.com/nVIDIA-PhysX-System-Software-9.11.0621-download-2762.html

    Run the 1.05ff PhysX mod: http://www.ngohq.com/graphic-cards/17706-hybrid-physx-mod-v1-03-v1-05ff.html

    You may have to remove the file PhysxDevice.dll from Batman-2 - Arkham City\Binaries\Win32
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2011
    Frogger, Damn_Smooth and MxPhenom 216 say thanks.
  2. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,058 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,272
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    i wouldnt go that far. theres some issues with DX11, but other then that. Solid game. LOVE IT!
     
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,810 (13.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,192
    Yes, the problem with DX11 and this game is that when it's loading textures. That's when the massive drop happens. If that drop was fixed it almost seems as if DX11 will have just as good FPS as DX9.
     
  4. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,058 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,272
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    theres an update coming in a few weeks i presume, so lets hope it all works out. Whats your opinion on the tesselation now that youve played it??
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,810 (13.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,192
    It's.. okay? Not much to say about it I guess.
     
  6. BumbleBee

    BumbleBee

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    4,894 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,320
    Location:
    Cybertron aka Canada
    which costumes or bonus content does the PC version have?
     
  7. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,058 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,272
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    :D

    Youll notice it a lot when you get down into the chimney at the beginning of the game

    oh shit i forgot about the costumes
     
  8. BumbleBee

    BumbleBee

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    4,894 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,320
    Location:
    Cybertron aka Canada
  9. Recus

    Recus

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    528 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    179
  10. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,827 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,452
    There is new Physx Software engine available as of 11/10/2011, 9.11.1107
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. keling New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    93 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I am currently using an AMD HD5850 in my PC. I also have a Gigabyte 8500GT 512mb lying around in my cupboard. Will that be sufficient enough to be used as a dedicated PhysX card alongside the 5850? It's just a backup card but I am itching to try something new.
     
  12. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,827 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,452
    Unfortunately that will not work for a dedicated physx card. The recommended minimum is a GT 240/430 due to the 96 shaders.
     
    keling says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. keling New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    93 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Hmm...ok then...not much loss though. Back in the cupboard then, 8500GT.
     
  14. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,810 (13.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,192
    Yes, it doesn't work (blocks being able to use hybrid PhysX). That's why I linked to the other PhysX software.
     
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  15. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,827 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,452
    If anyone is interested I was able to get my max framerate to hit 87 by going to <User Profile>/My Documents/WB Games/BAC/BmGame/Config/UserEngine , open with Notepad, and editing the line UseVsync=True to False.

    [​IMG]

    Also, in the same file edit AllowD3D10=False to True and AllowD3D11=True to False. Huge FPS bump

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2011
    cadaveca says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,052 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,211
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Thanks alot, Kenkickr.:rockout: Plays well, looks good, no stutter, good FPS!!!

    [​IMG]
     
  17. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,827 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,452
    I'll be interested to see what it's like when I get my GT 440...Monday :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,058 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,272
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    ill play with the stutter in DX11 i like the tesselation haha! Patch should be coming out in a few weeks
     
  19. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    870 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Dawn
    I'm not the biggest fan of TWIMTBP, but I don't think the developers want to step in the same dookie they stepped in after AA was released (No pun intended).

    I think they need to do some REAL optimization, and not just troubleshoot an automated port, which is what I think they did. The game does need some real optimization, but I don't think it's discriminatory against ATI gpu users, it's just that they have more optimization to do in general. invidiaintelftw is running an invidia gpu and having similar framerate drops, hopefully they get the mess ironed out for everyone.
     
  20. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,058 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,272
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    its because DX11 is kind of broken, but they said theres a patch coming in a few weeks. They knew about it apparently when the game released
     
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,810 (13.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,192
    Bullshit. If this were the case they would of said something before or at release. Honestly, I barely notice a difference between DX11 and DX10 or 9 in this game. They all look great. It doesn't make much sense to play in DX11 mode atm. Stuttering > DX11 features.
     
  22. John Doe Guest

    There's no discrimination against AMD GPU's. If AMD couldn't step in with the developers (like in Arkham), that's their fault for being uncommunicative towards them. Yes, you have to pay to do it. And nVidia does, AMD doesn't. Why not blame AMD for not caring about their software then? See? Twist and shape how you see it fit.
     
  23. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,058 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,272
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    rocksteady said the day it came out the DX11 was having issues
     
  24. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    870 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Dawn
    I don't think you read my post.
     
  25. John Doe Guest

    I did in fact. You shouldn't have started with "TWIMTBP FTL DOWN with nVidia!". This thread has nothing to do with TWIMTBP. If you're unhappy with your software support, seek AMD Game forums. If not, don't crap the thread with your irrational love of AMD and irrational hate of nVidia.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page