1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Battlefield 3 Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by TheMailMan78, Feb 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,043 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Try to lower or turn off your MSAA Deferred settings if you have them on, I am pretty sure it will give you a big boost in performance overall, use Post AA by itself instead and see what kind of results you get.
     
  2. Black Haru

    Black Haru

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Indiana
    to each his own, but I find stock controls in heli are the best.
     
  3. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    after trying to masturbate the heli, I too found the stock control to be the best.
     
    Black Haru and Scrizz say thanks.
  4. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,206 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,691
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    I thought the same with my Q9550 @ 3.8GHz /w 2x 5850's avg 60 - 100fps on mid... It played it close to my i7 970 @ 4.0ghz /w gtx480 avg 60 - 80fps on mid... I finally upgraded my Q9550 to a 2600k and... WOW was i wrong at how much my Q9550 was holding back my 5850's in CF!.. Now I'm avg 100 - 130fps on mid.. I mean it's like night and day and my 2600k is still at stock settings.. Not for long though..hehehe
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Yeah well I have to play with what I have . It runs the game great not one problem at all . As far as FPS goes as long as it is good and smooth ( And it is ) I am fine with it . It can take up all the resources it wants to as long as it runs the game smooth .
     
  6. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,206 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,691
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Yea man your system should play it just fine, but when you do upgrade down the road you'll see the difference on those 5770's. :toast: plus that extra 400mhz over mine is nice! I ran my q9550 at 4.0ghz a few times... but it didn't like to for long.. I believe it was more of a ram issue on my setup than the processor not being able to handle it. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Yeah I need to see if I can get some more RAM ( The same stuff I have that is ) I am going to ask my brother if he can get me some . I hope he can it would be cool to have 8 gigs of ram in this setup .
    I am officially addicted to this game ! :twitch:
    I know I have to play MP to get things and all that but for the last 3 hours now I have been doing the missions ! Man the graphics in this game are intense ! :eek: The game play is like nothing I have ever experienced in any other game . I am BLOWN AWAY ! :eek:
     
  8. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,899 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    390
    Location:
    Florida, US
    I'll probably be back on BF3 after the Holidays.
    :D
     
  9. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    Glad ur enjoying it dude! Be back in
    Town tomorrow we'll play some coop which I haven't done yet.
     
    trickson says thanks.
  10. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Sweet . I am finding this game so cool MAN ! I got to PFC ! This game is just way too cool ! Thank You again !! :respect::respect:
     
  11. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    My pleasure.
     
    trickson says thanks.
  12. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,560 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,500
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Is there upgrades for guns later on that increase the damage? Seems like everytime I get in a 1-on-1 firefight, I end up dead. Usually the advantage is mine too. :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Yep, it's called better internet :p Can anybody confirm if the release still uses client-side hit detection?
     
  14. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Yeah I get that too ! Man I shoot the hell out of them and one hit and I am DEAD ! :banghead: :mad:
     
  15. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,560 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,500
    Location:
    IA, USA
    The only way I could get better internet is to move and that isn't going to happen any time soon. What sucks is that I never have the right weapon for the situation I find myself in. If I have a sniper, I'll inevitably get involved in a close quarters combat situation. If I have a shotgun, my targets are often more for sniper range. If I have an assault rifle, I should have a shotgun because they're right in front of my face. Irony owns me. :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,729 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Think i'm getting the hang of this game now:

    [​IMG]
     
  17. Black Haru

    Black Haru

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Indiana
    you should always carry a sidearm that compliments your primary. when I roll with a shotgun, or even a pdw, I carry the .44 scoped because it has range. when I carry a mid to long range rifle, I use the m93r.
     
  18. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Amazing game! I'm hooked too. Hardcore only for me though lol

    I'm a C4 man - got my 100th kill with it last night.

    Seems the Battle Reports are slightly broken - I play pretty much on hardcore only but all my games say Normal in the report.

    FordGT: It might also be worth making sure you have no mods on guns that may give you away. I don't use scopes, lights or lasers; I just use reflex sight and a foregrip. I use extended mag on the M249 too. When I stopped using all the lasers and lights, my score started climbing fast and I've been consistently coming top of the board-ish. Maybe it's a coincidence and I got much better at the same time, but it might be worth a try :laugh:

    But yea, enemies always give themselves away to me and when I saw how easy it is to spot an enemy that's using a scope or laser, I decided not to use them again.
     
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  19. kg4icg

    kg4icg

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    103 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Herndon,Va
    I made full bird last night, now going for the 100 hr mark. "WebsterRC"
     
  20. Black Haru

    Black Haru

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Indiana
    as far as this goes, a suppressor is far more important. unsuppressed guns make you show up on enemies mini map. its a good way to get stabbed.
     
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  21. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    What I am finding that sucks like all online games my crappy shit internet connection . It is like jittery and choppy you just cant play a game like this ! I get 1Mps too ! I do notice I have no ping . Most of the time the game starts out fine then it ends up like this . Pisses me off so much I can not find out what is doing this at all !
     
  22. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    That's also worth a try, good point :)
    The thing is, a scope or laser etc. shows your position to the enemy before you've even taken a shot so I don't mind showing up on the minimap after shooting, just as long as they don't see me coming. I don't use suppressors personally as I need all the power I can get and I don't like the added muzzle climb. I'm also constantly checking my six and moving so it's not a problem for me.
    Just goes back to what everyone's been saying; to each his own :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2011
  23. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,922 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    1Mbs is bandwidth, not latency. it doesn't really matter in online gaming as long as you are over 100k/s or so(much less for most games). in other words it's not the amount of information (bandwidth, 1Mbps) , it's the speed the information travels at (ping). latency is degradation of quality, so more latency equals higher ping. they are not interchangeable but similar.

    go to speedtest.net and report back your ping (not speed). try a server wherever the BF3 servers you are trying to connect to are for a more accurate idea.
     
  24. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    [​IMG]

    It doesn't look that bad to me ! Why the heck is it in game play ?
     
  25. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,922 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    wow, no it's not. 25ms is good. i try for under 30 but anything under 60 is fine. people play with 100 and own me :) but i wouldn't go much higher comfortably.

    did you do the test selecting a location near to where the servers you connect to are?

    how much did the ping jump around while the test was being performed?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page