1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Battlefield 3 Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by TheMailMan78, Feb 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,066 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Beta seems to play worse then the alpha... :(
    H82LUZ73 and MT Alex say thanks.
  2. GullyFoyle

    GullyFoyle

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,428
    Location:
    Steeler Country
    If you right click on BF3 Beta in Origin and select Check for updates, it downloads another 3.9 GB file which is a slightly different version. (If you originally downloaded it yesterday)
    The new update creates a folder call "Battlefield 3 BETA", the original one was "Battlefield 3 Open Beta".

    Anyone tried, or seen any feedback on the new version? I'm downloading it now, but I have about an hour to cancel it.
    Bjorn_Of_Iceland and H82LUZ73 say thanks.
  3. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,066 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    I have the updated one.. still a glitchfest
  4. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    I got to play Caspian a few times. Ran straight for the plane...

    Mouse sensativity PLUMMETED. I mean DROPPED. I was bringing the mouse off the pad just to keep the plane going. Also, they go so fast I could not really engage anything. In addition, looks like missile lock is implemented, but there is no ability to launch missiles? Not sure, but locked people tons of times, but no missiles fired. Huh.

    The map itself is huge. I mean you NEED a vehicle to get around. It took me 10 minutes to run across the map.
    H82LUZ73, FreedomEclipse and 1Kurgan1 say thanks.
  5. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    PVT that map size reminds me of El Alamein, awesome! I remember my tank getting blown up in the desert and the run was so far back to a base I would just commit suicide.
  6. Abe504

    Abe504 New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    59 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    i have yet to finish a complete match, seems like whenever it gets to 20 tickets left, the whole server crashes out
  7. thepants1337 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Hey so how can I play w/ ppl in my platoon? Just got accepted!
  8. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    So, they finally released the Caspian Map? I'm so jelous! I recently purchased a new MB and it was DOA. Now it appears I won't be playing at least till next week! :banghead:
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2011
  9. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas

    >implying they released the map


    No the password just got "released." Anyway... This game seems to bring out tons of bugs in my GTX 460, however I am using the new drivers, and really don't give two shits as gameplay is fantastic.

    Also, Kurgan, yeah the map is huge man, so fun to play on. I actually ENJOY getting in the jeep and driving across the land, but I don't know, it is not even close to as fast paced at Metro.
  10. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,145 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,651
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Hey buddy i'm not knocking you for sharing the info, but you can't tell someone to just change the FOV to 90 with out knowing there Resolution. Using 1680 x 1050 with horizontal FOV @ 90 it needs to be 65, with hFOV @ 100 it needs to be 74, and with hFOV @ 110 then it needs to be 84. I'll list some different FOV's at the bottom. I should have out the first build of my BF3 Config Utility tomorrow. Like i said Wrigleyvillain I hope you don't take this the wrong way, because I know you just want to help other players. :toast:

    1920 x 1080

    hFOV @ 90 then set FOV to 59

    hFOV @ 100 then set FOV to 68

    hFOV @ 110 then set FOV to 78

    1680 x 1050


    hFOV @ 90 then set FOV to 65

    hFOV @ 100 then set FOV to 74

    hFOV @ 110 then set FOV to 84
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Am I allowed to post screenies of Caspian?
  12. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,145 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,651
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    YES PLEASE!! :laugh: :roll::roll:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Since the game has come out my Server Join feature has been buggy. Always recommends servers half way around the world. And a friend was telling me he sees 29 Caspian servers up, I only see 1, kind of lame :(
  14. d3fct

    d3fct

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,087 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    Upstate NewYork
    its an open beta so ya, maybe you have to wait untill the pre beta is over, but i'd love to see some, will be playing after work tomorrow. I will be d3fct, look for me, will look for fellow tpu'rs.
  15. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,351 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    550
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    im wondering now if my q6600 is going to be underpowered for bf3 ive checked many spec lists and its mostly C2Qds that are glitching or am i wrong i hope so.:)
  16. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,456 (10.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,004
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Downloading this stupid 3.9gb update, it better have fixed a shit load of things to take time out of my day to download
    Mindweaver says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Well , with all these bugs (common in BETAs) , at least I am not missing too much :) , are the bugs as bad as BFBC2 BETA?
  18. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Wait is the open beta live yet???
  19. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,456 (10.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,004
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    the beta is going but only for preorders, tomorrow is full open
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Damn, saw someone say the folder was BF 3 Open beta and I almost flipped :(
  21. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Well played a bit of Caspian, that map looks amazing. And it really is massive, I have no idea where the Jets spawn, and it seems people suck at shooting them down, so once you get in the air you basically are set and no one else gets to try jets. I don't understand why they are hard to shoot down though, I killed a jet after my first few minutes in there.

    Also rockets are extremely good against choppers, don't even need tracers, they just move so fast and have little drop in trajectory.
  22. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Hmmm does anyone have advantages that pc has over consoles in BF3? I currently have it pre-ordered for PS3 but convincing advantages could make me jump ship.
  23. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    That can't be a serious question... 64 player conquest vs 24 player, massive graphic differences.

    PC
    [​IMG]


    Console
    [​IMG]

    The difference is massive. Not to mention, FPS with a controller is fail. With dual 6950's and a 2600, buying one of the best looking games for PC on console would be a waste, why build the killer PC if you are going to play one of the best looking games on console?
  24. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Hmmm maybe I can play the PS3 version a few days then swap it at Gamestop for PC version lol
  25. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,782 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    Downloading now. Thank You Gully.:rockout:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page