1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Battlefield 3 Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by TheMailMan78, Feb 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Testing CPU and GPU in Battlefield 3 at Techspot gives some interesting results.
    Basically a Sandy dual core or an AMD A6-3650 paired with a GTX580 will perform on par with all the big guns in gaming CPUs. So no, you don't need a quad or "octo" core to play this game well. You need a strong GPU.

    http://www.techspot.com/review/458-battlefield-3-performance/page7.html
     
    newbsandwich says thanks.
  2. Horrux

    Horrux

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    735 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Interesting, but CPU tests should always be performed at the lowest image quality settings possible, in order to make the CPU work hardest. As it is, what we are seeing is most likely GPU bottlenecking, except for the weakest CPUs.
     
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,586 (10.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,091
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I have it off. With the card OCed I hover around 50 FPS, in wide open areas with 64 player i may dip to 45FPS but I have everything on high with 2xmsaa 16x AF and HBAO on
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,305 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,528
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Think i'll make some space on my SSD and remove BFBC2.

    I personally find this much more rewarding and frustrating which means i like it. I've tinkered with my mouse dpi, gfx settings and after a few hours gameplay it's like a comfy pair of slippers.

    Slippers that fetch me beer and rub my neck when I gets pc posture problems...
     
  5. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    removed, cause I'm blind.

    I didn't even see it brandon, doh.
     
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,586 (10.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,091
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    It was posted like 4 posts up :/
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah for Christ's sake people I know you are all excited to share a good link but at least look at a page or two back first. Thats not just picking on Johnny and I know we all miss posts.

    Ok cool but did you notice an IQ difference? Its reported that Post results in kind of a blurriness as I guess that's how it smooths whole image. So when I went from 2x and Medium to 2X and Off it looked a lot crisper and sharper in general I thought. AA itself is decent not great in terms of jaggies but hey I'm only running 2x MSAA. Can't wait to be able to go higher.

    Yeah I put it on my SSD too (only 60GB and the first big install of anything besides Windows I've put on it). Of course, loading faster is always good but I'm wondering how much benefit I really get as it's not like you can start a new round as soon as loaded up. I may move it and put Skyrim on there instead next month, idk yet...
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2011
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,586 (10.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,091
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I seen a lot of difference in stuff like fences and antennas, something like wires that are skinny are not so jagged.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,922 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    that's what i will do. i just see it being more drive intensive than bf3 is.
     
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,586 (10.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,091
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    After some concerns of the slow loading of the OP, I have changed the resolutions of the pictures. Each picture is under 300K and alittle easier on the slower connections.
     
    Mussels and digibucc say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    The A6-3650 is a quad-core CPU.
     
    brandonwh64 says thanks.
  12. REAYTH

    REAYTH

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    136 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Flo REy Da!
    Cadaveca!!!!! Did they take you dice developer tag they took mine????
     
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,586 (10.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,091
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I think he was talking about the Athlon X2 they tested which IMO should work fine but some people are trying to play on older 775 dual cores and that is were I see issues in the future. I would like to see a benchmark of those chips as well.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    I know, but it's in the same price range as a SB dual core which has hyperthreading.
     
  15. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    No dude as Ive tried to explain three times I'm not talking about the effects of applying AA specifically (less jaggies) but rather that turning off Post seemed to make the whole damn image (game) look less blurred and crisper and better. But no one else seems to care so done beating this horse.
     
  16. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,946 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,067
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yes, mine is now gone. BASTIDS!!!!


    :banghead:



    Still got a listing for dude though. I think they screwed up battlelog stats, for sure, as I got 5-6 knife kills, but there is not a lsiting for 5-6 tags, even though there should be. Of course, one of those tags was the DICE Dev one.
     
  17. MatTheCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    883 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    BF3 has hit in the UK at last and well....

    The single player, although it does look stunning an is an excellent show case piece, it is basically a pile of stage managed brain dead CoD-esque crap......i got bored of it before even finishing Operation Swordwhatever. BFBC2 was much more fun (single player).

    Of course, multiplayer is where it is at and that seems much better.

    As i suspected, the flight vehicles feel totally horrible and unnatural to fly. Although I crossed my fingers and preyed for a BF2 style flight system, I knew it was never gonna happen. Preferring to fly with a gamepad, I have come across my first irritation; the game doesn't let you configure your gamepad, instead it wants you to be stuck with (absolutley f-ing shitty) default gamepad controls. After a disasterous outing in the chopper, I decided to go find an empty server to practice on and thus my second irritation; The game doesn't let you move around empty servers, instead you are just stuck to the spot.....I mean WTF are those stupid f-kers thinking about?

    So, does anyone have any suggestions as to how someone can learn the flight mechanics without putting his death tally through the roof and/or pissing off other players on a busy populated active server?
     
  18. REAYTH

    REAYTH

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    136 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Flo REy Da!
    i want my dog tag shaped lollipop!!!
     
  19. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,946 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,067
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Meh, something is up o ntheir server back-end, as I just got 4 emails about GunClub, for stuff I had received emails for long ago. Other stats also seem broken. Thankfully, I still have that image that I posted in this thread, so I'll try to hit them up and see what's up.
     
  20. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    must stop playing BF3.. must sleep.... Just one more game. :)

    On another note I am having major crossfire issues, I can't play at all with crossfire enabled. I have cleaned off all drivers - installed 11.10 preview 3 - installed CAP 4 - disabled ULPS.

    :banghead:
     
  21. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    digibucc and 1Kurgan1 say thanks.
  22. REAYTH

    REAYTH

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    136 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Flo REy Da!
    Please keep me updated with any late breaking news.
     
  23. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ok some stuff is going up at bf3stats but still "work in progress". Wish could link direct and dynamically to image in sig; downloading local is making it blurry.
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  24. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Scrub me from the club, i have decided not to bother with BF3, i cant stand origin (more unnecessary crap running on my pc) and i don't like the stupid battlelog server browser thing, so feck ea the bunch of wuckfits.
     
  25. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,922 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    that sucks man, hopefully you give it a try at some point. battlelog really isn't bad and i haven't even looked at origin since installing. it's really as simple as loading battlelog and clicking one of the play buttons.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page