1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Battlefield 3 Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by TheMailMan78, Feb 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,681 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    734
    Location:
    Portugal
    Well...I guess I'm out then...:ohwell:
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  2. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    lol same here, it's just marketing garbage though.
    _JP_ says thanks.
  3. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,681 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    734
    Location:
    Portugal
    Still, it makes me wonder if two GTX580s are needed for playable framerates for 1920x1080 and upwards.
  4. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    I don't know what performance requirements were like for the alpha compared to the retail release, but if they're at all similar, you definitely won't need two 580's to max it out.
    _JP_ and CDdude55 say thanks.
  5. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    That would be insane, i would demand an immediate patch to optimize the engine.

    Good to hear.:)
  6. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,681 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    734
    Location:
    Portugal
    I know, me too. But see it this way, that would drive the PC gaming forward in terms of graphic quality and hardware requirements.
    random and CDdude55 say thanks.
  7. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    That's a good point. On one hand i want to be able to run the game without a hitch, but on the other hand i want it to really utilize everything my system has to offer.

    Kind of tough to have games swing both ways i guess, but i hope they do.
    random says thanks.
  8. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,895 (8.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,470
    You do realize that was a tiny map with only 32 players right? Granted it was an Alpha but I am willing to bet once you see 64 players on maps BIGGER then BF2 a 580 will be needed.
  9. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    If a 580 is needed they just alienated a ton of gamers.
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  10. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    A 580 may be needed for a 64-player map at 2560x1600 w/ all details and aftereffects cranked, but I don't think it's going to be needed to play at 1080P with medium to high details in any aspect of the game. Besides, the Frostbite engine has always been and still is CPU intensive. I think the average gamer is going to max out their CPU before their GPU.

    With my GTX 570 and i5 2500K both at stock, I experienced no hiccups in the alpha. Battlefield has always been nicely optimized too.

    Don't read into the event, guys. Did you not notice "the way it's meant to be played," one of nVidia's slogans? It's obviously being funded in part by them to not only showcase the game, but do some marketing for nVidia.
  11. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,895 (8.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,470
    Yeah needing a 580 to MAX out a game should be a good thing. Its not a minimum after all.

    You people bitch if its a port and cry if you need top tier hardware. Stop being coochies.

    Embrace the high end.....EMBRACE IT!

    It was also running low res. textures.
    Wrigleyvillain says thanks.
  12. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    If everybody had high end money to spend on high end hardware i'd say the same, but since a large chunk of us don't. We want a game that's optimized and can run decently at max at 1080p without having to drop $500 on a GPU.

    Most of us are ''budget enthusiasts'', and not ''i can afford 3 GTX 580's'' enthusiasts.
  13. Black Haru

    Black Haru

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,136 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Indiana
    I think that a 580 to max 1080p and an SLI/Xfire setup for higher resolutions is where they should aim. (and I would love to see "quad core processor at 4.0 Ghz or higher" somewhere on the sheet)
  14. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,895 (8.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,470
    Then you should buy a console.

    I think a 580 in SLI at normal resolution is where they should aim. I want graphics that makes my eyes bleed!
  15. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I disagree, i think at 2560x1600 and above should require a GTX 580 and above. 1080p is a very standard resolution for gamers, hence such a requirement wouldn't be plausible.

    At 1080p we should be able to max it out with at least a 6950 for it to be reasonable.

    But that's going by my own scale of what's reasonable.
  16. Black Haru

    Black Haru

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,136 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Indiana
    I think that's pushing it a bit far; mostly because I am afraid of what the CPU heavy frostbite engine would require to keep it from bottle necking.



    the market needs something to push it. I want frostbite to drive people (and manufacturers) to want/need new hardware.
    TheMailMan78 says thanks.
  17. GullyFoyle

    GullyFoyle

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,428
    Location:
    Steeler Country
    Bingo. The linked article is on NVidia.com. Also, the GDC Fault Line demos ran on a single 580, and looked much better than the alpha.
  18. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,895 (8.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,470
    Thats not pushing the envelope far enough. Thats hardly above a crappy port. I want higher then Crysis.
  19. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Well i do own a Console, but that's irrelevant. I don't understand why you're so adamant in making people drop $500 and above on a GPU to max games out. Yes we want PC games to stress our hardware, but within reason. You're overgeneralizing computer enthusiasts, by making the assumption that everybody is on the same level hardware wise, so developers don't have to take into account those who have decent machines but not the best.
  20. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,895 (8.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,470
    Didn't say it couldn't scale like Crysis. But I don't want it to be maxed out on an abacus ether. You wanna max it out? I wanna have to drop 500 bucks.......and be worth it.
    Wrigleyvillain says thanks.
  21. Black Haru

    Black Haru

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,136 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Indiana
    exactly. if software manufacturers can't be bothered to make $500 dollar hardware worth it, then hardware manufacturers will stop making it; then they get to charge $500 for lesser hardware in order to increase profit margins.

    we are not saying that lesser rigs will not be able to lay it at medium to high settings; just not MAX settings.
  22. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    If the engine is capable of scaling on a variety of systems with decent enough settings, then that is more then reasonable. I agree that that if BF3 can be maxed out on something like a 8800GT, then that's an issue. But we don't want a Crysis, Crysis was so heavy that i remember people with 8800 Ultras complaining it didn't run well, Crysis scaled horribly to a point where it took a few years for hardware to catch up to it instead of the other way around and that's what im mainly scared of if they create a game that either needs high end to look pretty or you might as well just buy the Console version.
  23. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    That's reasonable. I was actually combining the two terms ''Max'' and ''High'' settings, and thinking you wanted that to be inaccessible to those without a $500 GPU.
  24. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,272 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Idaho
    I'll go with that too, as that is what card I'll probably get next unless they drop the 6970 to the $300 range by then. I'm probably gonna see how it does at 1080p with the 6870 first and adjust from there.
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  25. GullyFoyle

    GullyFoyle

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,428
    Location:
    Steeler Country
    Classic Amiga/PC management sim Theme Park and Call of Duty rival Battlefield 3 heading to iOS

    Sugar and spice
    Product: Theme Park | Publisher: EA Mobile | Genre: Simulation

    by Will Wilson

    Two giants of EA gaming past and present will be heading to iOS later this year, the company has told Pocket Gamer - the classic Amiga / PC / console management title Theme Park and the next portable iteration of DICE’s Battlefield series.

    Not too many details have been revealed about the contents of this mobile version of Battlefield 3 just yet, but given the previous release (Battlefield Bad Company 2) was set alongside the events of the home console version, we expect the action in this title to follow a similar path - setting the game in an earthquake-hit Iraq, rather than with Sweetwater and co.

    But despite our love for shooting terrorists in the face (virtually, I mean), it’s the appearance of Theme Park that has the office running around like lunatics, eating chips with unhealthy levels of salt, and making motions to shake each other’s hand in a dark room before suddenly pulling away at the last minute.

    They’re from the game, in case you were wondering / worried.

    Running theme

    One of Bullfrog’s finest creations, Theme Park tasks you with running various amusement parks across the world. You'll have to pull in punters with fun and exciting rides, make sure they’re kept happy with a decent level of staff, and extract as much cash from their sweaty palms as you can.

    It’s widely regarded as one of the best management games ever made, thanks to its cheery disposition and engaging gameplay, so we’re very much looking forward to seeing it on iOS.

    Both games are likely to be demonstrated next week at Gamescom, so we’ll have more concrete information for you then

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page