1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Battlefield 4 MSR Largely Identical to Battlefield 3, RSR Interesting

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Sep 10, 2013.

  1. Solidstate89

    Solidstate89

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    208 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Western New York
    Uhh..no. An SSD will not improve game performance. Unless you consider level load times as "performance." Your frame rate will not improve at all - the storage medium is meaningless when it comes to actual in-game frame rate and performance. And again, in regards to load times, some games don't even speed up when you use an SSD. It all depends on the game really.

    Your edit statement about interpreting is quite nonsensical as well as I was referring to how anyone would interpret the 30GB meaning. It should be obvious what it meant. You simply interpreted it incorrectly and made a big deal out of it.
     
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  2. Hilux SSRG

    Hilux SSRG

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    990 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Dice, wth. Move up your squad. That minimum spec is too low. I wonder if its on par or just below ps4/xb1 specs.
     
  3. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,268 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,748
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    And again I am not talking about space or what they mean.. I understand what they mean.. I'm trying to say and clearly it's not clear enough.. Why not recommend something in detail like they do with CPU and GPU? That's it! Holly hell in a hand basket.. Why is the min the same as the recommended?.. I've owned every pc battlefield to date and I can say a faster hard drive make the battlefield experience better.. If I didn't know any better then I would very much like for the company I'm buying the game from that's already recommending a certain OS, Processor, Graphics card could go and head and say hell they make faster HD's and RAM here is what I would get... I would hope you guys would agree.. and again I know you guys know this and I would hope you know I know this, but if they are trying to help someone then don't half ass it. It's getting better even here in this PC System Requirements with them recommending a 64-bit OS, but it still can be better. Let's tell the average joe that hey we recommend an SSD to play BF4 so more people will buy them and SSD prices keep dropping because of it.. Let's help ourselves a little here.. :toast: Ok [/rant] over.. If someone still wants to rely to my post about how BIG bf4 is and 30gb is justified please PM me and I'll try to help you understand the debate in better detail. :toast: Hint - You can't win a debate when you don't understand what you are debating. :toast: hehehe
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,065 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,277
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Probably because it doesnt matter as much as the cpu or GPU.
     
  5. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,268 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,748
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    So, it's like most of your posts? ;) :p :roll: So, can I have your 830 since it really doesn't matter? ;) I've got to go to lunch.. hehe thanks for the debate guys! :toast: I feel smartest talking to you all. ;)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,807 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    That is probably for single player, which is quite different from multiplayer.
     
  7. WithoutWeakness

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Messages:
    66 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    I have no idea how Mindweaver is a moderator on this forum. All he seems to want to do in this thread is poorly troll other users by being needlessly difficult and claim that it's impossible to understand what a minimum hard drive space requirement means despite the fact that I'm pretty sure nobody else in the world of PC gaming has ever been confused by a minimum hard drive requirement. Please stop your terrible YouTube-level trolling and do your job as a moderator. If you legitimately don't understand what a minimum HDD requirement means then that's one thing but your persistent need to "debate" the point shows quite clearly that you understand it fully and are purely trying to play a game of semantics to get a rise out of other users.

    All you're managing to do it prove to everyone else in this thread how incompetent you are.

    :toast: hehehe
     
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  8. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,268 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,748
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Really? I'm trolling by asking for better recommendations? OK?.. and the part about me not understanding what a minimum HDD requirement means is so far off base.. I am talking about the recommended specs not the minimum.. but I'm the incompetent one? I have nothing further to add to this thread, but if you still persist to bash me I'll show you some of my moderator skills. :toast: Thanks hehehe
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,807 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    Mods are people too.™
     
    xvi and Mindweaver say thanks.
  10. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,199 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    Location:
    Home
    Can't believe everyone knows what is actually going on and yet no one wants to admit they know what is going on :rolleyes:
     
    HammerON and Mindweaver say thanks.
  11. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    same as BF3 because its the same damn game hence why im not buying
    They had a chance with BF3 then they went all COD where they have to pump out a minimally viable product every year

    2143 or GTFO
     
  12. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,316 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    What point was that? The fact that you are splitting hairs over how this was written? "Reading what you wanted to read" if you will...? :slap: :laugh: :D

    Love and Kisses... :p
     
  13. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,268 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,748
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    My wisdom is lovable... :p :toast: ;)

    I want 2143 as well. :toast: The only thing that really excites me about BF4 is playing in the water and customizing weapons.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,316 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    Wisdom.... nice. Are you in marketing?
     
  15. LightningJR

    LightningJR

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    269 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    wow, this thread went to shit. Back on topic, someone want to tell me what this "platform update" is? It's nice to see the wide range of system requirements, many people can play the game but people with beast machines will not be left out :)
     
  16. WithoutWeakness

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Messages:
    66 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    It's the DirectX11 update for Windows Vista. Not sure why it's needed since the listed minimum cards are the Radeon HD 3870 and GeForce 8800 GT, which are both DX10 cards.
     
  17. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,156 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,033
    I do: he's a great forum member (has been for years), very friendly and non-abrasive, helpful, knowledgeable in the pc/tech and programming world, a great member of the WCG team, dedicated to TPU and its community, appreciative, has a great attitude, and is an all around stand up guy :toast:

    I know you don't need my support Mindweaver but I felt inclined :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2013
    Mindweaver says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,137 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    609
    Location:
    Switzerland
    you guys not mention that the game with china rising DLC costs around 67 dollars plus if and ALOT people be sure will buy PREMIUM upgrade season pass wich costs 49 dollars.


    100+ dollars tag price for the game c mon guys ?

    This is madness !!
     
  19. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,065 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,277
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    No, because I use the 830 for something that will actually make a difference for the system all around, the OS. 30GB on an SSD is also 30GB on a platter drive. Its the speed that makes the different between the two.

    They are telling you to expect to need 30GB for the install initially, and that you can chose what storage solution you want to use for the game. Fact of the matter is, that the game will only load faster, wont do anything else once the game is actually loaded. And even then, like BF3 you will just load into the game and have to wait longer for the beginning of match timer to go down.

    The fact that you are bent out of shape about the damn storage requirement is pretty ridiculous, then you have to go troll and disrespect others for having opinions that differ then yours. Once I know how much space ill need for the game, I chose where I want to install it, and then from there I could careless about it, and worry more about how my CPU, RAM, and GPU are handling it.
     
    Solidstate89 and EarthDog say thanks.
  20. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,821 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,196
    Gosh, seems like a lot of folks are getting "bent out of shape" due to the HDD amount and how people are perceiving it. Pretty darn ridiculous.

    [​IMG]
     
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  21. Shaitan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    You are absolutely wrong. I had BF3 installed on a mechanical drive and I saw micro stutters. I switched to an SSD and it was much better with NO micro stutters. I only game on SSDs after seeing that! (also my rig has 8gb RAM, GTX 670, Intel 3570k, etc)
     
  22. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,316 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    Performance as in frames per second. If you were seeing micro stutters with a HDD, then chances are something was up in your system. In my review PC, I have BF3 installed on a HDD with no stuttering. Takes a lot longer to load, but... there isnt any stuttering (WD Caviar Black, note).
     
    Solidstate89 and MxPhenom 216 say thanks.
  23. Solidstate89

    Solidstate89

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    208 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Western New York
    You drive has jack and all to do with micro stuttering. Once the level is loaded it's located in your system RAM and your vRAM. That's why your storage medium makes exactly no difference in the running performance of your game. All it affects is load times - if that. If you don't have enough system RAM and/or vRAM for the game/level, than you run into the issue of swap. But that still doesn't affect your frame rates in any way what-so-ever. That more has to do with slowing down load times and texture pop-ins.
     
  24. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,199 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    Location:
    Home
    Probably not enough RAM, so PC hijacks some of the HDD space for "extra" RAM.
     
  25. Solidstate89

    Solidstate89

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    208 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Western New York
    Yeah, the swap file. Although, I think that's the Linux term that I'm using. In Windows it's called the Page file. Same purpose though.
     
    Easy Rhino says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page