1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Battlefield 3 Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by TheMailMan78, Feb 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,461 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,264
    true. that may be the dumbest statement ever. :slap:

    [​IMG]
     
  2. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,043 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    How does one get access to alpha/beta testing without purchasing a horrible game called MoH?
     
  3. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    The alpha you get invited into at random and the beta will be open to the public in September.
     
    random says thanks.
  4. GullyFoyle

    GullyFoyle

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,428
    Location:
    Steeler Country
    That video has been taken down, but I did hear that said. No, that is not possible. Perhaps he thinks his video card is only DX9, like I thought for my 8800GT, but it is DX10.
    The game is totally written to the DX11 API, which has internal fall-backs for DX10 cards.
     
  5. GullyFoyle

    GullyFoyle

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,428
    Location:
    Steeler Country
    If you haven't tried in a while, you may want to try logging in to the alpha portal. I'm seeing lots of forum chatter of people having success without getting an e-mail yet.
     
  6. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,844 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,337
    Nope. got booted out :roll::roll:
     
  7. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,793 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,627
    Same here:(
     
  8. Conti027

    Conti027

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,382 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Location:
    Edmonds, Washington
    I thought BF3 only ran under DX10 and DX11 and DX9 wasn't going to be supported?
     
  9. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,139 (7.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,666
    And the verbiage they use to boot you out feels degrading.....

    [​IMG]

    Now I know how African Americans felt in the 60's.
     
    MT Alex, bbmarley and Mindweaver say thanks.
  10. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Wow! I've been watching some alpha videos on youtube on my android phone and it looks fan-fuck'n-tastic! I want it now! You guys watched any of them yet? Inside the subway looks awesome! I was worried about the level of detail inside buildings, but after seeing those videos indoor level of detail looks to be the best in the series! :toast:

    :roll::roll::roll:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. GullyFoyle

    GullyFoyle

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,428
    Location:
    Steeler Country
    That is absolutely correct. People point to the Xbox as a DX9 class machine and say DICE must be pulling a fast one at the bidding of Microsoft and the hardware manufacturers to force us to upgrade.

    It was easier for DICE to write drivers for the fixed hardware in the consoles, to interface in a similar manner to DX11, than to try to make advanced graphics work with all DirectX levels and hardware variations on the PC.
     
  12. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I'm going to hold myself back and assume you're trolling.

    If you read my the comment you'd see that i actually mentioned running the game as a factor for thinking about going over to the PS3 version, i'm unable to afford new hardware just to run the game the way i'd like and i would prefer KB/M controls, but it's not to bad with a controller.

    If i can only run the game with low to med settings on PC, then the Console version is the next best thing for me. When you have no money for hardware, your incentives change.
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2011
  13. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    He's not trolling. Just trying to make sense of your statement. And isn't medium on PC equiv to a console anyway? If not low?

    So InnocentCriminal what's your veteran status and were you subscribed to newsletter? I'm seeing talk that people without a vet status even have gotten invites but not sure if that's actually true.
     
    1Kurgan1 says thanks.
  14. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    You shouldn't have any problem running it with your system. I've got a 470 and that's a very nice card. Plus, you can always SLI it down the road. I would pick it up for PC over the PS3. You can always choose to go into a 24 player server for better results. PS3's are stuck with 24 players. :toast:
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    From what I gather I don't have a veteran status. I get multiple newsletters from EA.
     
  16. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Oh ffs. I wish there was more rhyme and reason to this shit. That's the most frustrating aspect by far. FU EA.
     
  17. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,139 (7.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,666
    I have veteran status X4. Its all random. I contacted EA about it. Veteran status has nothing to do with it.
     
  18. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    They specifically said otherwise--"make sure your Vet status is up to date" plus be sub'd to newsletter (which I admit I was not until Monday). But, yeah, why should what they actually said matter? Fits with the rest of this fly-by-night approach. :mad:

    Some high Vet posted his buddy who only played Bc2 and another who just plays FIFA got invites. Those don't sound like the types of guys sub'd to a newsletter either but who the eff knows.
     
    TheMailMan78 says thanks.
  19. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,139 (7.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,666
    I agree. But I contacted a rep personally.

     
  20. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I forgot to update my veterans status with my 2142 game. now im a 2!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,139 (7.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,666
    contact them directly and they can fix it for you.
     
  22. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Last night when I was on team speak, I tried to play 2142 but it told me the game could not be played and needed to be reinstalled using origin! Im starting to HATE EA's downloaders
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. purecain

    purecain

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    637 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Battlefield 3 alpha trial

    i just got this in an email....

    cant wait.... downloading now... :respect:Battlefield 3 alpha trial

    this has just made my day.... :toast:

    this calls for a celebration... :)
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 27, 2011
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  24. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Leave it up to EA to screw with BF:3's sales..... has anyone used origins yet? How badly does it suck?

    Edit: Thanks for the pics purecain! I may have to download orgins and install some of my other Battlefield games. That doesn't look to bad... I just hated the old EA system.. Where you dl'ed it and then installed it yourself.. Steam has made me lazy.. lol I do not miss patching my games.. OR changing out CD and DVD's to play games... hehehe
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. bbmarley

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    486 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    origins is like steam lol
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page