1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Battlefield 3 Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by TheMailMan78, Feb 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,470 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,516
    Just applied :D kinda been away from the thread for awhile, World of Borecraft sucked me in again :slap:

    hoping my Crossfire 4850s can hold me until I can get a new GPU, something in the 6790-6870 range with another to follow after of course!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,792 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Well I guess you're outta luck. Seems you aren't the only one though.

    Well that's a funny video for people who have issues with BF3 beta/not on Steam

    Rant EA
     
  3. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    How do i join the platoon?

    Just got a new phone today too, SE xperia mini pro (the new one with the 1ghz scorpion cpu)
     
  4. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,792 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    Maxing out my bandwith with download naow! Now it was the issue with the graphic card. [​IMG]
     
  5. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I would say you would need atleast a 4870 1GB + to play this game decent.
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,470 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,516
    im sure Crossfire will help me out a bit when the retail version releases, and i can suffer with lower settings til i can get a new gpu. I know its the 512MB that holds me back in games.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,445 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    I am having a brilliant playing time and killing a ton, got nice upgrades like scopes etc, really getting into this demo.
    And no, it is not bugged. (one area is, yeah)
    Only thing missing now is teamplay,... it's next on my to do list.
     
  8. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,792 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Meh I'm just like ya anyways. I played BC2 with my ageing card, I can do with 1680x1050 as long as it plays smooth. BF3 will decide if I need a new one or not since I'm barely gaming any more. If it doesn't appeal, well I guess I'll be stuck in the stone age! :laugh:

    Haha, Yeah, but since beta's stats won't count, I guess a lot of people are testing stuff, so teamplay won't be at its peak.
     
  9. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,325 (4.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Thats wishful thinking, most of the time it will just say that server is full :laugh:

    That person who responded is dumb. I understand Recon is for headshots, but that person was talking about close range. And after being 1 shot in the body numerous times by the semi-auto Recon Rifles, makes no sense why the bolt actions wouldn't. Seems they got the stats backwards or something, bolt action close range should be a 1 shot, semi-auto should not be.
     
  10. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,140 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,669
    Being bolt action in real life doesn't mean more power. Tends to mean better accuracy. .308 auto or bolt doesn't matter. Both are .308. What makes the difference are the tolerances. Semi should be less accurate then bolt. That would achieve balance.
     
  11. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,325 (4.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Oh I know it doesn't, and I know many rifles in these games would kill 1 shot regardless. But I'm talking from a video game perspective. 1 shot with the MK11 from 30 yards in the chest is way to easy to kill people with. It's just retarded to play against. You want to win in the subways, grab that or an SVD, when you see someone, just aim about close and fire as fast as you can. If one connects, you win. And bonus is they are far more accurate hip firing than the bolt actions, since they aren't meant to be used in the same manner.

    Also it's funny you mentioned that tower is from krypton, you should check post 4440, lol.
     
  12. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,784 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    1 shot with the MK11 from 30 yards in the chest is way to easy to kill people with.

    That so true ounce they all get a wind of it.. they all start using it,This morning at least half of the other team was using them,They need a fixing since they are not as powerful as say the 45-50 cal guns.Also i notice some guys with them at full auto at close range.:banghead::banghead:
     
    1Kurgan1 says thanks.
  13. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,474 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    QFT

    This mess should be called alpha 2.0 i haven't been able to rank since yesterday because it always freezes or looses connection to the server before the round ends it was fine monday 25+ rounds 0 points, does it save if i quit ?

    When i have gotten the chance to use the pp2000 i was gunning ppl down like i had a mg3 even at range way more effectively then any of the other AR's or LMG's its retarded.
    Secondly the opfor weapons starting are horrible compared to the us weapons which is bs. I love that combat knives no longer behave like a full sized katana where one click at 3 ft away = instant death.

    Overall i like the battlelog it works well and the interface is nice and its a huge slap in the face to COD's pay service. The game engine runs excellent i was expecting it to be a lot more demanding.

    Hopefully around late nov it will be enjoyably playable and i will pick it up as the connection/rank/balance issues i suspect will follow this alpha to retail.
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2011
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I hope they make it like BC2 is and save your points as your play so if you get disconnected, you still have everything you played for
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,325 (4.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Yep, I mentioned that in this thread yesterday, it's bullshit. If you check the platoon it should show I made a post on the game forums, go and bump it. The MK11 and SVD are just retarded right now. And thats what we are playing for, to help them fix things.
     
    H82LUZ73 and digibucc say thanks.
  16. FierceRed

    FierceRed

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    224 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    1. Add me to the platoon please, username is QueenSix.
    2. Is there a new password for the Caspian Border servers suddenly? I can't get in anymore using 'videokilledtheradiostar'. As of noon, EST.

    Cheers.
     
    H82LUZ73 says thanks.
  17. f22a4bandit

    f22a4bandit

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    574 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    196
    Location:
    SATX
    Hmmm...I can't even get into a game that has 20+ slots available now...no idea why.

    Edit: Looks like quick match is finally matching me with US servers. Unfortunately, although I can "join server," I'm still waiting on actually launching. Something is amiss.
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2011
  18. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,445 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    1. Instead search for "Techpowerup" platoon and apply.
    2. passwords changes constantly, but some servers keep the older one for a bit longer (everything apparantly)
     
  19. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,140 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,669
    I want the M16 from BC2 Vietnam. I'm a samurai with that thing!

    Also where the hell is the M14 or M21? They got a f#$king SKS but no M14 or M21? WTF!

    Why did he touch you?
     
  20. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    The M16 that is in BF3 is just as good. I was murdering people when I got the first optical and fore grip

    Reayth is a badass of the OG kind
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,140 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,669
    It doesnt "feel" the same for some reason.
     
  22. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    its very close but thats my opinion. I LOVE the sounds in this game cause they are close to real world combat sounds
     
    digibucc says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,140 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,669
    I agree. Some of the weapons don't quite have the "pop" as the real weapons (.223) but I gotta say they are DAMN close. Love the shotgun. Its got the right "sploosh" sound.
     
  24. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,792 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    As ugly as it was in Vietnam, I have to agree, it was ugly damn efficient.
     
  25. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,474 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    Everyone getting disconnected from server errors

    Turn off UpNp on you ROUTER it and it will stop:rockout:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page