1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Battlefield 3 Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by TheMailMan78, Feb 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rapidfire48

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    535 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
  2. T3kl0rd

    T3kl0rd

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    496 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    I am going by what I read of others that played alpha. They were shooting the buildings with RPGs in the YouTube videos and nothing destructed. This isn't the final build and alpha didn't have all the features implemented giving credence to the report of it being DX9 only.

    ROFL, you are quoting manufacturer recommended specs! Games ALWAYS require more than the recommended to run perfectly. I stated "Definitely need a GTX 570 class card to run BF3 acceptably." If you want to run BF3 UNACCEPTABLY, by all means feel free to do so. Obviously the money you throw at your GPU, the more returns you will see when you game.

    U2K is more forward thinking than you and everyone knows what he runs. I know U2K personally, I should know.

    This guy is sooper cool! PC fanboy and wants to indoctrinate us to play @ 30 FPS on lowest settings like him. If it will run that fast. Firing up the old Commodore 64 now...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 20, 2011
  3. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,867 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,342
    If it takes a 6570 to run the game well then i have seriously overspec'd just for this game.
     
  4. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,927 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,495
    i just think you guys should stop talking out of your @$$es. you know no more than the rest of us on the actual required specs.

    the most you can honestly say is "the beta ran good on X , but you will have to wait and see"

    any further extrapolation is ingenuous on your part, and your attitudes make it contemptible.
     
  5. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,325 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Theres a big difference between min and max settings, expect to see people playing with 6570's, just don't expect them to be playing maxed out.
     
    Killer_Rubber_Ducky and digibucc say thanks.
  6. Rapidfire48

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    535 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Listen I played the alpha and I know how it ran and what frame rates my friends got with there 5770's and it was fine for them at a low res.
     
  7. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,867 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,342
    5770's?? meaning he was crossfired?
     
  8. Volkszorn88

    Volkszorn88

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,190 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    Straight from the BF3 website, updated specs

    Minimum System Requirements
    OS: WINDOWS VISTA (SERVICE PACK 2) 32-BIT
    PROCESSOR: 2 GHZ DUAL CORE (CORE 2 DUO 2.4 GHZ OR ALTHON X2 2.7 GHZ)
    MEMORY: 2 GB
    HARD DRIVE: 20 GB
    GRAPHICS CARD (AMD): DIRECTX 10.1 COMPATIBLE WITH 512 MB RAM (ATI RADEON 3000, 4000, 5000 OR 6000 SERIES, WITH ATI RADEON 3870 OR HIGHER PERFORMANCE)
    GRAPHICS CARD (NVIDIA): DIRECTX 10.0 COMPATIBLE WITH 512 MB RAM (NVIDIA GEFORCE 8, 9, 200, 300, 400 OR 500 SERIES WITH NVIDIA GEFORCE 8800 GT OR HIGHER PERFORMANCE)
    SOUND CARD: DIRECTX COMPATIBLE
    KEYBOARD AND MOUSE
    DVD ROM DRIVE

    Recommended System Requirements
    OS: WINDOWS 7 64-BIT
    PROCESSOR: QUAD-CORE CPU
    MEMORY: 4 GB
    HARD DRIVE: 20 GB
    GRAPHICS CARD: DIRECTX 11 COMPATIBLE WITH 1024 MB RAM (NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 560 OR ATI RADEON 6950)
    SOUND CARD: DIRECTX COMPATIBLE
    KEYBOARD AND MOUSE
    DVD ROM DRIVE
     
  9. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,325 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Doubtful, he said lower resolution. The Alpha didn't have tesselization, and BC2 doesn't either. And A friend plays BC2 on Med/High settings with an AII Tricore + 5770 without much of an issue at 1920x1080. Marineborn with his i7 laptop and a 5870 (equiv of 5770 for desktops) also played BC2 at the same settings and resolution. Drop the resolution and both of those would have played at high settings probably at 1440x900.
     
  10. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,709 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    I believe the OP (of the question)stated it all right there. He was running at 1280x1024. Not 1080p aka 1920x1080. The lower the resolution, the lower the strain on the card and thusly the less powerful the card needs to be to perform. As long as he can run with 4x MSAA and 4x AS; he should be fine with something like.... a 5770 or 5850. Something along those lines should be fine. Not all of us are trying to stress test the c-r-a-p out of our machines. Yes.... people want it to look pretty, but no one should sacrifice performance for beauty. If the ammunition manufacturers skimped on performance and ballistics and instead focused on making the ammunition look "pretty" they would not be in business for long. So, the best thing to do in this situation is to focus on making the game perform at optimum for his specs while saving him money at this time. If he like I can wait for the AMD 7xxx series to release, he can make the jump to a more power efficient and performance busting GPU chipset and bypass the 6xxx series altogether. ( I have to thank all my TS3 TPU buddies for advising me on this....Mailman, Erocker, Crazy, Laughingman, ......)
     
  11. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,867 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,342
    well.....Like one of the devs said during one of the interviews i watched on youtube (cant remember which one)

    when the issue of hardware was brought up. I remember him saying that the game would scale better for those with better hardware.

    So we shall see
     
  12. T3kl0rd

    T3kl0rd

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    496 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    One of my GTX 470s is more powerful than a HD 5850 and I need BOTH to keep BFBC2 locked @ 60 FPS @ max settings with AA on. Refer to my avatar and signature, I know what I am talking about when I talk about BFBC2, you are ignorant not me, noob. My PC is still the most powerful one in this thread OVERALL, even after a year. Definitely a beast whether you recognize or not.

    Recommended means NOTHING. Everyone knows a 460 won't max this game, not even close. Maxing means constant 60 FPS on ultra settings w/AA. You are thinking maxing means 30 FPS on lowest settings like sh!t PC fanboy. I said get a 570 class card for it to look good. I didn't say YOU can or will afford one. I am stating the FACTS of what this game requires to run optimally. When you play and expect BF3 to be locked @ 60 FPS on ultra w/AA on with one HD 5850, you will see I am right. Do you really need to play it to understand that?

    I am "GUESSING" this game is a beast? They ran the demo on a GTX 580 to show off they had a GTX 580 to run it on? Do the photo realistic graphics look to you like a single GTX 460 will run this flawlessly @ REAL max settings, not idealistic sh!t PC fanboy settings?

    I didn't say I played the alpha, I said I am going by other's reports. Stop quoting me like I stated I played, I never did any such thing. Everything I stated about the alpha comes from others that played it and from watching the YouTube videos.

    A GTX 460 will run this game VERY WELL @ 1280x1024. Gaming at that res especially for the GRAPHICAL TOUR DE FORCE BF3 is, is NOT a vast majority of people's definition of running this game "acceptably". A single GTX 460 WILL NOT run this game well for the 1080P folks, that is what I am talking about.

    He mad. Mostly misconstruing what I am stating in this thread to fit his world view of optimal sh!t PC gaming.
     
  13. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,709 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299

    Hmmm. define Unacceptable Game Performance. Are you saying that only your requirements are acceptable? Cause that is exactly what it sounds like. And 30 FPS is perfectly fine as that is the speed that all Movies run at (actually it is more like 29.3 something but that is a moot point)If a Movie looks smooth then you should be fine at 30FPS. If you must have 60+ stick with COD and leave the tactical realism to us. Oh that's right, if you turn off everything that DICE enabled in BF3 we could all run at 60FPS.
     
  14. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Are the trying to say the Xbox 360 controller will not work on PC?
     
    Killer_Rubber_Ducky says thanks.
  15. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,927 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,495
    seriously (this argument aside - and no, i still don't agree with you) you need some anger management. I have no interest in debating this with you - and not because you have wowed me with your intellectual might - but quite the opposite.

    you are abrasive and insulting, and it's simply not worth my time and effort to try and converse with you. good day sir.

    if you mean because it's missing from specs, that really says nothing. peripheral accessories in pre-release specs? not often...
     
    MT Alex, Abe504, H82LUZ73 and 3 others say thanks.
  16. Volkszorn88

    Volkszorn88

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,190 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    PC Elitist mode: ON
    Pfff why would you want to play bf3 on pc w/ a sh*t controller?

    Anyway lol

    Not sure, my guess you will be able to. Hopefully you'll find out during beta if you can or can't.
     
  17. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,709 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    I just hope that full joystick compatibility will be on. I want to be able to fly via stick.
     
  18. Volkszorn88

    Volkszorn88

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,190 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
  19. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,325 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    First, step off the high horse, you are killing the clubhouse mood. Your computer is nice, but with no overclocking, you probably aren't the fastest. 5850's trade blows with 470's, I wouldn't call either one the victor, and previously I had run dual 5850's (OC'd) and my 6 core at 3.9ghz, which would trump your setup, either way thats besides the point. (And Freedom Eclipses computer crushes just about anyones here)

    If you are playing at 1920x1080, playing with Max AA just isn't needed. Unless you plan to stop and enjoy the scenery, I honestly usually don't notice AA at all unless I stop moving, I try and keep it at 2x - 4x, just incase I stop, beyond that with as high of a res as 1920x1080, you just don't need max, at 1280x1024, thats another story.

    No one here is talking about playing maxed out (mostly because it's pointless to run AA that high). So I'm not sure why you keep bringing it up, or why you keep insulting people and bragging about your setup. Calm down, it's a clubhouse, have some fun.

    Don't think it is, like I stated above, highest AA isn't needed. And HBAO on vs off is hardly noticeable.
     
    MT Alex, TheLaughingMan and digibucc say thanks.
  20. Rapidfire48

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    535 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    LMAO this is great!!! He is a pro at the FPS level and all of us suck . His PC is far batter than anything we have and we just can't compete. I give up man you are the greatest.

    I also must say I am not at all impressed by your beast of a rig.
     
    digibucc says thanks.
  21. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,466 (4.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,268
    teklord, stop derailing this clubhouse thread or receive an infraction. thank you and good day.
     
  22. Millennium

    Millennium New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    I am actually annoyed at this. The recommended was previously a 6850, I bought a 5870 since it was a good deal and obviously faster, now they have changed the recommended to a 6950?!

    Damnit I was expecting to be able to run this game well with a new card now I either have to buy another for cross fire or sell it and upgrade. I've only had it like 3 days.

    No fair EA/DICE.
     
  23. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,325 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Usually going a step above recommended is best. I don't know what recommended is for BC2, but I'm assuming something like a 4870, or GTX280, but I wouldn't expect either of those to run with most things maxed out well in all situations. Digi's running a 5850 comfortably with BC2, and I made a switch to a 6950, but even with my card, I expect to probably drop my AA all the way down and a few other settings on BF3. With the price of a 6950 you can't go wrong either. You should still be able to run this game fine though, I wouldn't worry a ton.
     
  24. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,784 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    you know I might just get 2 beta codes ,from what it say I get 1 for MOHLE and 1 for Pre Order. We will see....
    Those minim specs seem good now I can test WIn8 and cross fired 4870`s compared to cross fired 6970`s and WIn7with BF3 beta too, One more week and 2 pc`s for beta .:banghead:

    here is what is says for both MohLE and BF3 pre order

    I BOUGHT THE LIMITED EDITION OF MEDAL OF HONOR, HOW DO I GET EARLY ACCESS?
    FOR XBOX 360, YOU WILL RECEIVE AN EMAIL WITH INSTRUCTIONS AND YOUR PERSONAL EARLY ACCESS CODE. NOTE YOUR CODE AND FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS.

    FOR PLAYSTATION 3, THE EARLY ACCESS OPEN BETA WILL AUTOMATICALLY APPEAR FOR YOU IN THE PLAYSTATION NETWORK STORE.

    ON PC, YOU WILL RECEIVE AN EMAIL WITH INSTRUCTIONS AND YOUR PERSONAL EARLY ACCESS CODE. NOTE YOUR CODE AND FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS TO REDEEM THE CODE ON ORIGIN.

    and under BF3 pre order

    I PRE-ORDERED BATTLEFIELD 3 (PC DIGITAL DOWNLOAD VERSION) ON ORIGIN. HOW DO I GET EARLY ACCESS?
    You will receive an email from us with instructions on your early access. The cutoff date for receiving early access by pre-ordering on Origin is September 25th.
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2011
  25. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,325 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    How does Win 8 run, you run many games with it? I been tempted to give it a shot, but the beta just came out and I didn't want to lose any functionality that I have with Win 7 currently.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page