1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Battlefield 3 Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by TheMailMan78, Feb 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Abe504

    Abe504 New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    59 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    I'll chip in on a server
     
  2. Q9650

    Q9650

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    117 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    ok playing now............
     
  3. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,896 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    389
    Location:
    Florida, US
    just accepted you
     
  4. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,896 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    389
    Location:
    Florida, US
    can someone send me the TS3 info?
    thanks
     
  5. purecain

    purecain

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    617 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    well i had to dll notepad++ to edit the FOV to 90...

    and have spent the last hour messing around with auto hotkey... seriously...

    a pc game that doesnt let you 'fully' remap the controls... (i know its beta but still)
     
  6. Millennium

    Millennium New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    This game is just so damn cool. Downloaded in about 35 mins on a 20mbit connection here in UK, sweet as, just played a couple rounds only and DAMN is this game good.

    On the down side though I don't think a 5870 is really good enough for this game at 1080p, and lowering res didn't seem to help (also lowering settings to medium). Might need to upgrade.

    This game reminds me of how cool all the best old multiplayer games was. I think it's the best since quakewars and that's going back some time indeed. Love it!
     
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,583 (10.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    A 5850 is about 5 from the top, surprising. I guess with a OC of the 5850 then it should be close or over that mark?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,583 (10.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    My 5850 on medium played 60-90FPS? def smooth and playable. Your 5870 was lagging even on medium? You can even watch my video from a couple of pages back.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,454 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    This is quite frustrating how i keep repeatedly getting a looping sound crash over and over
    any ideas ?

    Also love how searching BF3 beta crashes on google nets 0 results
     
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,583 (10.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I haven't crashed per se but I have gotten kicked due to lag
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,340 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    don't base your expectations on this demo or beta. Final game might be a little more intensive on textures etc
     
  12. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    It plays well on all max settings, around 50FPS on 1680x1050 with the 570SC but that's not the proble. Where the goddam tesselation? Sand bags look like posters? Water is a joke. Destructible all my ass. Where my shadow on the wall - Roger Chapman and Mike Oldfield both - ? The RAM usage is insane, is it the numerous programs that have to run at the same time to play this game? Gameplay wise I'm not that impressed and this map is terrible - COD? - the park looks ugly. Got to get used to the game. And why is vsync not working, at least I see tearing although enabled.
     
  13. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,993 (7.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,542
    That chart doesnt make sense. If thats the case I'm getting close to 580 performance with a 5850 :wtf: Um no.

    I dunno....maybe because its a beta?
     
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,583 (10.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    yea mailman, it is quite weird I think. Im happy as is, I MAY OC mine tonight or yes a profile in MSI Afterburner that when I start BF3 it starts my OC profile and when im done it goes back stock
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,993 (7.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,542
    Check out my system spec. Thats a safe volt and clock for most the reference cards Ive come across.
     
  16. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    I have a feeling that this is the last nail in DX11's coffin. Crysis went down in smoke and all the others that preached tesselation and how great the DX11 is. Well it's not. But hey, it's a beta!
     
  17. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,993 (7.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,542
    There is nothing wrong with tessellation when used properly.
     
  18. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,583 (10.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Mine will do 1000 core 1200 mem @ 1.2V 50% fan stable.

    I ran this for about 2 months but went back down to stock when moving cases and left it.

    Tess for us 5xxx series card users is shit tho :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. ColdPlay New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Hi guys!
    Love the game, and part from servers going down from time to time, no problems.
    I'm still at my first build, AM2+ q940, with 8g DDR2, and my cick ass MSI 6950.
    HD and ultra setting runs fluently. In Vista 64 bits. Need win7..or8?
    All @ stock clocks but video card Afterburner profile @ 830/1280/1,22v.
    ColdPlay, origin XLBColdPlay

    Cya In Game?
     
    Millennium says thanks.
  20. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,138 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    580
    I noticed in the Google doc that those that tried Ultra settings (for the most part) reported gameplay as adequate but max settings was almost unanimously great. Maybe something that still needs tweaked from a drivers point of view or maybe the game, idk.

    Yes, because BC2, Dirt 2/3, etc are all crap with their tessellation along with a Beta failing to provide what we will see in the final release. :rolleyes:
     
  21. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Well let's hope for the better in the final release! So many dissapointments lately in the graphics department.

    Maybe later a high-res pack "a la Crysis 2" ?
     
  22. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,583 (10.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    WHAT?

    the gfx in this game run circles around BC2 and other shooters (COD...)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    You played BFBC2 all maxed out? COD is totally irrelevant as it's crap DX9 many years ago engine.

    But I don't wanna argue just that I'm a little dissapointed.
     
  24. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    I think it looks wonderful. I think SP is going to look even better than MP as well because of scripted events.
     
  25. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,583 (10.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I have my BC2 fully maxed on 1080P and I think BF3 on medium with alittle AA/AF looks just as good if not better than BC2 but hey its just my opinion.

    You gotta realize, Frostbyte 1 = Console engine, Frostbyte 2 = PC engine
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page