1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Battlefield 3 Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by TheMailMan78, Feb 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,740 (9.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,216
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Why??? Im a nice drunk! I love killing shit when not in the sober state. By the looks of it last night, I was going a good job with it on one map. I went 8/3 with smoke launcher ALONE!

    LOL I know, I cannot pronounce it when we are in TS so I just call him FUGLY HAHAHA
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    402
    Location:
    Idaho
    I sucked badly as usual. I think I'll try again tonight maybe. I get discouraged though. I need 2 more Ace Squad ribbon for the medal. I may do it with my back up gamer. It has a really nice monitor now. It's a Craigslist 22" Acer, but it looks a lot better then my $400 LG. Really nice color.
    The 27" just looks kind of washed out. Maybe because it is larger. Not sure. Tired of trying to adjust it to get the picture to look the way I want it.
     
  3. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Acer monitors are nice. I've been very happy with mine, and I now hate the two Samsungs I have to use at work.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,740 (9.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,216
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I had a acer 21.5 and IMO it sucked but it was a 1440x900 DVI TS panel. I now have a 1920x1080 TS panel that looks very good. Wished I could afford the monitor erocker just picked up.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Hi guys,
    So I don't know if you guys have this problem or if it is just my GTX 460, but the graphics on mines seem to be slow meaning that the highly detailed graphics only show up when I walk close to an object. When I am running let's say in the Canal map the the scratches and bumps on walls only begin to show up if I walk in a direction that is in my peripheral vision. Is this just my GPU or does this happen to all?
    Thanks.
     
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,740 (9.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,216
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    If it is the 768MB version than I am almost positive you are running out of Vram. Honestly there is nothing much you can do unless you turn down to around medium with NO extras.
     
    Wrigleyvillain says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    It's a Gigabyte OC 1GB GTX 460. The settings are also set to default medium settings.
     
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,740 (9.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,216
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    What other settings do you have enabled? Anything running in the back ground?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,671 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Well with this game that's always a great "place to look" (and one people don't often think of first) and he could be running out of vram esp as he's got only 768 on 1080P...but those settings are pretty low and I think the objects popping in and out is just related to that. Use GPU-Z to monitor how much vram you are using...

    Happy what happened to your 6950?
     
  10. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    That is an old system spec (Sorry about that). I should update it. But here is the system spec I have right now.

    GPU: GTX 460 OC 1GB
    RAM: 4GB 1333mhz
    CPU: i3-2120
    Screen Resolution (Max): 1280x1024

    So I think the GTX 460 should have enough power to run at least medium settings on that resolution without a problem. I don't know why it's like that. Also when I play BF3, I really have nothing running. The computer only has BF3 and a few other games but no huge applications and really nothing else running.

    @brandonwh64: By background you mean other programs running? If yes, then I absolutely have nothing running.

    Thanks :)
     
  11. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,132 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,322
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  12. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    402
    Location:
    Idaho
    I have one and considering the machine it is in, it runs really good. It is in my specs. I had to put in the newest driver though because it would randomly crash on BF3. What are your settings ? If you are low that will happen. I noticed that with both cards. Things would pop up out the blue, Rocks, Trash, Brush.
     
  13. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,194 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,711
  14. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    I am using the default medium settings for BF3. I haven't encountered any things popping up out of the blue. Possibly that is a lag issue?
     
  15. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,740 (9.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,216
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Who said you couldn't use defib to kill people! LOL

     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
    MT Alex says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    402
    Location:
    Idaho
    Fly thru the air with the greatest of ease :D
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
  17. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    402
    Location:
    Idaho
    Wow figure out it was my pixel setting on my ATI card for the 27" LG.
    It looks better than I ever seen it. Nice !
     
  18. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,331 (4.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,374
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    pixel setting?
     
  19. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    402
    Location:
    Idaho
    It is on the display settings. I will have to wait until I get home and look at CCC and see what the actual setting is called. I set it to like 4:4:4 RGB or something like that. Made my blacks really black and brightened up all the color. Looks great now. After a year or hating the look of it mainly do to back light bleed I think. Now I feel like I chose the right Monitor/TV . The blacks were kind of gray and the color wasn't very good.
     
  20. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,175 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    I hate defib hitbox as well :(
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,488 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,768
    only shows up for HDMI devices.
     
  22. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    402
    Location:
    Idaho
    Yeah it is hooked up thru HDMI.
    Man what a difference.It really
    improved the picture when
    viewed from angles too.
     
  23. GullyFoyle

    GullyFoyle

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,428
    Location:
    Steeler Country
    The announcement of the announcement...

    twitter.com/zh1nt0: "Hopefully I´ll be able to drop the patch date tomorrow."
     
    Killer_Rubber_Ducky says thanks.
  24. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    402
    Location:
    Idaho
    Sweet, I just hope they don't mess with the VAL except for the extended mags :D
     
  25. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,740 (9.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,216
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Me neither but I assume that when they add the extended mags, they will nerf the acc as well :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page