1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Battlefield 3 Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by TheMailMan78, Feb 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,204 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,691
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    play as support with LMG and bipod. Rack up points like crazy.
     
    HammerON says thanks.
  3. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,698 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    What I'm currently doing on Metro ;)
     
  4. _ALB_R3D X

    _ALB_R3D X New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    337 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    Tirana,Albania
  5. ChaoticG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    353 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    I maintained a solid 550spm outside of Metro. Basically I just always switch to the kit that is needed most. If I'm on a map that is going to have a lot of vehicles nearby, I'm running Engineer and making sure the explosive perk is up. If I'm doing any kind of TDM or close range combat, I'm normally keeping a healthy amount of M18s scattered around. If I'm in a rush level, usage of smoke from the assault class and revives to save tickets is probably one of the leading ways to actually push your team to victory.

    A big way to increase score is either be with a squad leader, or be with a competent one that knows how to change orders and maximize squad score. This is one of the reasons I'm usually a top3 and have a lot of Ace Squads. Also, when you squad lead, you can quickly remove the ppl who have no clue what they are doing and are wasting a spot in your squad (they can go to the run anywhere randomly squads all they want).

    I've been playing Metro recently to help improve with my recon/sniper skills (but I rotate about every class except Engi while in there). It was my most unused class, and the design of Metro allows you to basically just worry about your 12 and 6....you rarely have things coming from all angles and with Recon's poor defense, it gives me time to practice. Now that I am a lot more confident with it, I've been blowing faces off in a variety of Karkand maps :D.

    Last but not least, I'm an achievement whore (which ends up helping with points). I'm working towards 5 stars with each weapon, I already have all my ribbons, and now I'm slowly pushing all my medals. All these bonuses are huge points. You look at where most of my score comes from, its 1/2 from combat, and the other 1/2 from bonuses.
     
    boise49ers says thanks.
  6. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,698 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    I was squad leader one time yesterday and I didn't know what to do, but I randomly got "Attack Order - 20" come up, even though I didn't do anything.
    Also I die a lot trying to get revives still
    But then again I go for revives more than kills, as I'm sure _ALB_R3D X knows :p
     
    _ALB_R3D X says thanks.
  7. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,488 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,593
    Yep - that is what I have been doing the last couple weeks. Plus I just like the fast (in your face) pace of the map:)
    Just throw out supplies like crazy:toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,277 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Idaho
    Finally got my Jeep kills. Just went to Wake and jumped in a Jeep every time I spawned until I ran enough people over. One more assignment left. Gonna play with the P90 now for awhile and run it in support so I can resupply myself. I hear it burns through the 50 round clip pretty fast.
     
  9. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    its pretty beastly for sure
     
  10. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,698 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    I don't know whether to get Back to Karkand or wait for the new DLC...
    but then again I'm level 9... not in much of a hurry
     
  11. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    You want the B2K maps, trust me. But maybe wait for another sale?
     
  12. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,698 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Another? EA have SALES?!
     
  13. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,277 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Idaho
    You need the B2K maps to accomplish assignments and gets those unlocks.
    Those maps are worth the dinero in my opinion. I play the shit out of them.
    They are mixtures of Urban and open area which allows for your preferred
    play on one map. If you like Armor there is plenty of that also. Have you played
    any of the Campaign ? I have played one level and have had the game since release:laugh:

    Does any one know whether you get the next DLC
    for free if you have the Limited Edition ?
     
  14. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,698 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Yeah I saw you gettin' dem unlocks on Battlelog

    I haven't played ANY of the campaign. I heard it was shit. Even if it isn't, it's not multiplayer :)
     
  15. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    I don't think this is the case as seen no mention ever. Technically we already got one "free" with our LE that being B2K.

    It's not shit but, yeah, if you are enjoying Multi there is no compelling reason to play SP instead. And you already got a taste of what it's like in Co op. Less taxing on the system and can use higher settings generally, for the record.
     
  16. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    my COD fanatical friends refuse to play BF3 cause they say it is too hectic and too hard to follow what is going on. they also complain about the ballistics fx.
     
    xxdozer32 says thanks.
  17. xxdozer32

    xxdozer32 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    210 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    OC, SOCAL
    ^typical COD fanboi excuse.
     
  18. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    Too hectic? Compared to COD which is essentially uncoordinated inf-only team deathmatch with tons of hackers?

    Sounds like they are simply grabbing at straws attempting to rationalize intentionally missing out on what everyone knows is the superior experience.
     
  19. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    i currently need to decide which to upgrade.
    My CPU, My RAM or MY GPU.

    I have as follows:

    Phenom II 955BE stock
    8GB Gskill Ripjaws
    Gigabyte 1GB 5850

    I do video editing and music composition/editing/mastering as well as gaming hence why the RAM is on the List. I also like to run a Minecraft Server too.
     
  20. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    First of all you should overclock that CPU then consider perhaps getting another 5850 or better yet two lower end 7000 series 2GB cards in Crossfire.

    Though it's not the best time to buy a GPU-Kepler fairly close apparently-and the lower ends aren't even out yet.
     
  21. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    If I'm going to OC the CPU, I need to get a better cooler than my N520. Ive tried OCing before and it never worked out.

    what about the RAM?
    My Crosshair V board can handle upto 32GB
     
  22. _ALB_R3D X

    _ALB_R3D X New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    337 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    Tirana,Albania
    8GB is the sweet spot for this particular tittle.I'd suggest GPU,1 7970 or 2x 6950 2GB which I'm using right know.they're both reference but I don't see the need to unlock
     
  23. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    8GB is plenty for BF3 but if your other production/editing apps can benefit from more then sure. Google it.

    You have plenty of people to help you OC here. It's well worth it to help the system properly utilize and thus benefit from all that GPU bandwidth. In fact, upgrading your GPU probably doesn't make a whole lot of sense with a stock CPU. Crossfire definitely would be bottlenecked, at least somewhat. Crazyeyes and a couple other regulars can be more specific.
     
  24. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,985 (7.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,537
    Yeah go Intel. I was a disbeliever......now I BELIEVE!



    [​IMG]
     
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,654 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,045
    Only thing holding you back for BF3 is your GPU. CPU is fine, RAM is fine, everything else is fine.

    [​IMG]
     
    _ALB_R3D X says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page