1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Battlefield 3 Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by TheMailMan78, Feb 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,324 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Well my DL just finished, trying to decide if I should play or wait for EA chat to see if I can change my name. Last thing I want to do is start playing and be stuck with this name forever.

    I was capped out DLing.
     
  2. kg4icg

    kg4icg

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    103 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Herndon,Va
    Just got my email from EA but can't do anything right now.
     
  3. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah me neither.

    At least I'm not unemployed...At least I'm not unemployed...At least I'm not unemployed...
     
    digibucc says thanks.
  4. f22a4bandit

    f22a4bandit

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    574 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    196
    Location:
    SATX
    For those having issues with the Cat 11.10 Preview drivers, seems there's a problem

    Twitter

    EDIT: DRIVER IS FIXED!
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2011
  5. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,641 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,254
    Ever heard about overloaded servers?
     
  6. LightningJR

    LightningJR

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    261 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    If anyone has an extra key and feels generous pm me. :) thx. Me and 3 of my buddies are getting together and playing BF3 over the weekend it's gonna be a blast. If anyone wants to join us add ma Steam- LightningJR, Origin - xXLightningJRXx
     
  7. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    what mem/core clock is your 5850 at? Mine is:

    CORE CLOCK:765MHz
    EFFECTIVE MEMORY CLOCK:1000MHz (4.0Gbps)
    GRAPHICS MEMORY: 1GB

    MODEL: GIGABYTE GV-R585OC-1GD


    If I need to OC it, can anyone give me the optimal numbers to OC to that are stable and what tool to use as well? I have tried to OC before but I was using the AMD OVERDRIVE through Catalyst. i OC'd it but it was not stable and i BSOD'ed. I can not OC my RAM without it BSODing unless i guess I would have to remove 4GB kit to drop my timings.

    Check my system specs for the parts in my rig. I have been told I should OC my CPU but I can not find a stable clock and i am concerned about my temps going over 60C.

    Any help would be appreciated. When i get back from work today i will be installing another 1.5TB drive so i can make any adjustments you recommend at that point. Knowing Mailman, he has some beefy 5850.
     
  8. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,779 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,616
    I never received one of those emails where you click a link to activate, like joining a forum. No key here, and I'm in the same timezone as Boise, so I'm getting a little skiddish. I don't see any settings in Origin to even check the email address I submitted. Hell, I only have one, and my receipt for buying the game came just fine.
     
  9. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,922 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    this is why you need a dyndns account and some vnc software on your machine. important things require remote access, like starting a beta download :)

    can you download it at work and throw it on a thumbdrive?
     
  10. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,541 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    There is some cache folder for installers so I guess so.
     
    digibucc says thanks.
  11. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,922 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    oh , well yes it's possible - i just meant at your work. go for it! just close it after downloading, copy the files, and don't click install on the work machine.
     
  12. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,017 (7.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,572
    I was running stock when I ran BF3. However tonight Ill be running Afterburner. See specs for clocks and volts.
     
    Killer_Rubber_Ducky says thanks.
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,589 (10.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,092
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    just got my code and redeemed it, now i have to VNC into my machine at home to get it downloading so i will be ready when i get home tonight to game....!!!
     
    digibucc says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    That is no stock settings in your sig. I believe stock for a 5850 was 725/1000. I run at 825/1200.
     
  15. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    I found a post on overlock.net about OCing my board.

    Overclock GIGABYTE 5850

    They specifically state they got to 925 with stock voltage before going to a custom 5870 bios and clocking 800 1100 MEMORY. ANy Idea about whether or not I should flash to 5870? Can any of you geniuses take a gander at the page and such and advise me on this? I would love to OC my board but i do not want to F this up. :respect:
     
  16. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,779 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,616
    Boy, I wouldn't mess around with flashing a BIOS on the first day of the Beta. Seems like a good way to accidentally brick your card and end up screwed.
     
    digibucc says thanks.
  17. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,589 (10.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,092
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    download started... Now i cant wait to get home lol

    So your 5850 handled the graphics good mailman?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,017 (7.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,572
    I know. What I'm saying is I was running stock when I tested the beta this morning. Tonight Ill be running the clocks in my specs. Sorry I wasnt clear.

    To be clear.
    Beta this morning 725/1000
    Beta tonight 925/1125

    WTF don't flash your damn card. Just use Afterburner.
     
  19. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    well without the ability to increase my Volts with stock BIOS, I see no way to stable to 925 1000.
     
  20. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,017 (7.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,572
    Because you are not using Afterburner to up the volts. You are trying to go 925 on stock volts. Not gonna work. Download Afterburner already.
     
  21. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    Afterburner? I am unfamiliar with that program. Is it in the TPU downloads? How is this program used? Enlighten me Master:respect:
     
  22. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,922 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
  23. vivithemage New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    anyone getting crossfire to work? if so, what drivers?
     
  24. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,017 (7.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,572
    Here copy and paste the following in your CFG file once you DL it.

    After that do not exceed 1.25 volts. DO NOT go above 90c. Up your fan to 50% if needed.
     
    Killer_Rubber_Ducky says thanks.
  25. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    No Windows box handy but no matter as I was just talking about playing not downloading. Provided there's no crazy throttling or load by then I can grab 3 gigs in under ten minutes.

    Besides this is EA and Origin is obviously still very much a work in progress and I wouldn't want to do anything to screw up my access.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page