1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Battlefield 3 Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by TheMailMan78, Feb 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    Well I can't tell yet if disabling crossfire helps the sudden min fps tanks but I really do need it on as one 6850 isn't gonna cut it.
     
  2. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,324 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I don't mind prone, but I remember everyone crying about BC2 missing it. But it was fine, games of this generation have so much more cover areas compared to even BF2, I just don't feel prone is needed. and DICe obviously agrees, prone came back with Sniper lens flare, I bet if there was no prone, there would be no lens flare.
     
    random says thanks.
  3. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,043 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Agreed, sad that when they answer the fans wants about not having prone in their previous game and then when they finally implement it they naturally get complaints about it. I've personally haven't had any problems with snipers and proning, while playing as assault and moving around the map through good cover I find myself not encountering any at all unless I am fortunate enough to stumble upon their little nests :D. I've got a gameplay video I'll be posting up soon to show my experiences :).

    Thoughts on the gameplay: Jolly good gov'na
    Thoughts on the Metro map: I hope the rush maps aren't similar to this one, while its a good map for testing all the guns etc. It gives me flashbacks of CoD. With that said the Conquest map Caspian Border keeps the true BF spirit from when I played it although I am starting to worry about rush.
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2011
  4. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,082 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    762
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Ya but its not just snipers who prone, and its way too hard to see someone in a bush right now even if your standing ontop of them.

    The lens flare makes bad snipers easy food tho :rockout:
     
  5. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,141 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    580
    I must have super eyes. People laying in bushes, etc are not too hard to see. They eventually make the fatal error of moving which gives their position away.

    :laugh: Reminds me of the guy I saw complaining in the text chat saying "you can't take the mcom through your scope".

    Too true though.
     
  6. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,324 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Bush wookies aren't hard to see, if you sit and look for them. But actually moving around and trying to attack or defend crates they become hard to see. I personally can't stand just sitting in one spot. I don't mind dieing to get something done, but some people just can't stand it, so they will just sit in some stupid place far off the objective just so they can't die. and they don't even have a good position to kill, but they might get a few lucky kills and thats all they want, waste of a spot.

    You make a good point, most snipers I see now are using ARs with big scopes and bipods. Those are the really hard ones to spot.
     
  7. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,710 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,278
    I cant wait until the game gets released. then modders come up with the '2 sniper per team' mod.

    Every twat in BF3 beta wants to snipe. and my final game last night got sooooooooo bad. if i wasnt being spawn killed by enemy snipers, then i would be out in the open after my team managed to capture the M-coms in the park and trolling my team who were at the entrance of the metro playing 'Enemy at the gates' with the snipers on the opposing team /deepsigh
     
  8. purecain

    purecain

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    619 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    i feel your pain.... i came off feeling extremely frustrated.... :banghead:

    i'll get my revenge when the retail version comes out....:slap:
     
  9. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Big suprise! Ran the game on my other rig, GTS450 512MB and E8400 on an LCD TV 81cm with 1366x768 res. Let detected settings apply, a combination of medium with some low, SSAO and it looks absolutely gorgeous and plays very well! I might be crazy but it kinda looks better than all max out settings I used with the GTX570 SC.
    So you don't have to have a monster rig to enjoy the game.
     
  10. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,324 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Yeah turning the res down should allow almost anyone to play it, the game seems decently optimized.
     
  11. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,491 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,593
    Wow!!! What a fun game:)
    [​IMG]
    Not the best scores, but I will get better.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,051 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    808
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    About 70% of my deaths have been from snipers:banghead:

    I now have a grudge against snipers:banghead:
     
  13. Millennium

    Millennium New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    I'm getting like 45+ fps with an 5870 on medium settings. I'm pretty happy with that at 1080p res. Don't want to turn the res down incase I miss stuff on screen like enemies and head shots.

    Don't like having to keep the browser open to play the game though, I must say. Which browser is best for mem use for this game?
     
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,589 (10.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,092
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Facebook is full of Beta complaints that Dice had to make a post about the meaning of beta. Its not that bad and is what to expect of a game that is not fully finished. People dont get this nor do they get that dice is STILL working on a lot of things they will implement in final version.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,324 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    People don't understand beta like you said. People now days think beta means Demo, and they get so angry and judge a game based on balance they dont like, or a bug like falling through the ground. Consoles have pulled in a massive gaming group that didn't exist before, and some of them have seen how great the game looks on PC and will be migrating over. Expect these people to be impatient and want instant gratification from everything.
     
  16. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,589 (10.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,092
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I will try to play some today, Ive been too involved with my WII
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. hv43082

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,448 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Orange County, CA and Miami, FL
    Hahahah so true so true.
     
  18. Horrux

    Horrux

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    735 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    I think you will find that playing on the 64-player maps will crush your FPS pretty significantly. At least that was my experience. The 5870 is a very good card, yet do not be surprised if you see FPS in the 20's in Caspian Border. At least, my frames were pretty much halved going from Operation Métro to Caspian Border.

    On another note, I just applied for the TPU platoon. :)
     
  19. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,324 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Yeah Caspian got pretty harsh, even for my 6950. But we'll see what it's like at release.

    And added you to the platoon just now Horrux.
     
  20. Horrux

    Horrux

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    735 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Thanks! I look forward to playing with you guys! :)

    And yeah, on a single GTX 570, I got framerates in the low 30's at times, although that also probably has something to do with my CPU being memory bandwidth starved. I'm changing the mobo & ram a bit later today, we'll see if SLI works OK or if that makes a big difference in framerates... If/when caspian comes back...
     
  21. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    They fixed the glitching through the ground on Metro it seems.
     
    mastrdrver says thanks.
  22. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,589 (10.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,092
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I play on medium with my 5850 and I am not ashamed to admit it :)
     
    Radical_Edward and TheLaughingMan say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,324 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Nothing wrong with that, as long as you don't say you are playing on low to try and find some stupid advantage like less foliage. Hate those noobs.
     
  24. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,589 (10.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,092
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Nope I just wanted to play at a good smooth FPS so when I do hit those large out door areas, Im not effected
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,917 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    386
    No what people dont understand about the glitching floor is it caused by high ping if people used the server filters they wouldn't get this problem the beta has no auto filter so you could be placed in a server with bad ping.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page