1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Battlefield 3 Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by TheMailMan78, Feb 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    It's not just the game that has problems, i tried out The beta drivers EA reccomend from NVidia, and they cause me to have graphics problems in not only BC3, But Windows itself, so installing those drivers has cause massive errors in my vista install, luckily my windows 8 install is still working without a fault.

    i'm also disappointed on the ram+VRAM usage, i can run BC2 on high on my 512MB card and have space to spare, BF3 can top it out running on medium and it looks far worse, as well as taking up to 1.5GB of my system RAM

    it's just sad i can have more problems with one games Beta version, then i do with an entire OS in it's developers build
     
  2. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,711 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    I'll give you a brief history of PAIN with the back of my hand!!!:slap:
     
    1Kurgan1 says thanks.
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,890 (13.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,292
    AMD BF3 drivers gives me crashes, black screens and blue screens oh my! Battlelog though, for me so far has been good. Works without a hitch. 11.9 whql's I do not have a problem.
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2011
  4. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    So i think i'm right in saying AMD and Nvidia have messed up badly

    I think they should all take a look at Microsoft and Google, running a developers build of an internet browser on a developers release of an OS and it runs flawlessly

    why is their Beta software at the point of messing up an entire windows vista install

    EDIT:Just went and played BF2 and it still works so it's nothing to do with the fact i almost killed my graphics card earlier today
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2011
  5. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    I haven't had a single problem from AMD's BF3 drivers, has almost everyone else experienced issues?
     
  6. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,915 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,357
    the problem with the preview drivers for BF3 is that they were rushed.

    Not everyone has problems with these preview drivers but I think we can say that more have issues then those that dont. ATi (and im guessing Nvidia) drivers usually install just fine without any problems - Proof that QA is doing their jobs. but here it seems like the 11.10 previews (and/or Nvidia drivers) were fast tracked so that AMD could follow in the steps of Nvidia and say they released a set of performance drivers so people could play the beta as it was ment to be played (I have no idea what AMD's slogan is but Nvidia's works just fine) without any extensive testing from the QA team before they uploaded it.


    Ive just upgraded to 11.9's and they have been working fine so far. though I am experiencing some graphical glitches while in game. but i think thats more a problem with the beta itself then anything else.

    Im running it on ultra settings just fine with the occasional slowdown. The game wouldnt hurt to be optimised a little more.
     
  7. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,711 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    I actually think my BSOD Thread may have something to do with the BF3 drivers too!
    I'm running 11.10 drivers from AMD.
    I get that BSOD 0xA error after playing so maybe the driver is effing up my card? What should i do? remove it with driver sweeper and install 11.8?
     
  8. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    how does the game look on ulta freedom

    i can tell you now the bugs have finally died down a little medium on BF3 looks like high on BF2 but i can't run BF3 on high or ultra

    Looks like you were right, even if they boost the game and drivers performance a bit from now till release

    "I need moar Powah"
     
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,890 (13.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,292
    Uninstall it, then run driver sweeper then install the latest 11.9's and the latest CAP.
     
    Killer_Rubber_Ducky says thanks.
  10. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    I run it on full ultra with no problems, my crossfire doesn't seem to be acting up either o_O but the game looks and plays great, I don't see many graphical problems other than simple beta things like trees wiggling and such.
     
  11. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    Since it's more tilted towards close combat i am owning this, i used to have sniper problems but now i can see the glare like a small firework and since this assault rifle is surprisingly accurate i'm having a great time sniping snipers
     
  12. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    I find that sniping in BF3 is much better than in BFBC2 but am I the only one who thinks pistols got a large powerup?
     
  13. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Try the amazingly unfair heat detection sight, and you will see that all you have to do is sit in the brush and shoot!
     
  14. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    no they were great in BC2 as well, once you got the hang of it you could do almost as well with the pistol as with the larger guns
     
    digibucc says thanks.
  15. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Thermal sights are stupid and overpowered, hopefully they may be removed in the full game, so us snipers get the credit we deserve :/ *crosses fingers*
     
  16. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    these beta drivers may need their' own thread, i managed to take a screenshot of this just before about 12 different error messages popped up on the screen and the PC crashed

    this is what happens in chrome, notice how the bits with GPU rendering etc are the messed up bits


    [​IMG]

    if i leave it a bit longer Windows itself starts to mess up occasionally
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  17. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,890 (13.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,292
    Oh wow! :wtf: Uninstall those post-haste!
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  18. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Any idea why not all of us running the latest drivers are affected o_O:wtf:
     
  19. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Yeah I really agree. At least it is not as bad as having the power of the sun at your finger tips.

    Pretty much, to sum up my experience, great, but needs re-balancing, but what game doesn't in beta?
     
  20. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    this is a glitch that affects me only after certain things happen

    the new drivers work perfectly for me until BF3 crashes (happens every half-hour or so), then the drivers reset and after that the entire picture output on my computer slowly dissolves into repetitive patterns

    so it may be down to individual system and circumstances
     
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,890 (13.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,292
    No? If you're not having issues, what's the point in asking why you're not having issues? :laugh:

    Like I said, 11.10 previews cause crashing for me. 11.9whql's work great in BF3 for me. Use what works.

    For those who DO have issues. Go fill this out: http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5a1e27d27e29b0e3
     
  22. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    one of those for nvidia?
     
  23. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,671 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yes better experience with the 11.9s here too as I posted earlier. 11.10s did not crash but tearing was awful (also only used them for like ten minutes though).

    What is the latest CAP btw?
     
  24. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,890 (13.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,292
    http://www.nvidia.com/object/driverqualityassurance.html


    CAP 4 on AMD's site. There's a CAP 5 on Guru3d's main page. I'm using CAP 4 without issue.
     
  25. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,671 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah ok making sure no 11.9 CAP 1 yet I guess. I'm using 5.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page