1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Battlefield 3 Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by TheMailMan78, Feb 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    So you are telling me no 64 player rush?! That'd be epic

    [​IMG]
     
  2. catnipkiller

    catnipkiller

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,493 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    canada
    Just got the online pre order and dling the drivers. My user name is catnipkiller or catnapster.
     
  3. Recus

    Recus

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    525 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    :laugh:
     
  4. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
  5. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    I found rush in BF3 a little more enjoyable than rush in BC2. Maybe it's just the fact you can really stay behind cover more or maybe that the game is more dependent on guns rather than noobtubes.
     
  6. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Or maybe it was because you had no choice and it was love it or leave it.
     
    digibucc says thanks.
  7. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    That is possible. Once the Caspian servers were open I didn't play rush again.
     
  8. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,601 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,223
    I found (as some poster said above) that it was good to have both maps. Playing Metro over and over again was boring, but so was Caspian imo. Caspian was a bit more enjoyable but I would hate it if the game only had one type.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  9. GullyFoyle

    GullyFoyle

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,428
    Location:
    Steeler Country
    The first thing that people made a fuss over in the server docs is "Every BF3 PC player has exactly one EA account. The player can then have one or more soldier names."

    Don't get your hopes up...

     
  10. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    You only get 1 soldier.
     
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,943 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,065
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I wonder if this is enough for maxing out the game?
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  12. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,922 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    why then was there a "soldiers" (notice the s) menu in battlelog during the beta? i'm just wondering whether that is your best guess or you know for a fact somehow?
     
  13. DEFEATEST

    DEFEATEST

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    369 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
  14. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    It should do just fine if the beta was anything to judge by even with only high settings being available the way 6950's tore through it Ultra should be fine and steady at 60 FPS also are your 6950's at stock clocks? Also I run 3DMark11 and get a score nearly 1000 points under you with the processor and card setup should I be concerned about that?
     
  15. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    cadaveca says thanks.
  16. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,778 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,616
    Pretty sure he was being facetious. As far as your score goes, among other things, your system specs say your 2600 is only at 3.4MHz.
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  17. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Hmmmm OC time i guess. And that teaches me to look carefully at the picture next time lol
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2011
  18. Recus

    Recus

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    525 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
  19. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Your system is great, overclocked 2600K with dual 6950's should be more then enough, not sure how well BF3 scales in crossfire though.

    I should be able to max it out with my single 6970, as the beta on Ultra with my GTX 470 ran great, granted it was not 60 frames great.

    The retail version is supposed to include tessellation though and that might be the breaking point for most modern DX11 cards.
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  20. catnipkiller

    catnipkiller

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,493 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    canada
    I wanna see if i can run this game with everyting maxed but aa. I also wonder if this game is more cpu or gpu baced.
     
  21. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    The beta utilized multiple threads/cores, didn't check how much GPU usage i was getting though.

    It also seemed to have had a lot of missing details visually so i think in the retail version the GPU usage will be higher overall, especially with the DX11 features.
     
  22. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,943 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,065
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, in LinX, but I am just using an H70, with the in-line resistors in place, so not maximum cooling the H70 offers, either. Frankly, I'm perfectly happy with those temps, as during gaming the CPU is usually mid-60's.

    Did you miss the post from DICE saying Ultra needed 580 SLi?:confused: There was no "Ultra" in the beta. I did put in 25 hours on the beta, and notice ZERO difference between High and Ultra, so I'm not so quick to say a single card will be fine, at all.

    Actually, no, I'm not be facetious at all. Don't forget I'm also an Eyefinity user, so my "requirements" are going to be far more than the average user. I'm seriously considering dual 6990's, or 4 6950's...but if I go with four, I want four matching cards. Not liek I can afford either option right now, anyway :p:
     
  23. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Cadaveca if you get dual 6990's I would honestly have to worship your pc :laugh:
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  24. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,943 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,065
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    :laugh: I'd actually prefer four separate GPUs so I have a nice eight-slot-thick slab of GPU goodness.:laugh:


    :wtf:




    :D
     
  25. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,673 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    good news everyone!!!

    Due to the company i bought the game from f**king up - I could have my copy of BF3 by tomorrow!!!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page