1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Battlefield 3 Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by TheMailMan78, Feb 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Volkszorn88

    Volkszorn88

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,190 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    I actually think the keyboard use for a jet isn't too shabby tbh. It's no joystiq, but not horredous by any means. Definitely due-able. Just takes some getting use to.

    P.S.
    Has anyone used CAP4? Any input if it actually resolved crossfire issues? Thanks.
     
  2. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,116 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,314
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    yeah im going to go eat something then hit up our TPU server

    Its not the same joystick as mine, its newer and better. I have an old ass classic Microsoft joystick

    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00009OY9U/?tag=tec06d-20

    I can help you out with Key bindings if you need it once you buy the joystick. $25 might as well order it now haha
     
    Damn_Smooth says thanks.
  3. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    Mussels says thanks.
  4. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Thanks for the game guys. Hopefully will be able to pop on and see you all more. Didnt want to get TS though.
     
  5. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Fun games, we're still playing. :D
     
  6. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,116 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,314
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    yeah i just peaced. I was playing like shit even though we just won. and Rush matches are way way to long

    One thing i love about Battlefield 3 is the gun recoil and sounds. Makes it feal like your holding/using a stong awesome weapon!
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2011
  7. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,162 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    586
    Did DICE do something recently? I get soooo much lag suddenly, especially around heavy fire.

    I end up usually dying because I can't make it around a corner or behind something to take cover.

    I'm not sure about CAP4. I think CAP3 may have been better but I know the game plays a lot smoother with HT off on my 920. I think crossfire still needs work too since 2xAA is good but going to 4xAA takes a huge hit on my fps. This is only with high settings and not ultra. On ultra, the game is unplayable with AA.
     
  8. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,461 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    493
    The lame thing with joysticks is that they use the same profile for jets and helis!!! That is uber-noob and console-ation, when all the flight sims I played had inverse controls for helis, and I can't change my mindset at this point of my live :)
     
  9. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,330 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,374
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I don't see why you would be glad about that. I can see being happy your card runs the game great. But my 6950 is raping BF3, and it unlocked and OC's almost 20% faster than stock clocks, 6950's are beast, and have lots of free performance hidden.
     
    DannibusX says thanks.
  10. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,528 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Location:
    United States
    Well you just about sold me on my next pair of GPU's. Hopefully I'll have some $$$ set aside for it soon, but I'm also waiting to see any word on the 7k's.
     
  11. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    just wait for next gen with new gpu's, or get another 5870 for cheaps,

    i got 5870 too, and it plays very well in BF3.

    and i dont need to oc mine yet
     
  12. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,330 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,374
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I would wait for the 7k, as long as they don't delay them more. But honestly, the 6950 is such a bargain, especially now that the 2gb cards are getting close to $250. I never had any performance troubles with mine when it was stock, but unlocking it, plus OCing it from 800/1200 to 951/1451. Thats about a 20% performance gain from unlocking + OCing, I haven't ever had a card that had that much hidden potential before.

    I had dual 5850's before this, and I honestly been a bit happier with just the single 6950, especially now that I tinkered with it.
     
    DannibusX says thanks.
  13. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,528 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Location:
    United States
    Speaking of which, I played on my main rig for the first time today and it was smooth as butter. I forgot to add my laptop to my specs, but I've mostly been playing on an ASUS G74SX, plays pretty god damn well, but the res leaves a little to be desired.

    Yeah, I'll likely be waiting for the 7k's. I may break out the 5970 pretty soon on my main PC.
     
  14. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I agree with you there Tigger. I've been playing alot of AA in the game and when a jet gets into my sights 9/10 it goes down simply because I have most of the upgrades for it. I've taken down 5 tanks in the AA and countless infantry. I've also got no jet or upgrades and it makes it insanely unfair when I try to use them since I die within seconds of taking off.
     
  15. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,445 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Drivers and a repair install didn't solve the problem at all.

    He is still trying all sorts of things but nothing seems to be working at all??

    He bought the game from G2play and it's Russian standard edition.
    He is going to buy the limited edition in an hour and hopes that will solve his problem!
    But what a waste of 40 euro if the same things happens!
     
  16. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,671 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Oh dude I don't know about that as a solution. Id reinstall Windows before I'd try another copy of the game I think. I definitely wouldn't buy another...

    He'd have to change his name!

    P.S. I'm still pissed about that knife kill I lost. Somebody let me stab them! :p
     
    Irish_PXzyan and 1Kurgan1 say thanks.
  17. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,330 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,374
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    8 out of those 9 times thats a bad pilot. The first 2 days the AA tanks were just unreal, you could lockon with missiles and drop almost anything flying, and the belt machine gun could go toe to toe with tanks. Now people have flares, know how to fly. A good pilot can ditch a lock on with flares, then out run the second set of missiles till hits flares come back off cooldown, or run behind a mountain and slam the AA missiles into that. And choppers pilot and nose gunner both get flares, very hard to deal with that if they both got them and know what they are doing. And now tanks are upgraded, AA cannot go for a real tank unless using cover wisely.

    I thought the AA tanks were unfair the first 2 days, but now, not so much. Pilots watch for them now, tanks shell them, people hit them with rockets. I was going 20+ with maybe 2 deaths per round those first 2 days with it. Now if the other side has great pilots, lucky to break a 1.0.
     
  18. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Cold weather is amazing when playing this game, my 2600K even after playing for awhile is only at 35 C on air because the weather outside is so chilly :laugh: I wonder how much I could OC in this weather :D
     
  19. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    I just did a massive 5hr sesh using the party feature in battlelog. Friggin awesome. We had voice coms the whole time, even during loading, could all join the server together and be in the same squad and didn't have 1 problem at all. :)

    Pretty happy with how it all works.
     
  20. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,671 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Man that sucks I really didn't get to use the AA tank much the first couple days cause it was never there. That's still a problem. Not enough vehicles esp above 40 players.

    Can anyone explain how to use the "guided shell" in main battle tanks? I can't lock on or fire or do anything even with enemy aircraft really close. The Stinger and the missles in the AA tank are obvious and work great.
     
  21. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,330 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,374
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Best bet was Operation Firestorm as the Russians. People don't go for the AA tank, they go for whatever tank is closest and as the US it's the first damn tank, so people take it then sit back by your spawn and never shoot down anything with it. But as the Russians the choppers are closer as is 2 tanks. I don't think there has been a round where I didn't get that AA, even if I spawned in the back of the line. It's still a great tank, just have to be much more careful with it now, first 2 days you could Rambo with it and no one could do much.
     
  22. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,116 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,314
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    im raping BF3 with my 470. Why upgrade to a card that gives me 10% more performance when 28nm GPU's are releasing soon. December the HD7000 is coming
     
  23. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    i thought you only did nvidia and intel hahaha :D
     
  24. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    The complete reinstall Erocker volunteered me for (which is about 200 MB larger than the original download) fixed all my issues so far. Thanks E, you are pal.
     
    Killer_Rubber_Ducky and digibucc say thanks.
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,890 (13.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,292
    That's a 10-4 good buddy. :cool: :laugh:
     
    Killer_Rubber_Ducky and digibucc say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page