1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Battlefield 3 Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by TheMailMan78, Feb 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    That would surprise me if they forced you to use your Origin name as your soldier name.

    I agree, but not sure on multiple soldiers. I haven't ever been able to make a second soldier in BC2, always asks me when making a new account to enter serial keys and my ones I already used obviously don't work. Wasn't sure how you had tested making a new soldier, maybe I missed something though.
    Killer_Rubber_Ducky says thanks.
  2. Black Haru

    Black Haru

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,137 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Indiana
    I have two soldiers in bc2, never had an issue. I know people (zen I believe) that have 3+ level 50s.
    1Kurgan1 and Killer_Rubber_Ducky say thanks.
  3. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,687 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    294
    I'm Mr. Bombastic say me fantastic...........yeah:pimp:
  4. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,783 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    If that was the case why does it say you have to have the same login as your Origin account. Also if you have the same solder name for Origin and Battle log right. Also solider names can change but most honest player like to keep their names just change classes. just don`t get caught hacking the game or using cheats.....They will ban you accounts period. They have done this in Battlefield play 4 free, They do it this way to prevent cheater using multi names and getting away with it.
  5. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    What do you do when it asks for the cd key? Me and 2 other friends have tried and it doesn't work.

    Where does it say you have to have the same login as the Origin account? And I login to BC1 as my email, then select my soldier name, why couldn't you login to BF3 as your origin account then select soldier name?
  6. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,687 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    294
    are you on console? Maybe that is why. On Pc no prob
  7. GullyFoyle

    GullyFoyle

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,428
    Location:
    Steeler Country
    Not sure if you are hitting the create button on the correct screen. There is one on the EA login screen to create a new EA Account, then there is one on the next screen, as seen below. I just went in an created a chicken_little soldier name, and it didn't ask me for any key.

    If you have auto-login enabled, you may be skipping past this screen. Uncheck it on the EA login screen.

    Perhaps it is different for the Steam version? Mine is retail.

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2011
  8. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Yeah I just realized that after I typed what I did about the Origin account, was going to login and see if I could do it.
  9. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,687 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    294
    nope it is the same with Steam.
  10. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,660 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,767
    Location:
    Chicago
    They'll give you Dead Space 2 no matter when you pre-ordered on Origin it would seem. Worked for me too (preordered a few weeks ago). They'll want the credit card last 4 and the order number. Was only a minute wait too...

    http://support.ea.com/app/ask

    Hey where the hell does it put these games? I installed Origin to my D: drive but I think DS2 is going to C: which is only a 60GB SSD. Anyone?

    Edit: Found it in settings.
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2011
  11. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,687 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    294
    I want to put BF3 on my SSD (C:) and the rest on Drives D: or X:.
  12. GullyFoyle

    GullyFoyle

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,428
    Location:
    Steeler Country
    ign.com - Battlefield 3 Developer Talks Mod Tools

    DICE says mod tools still an option. Talks Origin, Frostbite 2 and tuning the game for consoles.

    Australia, September 18, 2011

    by Cam Shea
    IGN AU

    Battlefield 3 is more than just one of the year's most anticipated games. It's also one of the most contentious, sparking all sorts of debates - some justified, some blown entirely out of proportion. Should the PC version have mod tools? And why isn't it on Steam? Is it a big deal that the game will run at 30 frames per second on console? And why can't PS3 and 360 support 64 players online? These were a few of the topics that have set the Internet alight this year. To get DICE's perspective on a few of these issues – as well as other topics, we caught up with Karl Magnus Troedsson, the studio's General Manager.

    IGN: A core part of Battlefield's heritage is giving gamers tools to mod the game and take it to new places. Why not do that with Battlefield 3?

    Karl Magnus Troedsson: Well, first of all, we have a lot of respect for the modding community. They've done some awesome things, and there's also a bit of a parallel there for a lot of us getting into the games industry; in the early days when we were looking at other games, making our own games, reverse engineering other games to understand what was happening, it's somewhat similar to modding a game - it's getting more and more close to actually making your own game. So we have a lot of respect for the modding community.

    At the same time, we haven't had mod support in our games for a long time, and there's a lot of reasons for that. First of all, DICE is committed to innovation and quality, whenever we do something. If we were to do mod support, it needs to be proper mod support, not some hack that we've thrown out there and then people scratch their heads. If we let it out there, it's going to be a good tool.

    It's a huge investment for us to do something like that, and also a bit complicated, and to some degree there's also [a concern] security-wise. It's a bit scary to take an investment like Battlefield 3 and just let people dig into that engine and do whatever they want. We're dedicated to try and really limit the amount of hacks and exploits that come out there, but as soon as you let something like that out, people have all the tools in the world that they need to sit there and try to create cheats that actually would destroy the experience for a lot of other people. I'm not blaming mod tools for hacks and exploits in any way, but there's a lot of things we need to consider.

    Mod tools won't be in Battlefield 3 when we ship it, but I can say this – we have heard the community loud and clear. We are talking about it in the studio. I'm not promising that we're going to do it in any way, but we have heard it, and we'll see what we do in the future.

    IGN: It must be pretty cool getting Frostbite 2 out there and into the hands of other teams.

    Karl Magnus Troedsson: Naturally, we're very flattered by this, that other teams within EA want to use the engine, but it's also a bit of a challenge. We have a separate team – the Frostbite 2 team – that handles this, so it's quite a big difference from them supporting one game to supporting more games within EA, but it's also very cool for us on the game team for Battlefield 3 because when [multiple] teams are on the same engine they can really share a lot more things, so we're starting to see things coming back into the engine from the various teams that really can help each other out, and that's a really cool experience.

    IGN: Can you give me an example of something that's come back?

    Karl Magnus Troedsson: An example, which isn't a real example, but is what's probably going to happen further down the line – usually these integrations back into the engine will happen more when the games are done I would argue – but for instance, we have a physics system for our vehicles. Maybe the Need for Speed team took that physics engine and then implemented their stuff on top and made it even better, because their physics engine is much more complex than ours probably, when it comes to vehicles. Then maybe at some point we'll integrate that back into the Frostbite 2 engine all the way to the core of it, so other teams can use that as well.

    IGN: How does the difference between 64 players on PC and 32 on console influence map design?

    Karl Magnus Troedsson: We're dedicated to making sure each version of Battlefield 3 makes the most out of the platform it's running on, but there are some changes we need to make, especially with consoles compared to PC, naturally, the PC being more powerful. But we have a good grasp of this. Those who've been following the series for a long time know that in the old Battlefield games you could play it with 64 players, but also a lower amount of players, meaning that we then scaled down the maps and the amount of vehicles, and these kind of things. And it's a natural way of thinking about it when you then play it with less players on console as well. We have a lot of history of knowing how to do this, so it's more of a technical challenge to get the most out of that platform when it comes to visuals, audio, animation etc, and putting each console's technical features to best use.

    IGN: Does the fact that some people will be playing on game pads influence the wider design? Or is it more subtle than that?

    Karl Magnus Troedsson: No, I would say that the different input devices, on console compared to keyboard and mouse on PC, is probably a bigger change for us, where we need to spend a lot of time – not revolutionising it, it's still the same gamepad as [players used] for the last game that we did, Battlefield: Bad Company 2, but you always want to refine it, make sure that it's as fine-tuned as it can be, because – we like to call it the 'second to second' experience - when you run and gun and shoot, it needs to be perfect, because if that doesn't work, then it doesn't matter what you have with the rest of the game. So we're really spending a lot of time making sure that the different gamepads on PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 are really fine-tuned, in collaboration with some assists, when it comes to how you aim at enemies and these kinds of things.

    IGN: How do you guys feel about EA's Origin service and Battlefield 3 not appearing on Steam? I would assume that you guys would want your game to be available in as many places as possible.

    Karl Magnus Troedsson: First of all, I like the idea of Origin. I like the idea that EA is dedicated to creating a service that actually latches onto the games, lets us have a direct communication with our players. It makes it easier for us to get updates to them, it adds that social layer of having your friends in one place. There's a lot of cool stuff in there. I can understand that people are a bit reluctant towards this in the beginning, but I would ask people to give it a shot and have a look at it. There's been other services out there that are now very established that have had perhaps a harder time in the beginning as well.

    Our ambition with this game is to make it available in all channels possible, retail as well as e-tail, of course. In some cases, business terms get in the way, and it's sad when this happens and I really hope we can sort this in the future, but right now we're not on Steam.
  13. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,660 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,767
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah Id like to as well though may not have the room.
  14. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,936 (7.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,509
    I have all my games on an SSD. Its a lil faster but not worth the space waste IMO.
  15. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,272 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Idaho
    Don't have an SSD I just want to play it :D
    mastrdrver says thanks.
  16. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,914 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,491
    yeah i keep too many games installed to put them all on an ssd, and as you said - it makes little difference (for most games)

    I do keep a few larger games that load alot of models, etc on an old ssd. it's fast but has the jmicron chip that makes it unusable (imo) as an os drive. i will use it for skyrim before bf3 though, not playing favorites just think it will make a bigger difference.
  17. Conti027

    Conti027

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,376 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    Edmonds, Washington
  18. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    I keep game like BF on my SSd its 120gb so I dont mind one or two games installed there. I have another HDD for all my other games and Steam folder.

    I do like how fast BC2 loads and the BF3 Alpha was equally as fast. I have no issues allocation SSD space for a game I'll play 500+ hours.
    digibucc says thanks.
  19. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,124 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Agree.

    Besides I've got me a couple 300GB VR for RAID0. Sure it isn't a SSD, but have you seen the price of those things!? :p


    :D
  20. T3kl0rd

    T3kl0rd

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    490 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    TimSad has found me a few times. He has found gysgt a lot more than me, I read on TimSad's stats.

    I have done a mobo swap and not reinstalled the OS and it worked perfectly. OFC, it was for the same make and model mobo but with an additional graphics card slot.

    Spammers of any weapon aren't an issue to me.
  21. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,687 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    294
    $161 for Corsair M4 at 128GB.
  22. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I got my WD 750 Black Edition RAID0 setup for $110 about 6 months ago, I wanted some more speed, but didn't want to sacrifice space, I like it.
    digibucc says thanks.
  23. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,914 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,491
    totally agreed, i just didn't notice a difference when i had bc2 installed on the ssd. it couldn't have been more than 5% loading time decrease, and imo that's nothing.

    i guess i see battlefield as a well optimized franchise and it doesn't get hung up on hdd speeds anyway, so an ssd to decrease what's imo the least demanding part isn't worth it.
  24. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,042 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    imo only MMO's or really big sandbox type games benefit from the speed of SSD drives, I had 2x SSD's to play with and I ended up giving one to my brother because I literally wasn't doing anything with it since I had no need to put games on there but WoW. :laugh: There definitely is a difference though in other games but the difference is in mere seconds so its barely noticeable. Although with the big maps of BF3 and all it might be too early to tell whether we'll gain anything by putting it on one of our Super Spectacular Drives :laugh: and I do remember BF 1942 taking years to load.
    digibucc says thanks.
  25. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,936 (7.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,509
    Thats true. Games like Fallout and such are were SSD shine for gaming.
    digibucc and random say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page