1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Battlefield Bad Company 2 Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by 1Kurgan1, Jan 23, 2010.

  1. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    weird,my retail just did the update.

    EDIT- mines 522174
  2. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,721 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    458
    No update for me - steam's not got any update listed and i can login in-game and play on servers without updating :(

    **edit**
    ^^ taken from the EA update post http://forums.electronicarts.co.uk/battlefield-bad-company-2-pc/961469-new-patch-v522175-update.html. Don't do this to me steam, i want my patch now dammit!
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,978 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,389
    where do we check that version?


    edit: thanks error


    seems like many fixes are not in the patch and it causes issues for some - good thing us steam users get to wait a bit, eh?
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2010
  4. epicfail

    epicfail New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    496 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada
    houray for issues ;-/, but you no if theres any way to manually update?
  5. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    I thought mine would be 522175 but seems not,it deffo updated tho
  6. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,891 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    We should have a knife battle for who has the coolest name. :D
  7. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Can we have knife and pistol on tpu server sometime?
  8. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,558 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    I would play on TPU more often but for some reason I get a high ping from this server, sometimes over 150ms. I tend to stay on servers that are under 70ms. I am in the USA so not sure why it would lag out on me. :(
  9. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,272 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Idaho
    Yeah say 3:00 a.m. MST. That should be a good time for you in
    the UK and then I don't have to see it either. ;)
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,978 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,389
    150ms? stop bragging... i sit at 300ms.

    playable, but knifing is out and it just doesnt feel as smooth (but no teleporting, thanks to a working anti-lag mechanism in game)
  11. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,272 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Idaho
    Any one know what the fixes are ?
  12. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    Single Player -
    Fixed: Graphical issues on some systems on SP_03 (at start and when displaying background mountains at “Up river”)
    Fixed: Character voice issue during cut scenes in SP_03b (only affected Spanish)
    Fixed: Hang when killed using TOW Launchers in SP_05
    Fixed: Graphical issue on some systems on SP_05 (displaying background mountains)
    Fixed: Voice volume in cut scenes on SP_06
    Fixed: Unexpected dialog at start of SP_08 (only affected Italian)
    Fixed: Random crash in SP_09 cut scenes

    Multi Player -
    Fixed: Server Browser - Joining a password protected server results in a connection timeout
    Fixed: Server Browser auto updating server list when reopened causing a timeout issue
    Fixed: Password issue during Friend invites
    Fixed: Password text field issue on joining a password protected server
    Fixed: “Flickering” ship on Arica Harbor
    Fixed: Clan tags that use numbers in them displaying a “0” on the Select Spawn Point screen
    Fixed: Display issue on long server names
    Fixed: Mortar Strike icon not updating (Beta issue)
    Fixed: No “Exit Game” menu option appearing at the end of some rounds.
    Fixed: Flickering user rank icon (appeared as an animated gif) when user reaches rank 10.
    Fixed: Flickering trees and “Red Box” on Laguna Presa
    Fixed: User is logged out when failing to create a new soldier
    Fixed: Zeus stationary weapon not appearing in stats
    Fixed: Zu23 not appearing in stats
    Fixed: BMD3 AA not appearing in stats
    Fixed: Friend request displaying incorrect Veteran stats
    Fixed: End of Round screen displayed incorrect “UAV_Station” – now displays correct localized text.
    Fixed: K/D ratio displays in the Front End
    Fixed: K/D ratio displays correctly when “comparing”
    Change: Server browser now defaults to list via Ping first
    Change: News Ticker font support for Spanish, Polish, Russian and Japanese
    Change: New message for server full (reported as “I get no message when I try and join a server, it does nothing”)
    Change: New message displayed for attempting to join a password protected server without providing a password (reported as “I get no message when I try and join a server, it does nothing”)
    Change: Displays version number on Front End Legal Screen
    Change: Display of weapon icon during loading screen
    1Kurgan1 says thanks.
  13. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    Maybe AA will work for me now. Probably not but I can try...
  14. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Trip, those look like the fixes from a few days ago, is that the list they posted up, if so, thats funny.
  15. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
  16. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,871 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,468
    hardcore is ok sometimes, but i would not be ok with making the server hardcore all of the time. I like the fact that the game takes more strategy and tactic than just twitch reaction. hardcore mode in my eyes makes it much more like MW - so fast it's ridiculous.

    not saying regular mode is super realistic in the amount of shots it takes, but it's more fun - to me.

    and as far as realism goes - there are tanks that should be going 60+mph going around 20. you have rocket launchers that don't cause the destruction or splash damage a real rocket launcher would - and people still complaining it's too much... it's a freaking rocket, of course it will cause a lot of damage!!

    the guns/gameplay is set to be balanced rather than realistic. if realism is the most important, you'd be better off with something like ARMA or a VCS or something.
    1Kurgan1 says thanks.
  17. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,721 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    458
    o_O I just read a DICE post on the steam forums confirming that securom will be removed from the steam version of the game - that's one less piece of rubbish to worry about then :D

    source
    digibucc says thanks.
  18. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Yeah, they already got some sort of setup on Steam, you get 10 installs, but you can deactivate your installs so you really get infinite as long as you deactivate them.
  19. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,721 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    458
    I thought that was just hooking into the securom install limit code for activating/deactivating. Since you can only play with steam running i wouldn't have thought they would be concerned about install numbers much (yes you could use offline mode to spread the game around your friends but that would only work for single player mode anyway).
  20. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    Yeah it's the most recent change log that eastcoast had posted. I dont think anything changed other than it passed QA testing finally.

    Source
    1Kurgan1 says thanks.
  21. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Ah I see, well hopefully they got some more fixes coming, everythings running pretty smooth for me, just a few minor bugs, but some of them can be very annoying sometimes, but seems like they been working diligently.
  22. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    You linked the thread so you probably already saw this, but for everyone else who might not go to the link:

    "The patch is backward compatible. (We are not updating the servers, only the game clients.) So old & new game clients can play with each other."
    (Source)
  23. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    If you want realistic go play Project Reality.

    I play as recon and do not like this "limit recon" talk.
  24. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,871 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,468
    what he means is that on hardcore, because recon is basically one shot kill, we could just limit the number of recons.

    that's because the reason most people don't like hardcore is because recons can kill too easy, and it gets swamped with them.

    so he's not really saying

    "make it more realistic by limiting recon"
    he's saying
    "make it more realistic, but limit recon so it's not impossible"

    either way idc, i don't like hardcore for many reasons, mostly because it amps up the pace which is what i DO NOT want.
  25. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I agree, if there is less recon, theres less people to stab easily :D I row my knife like a canoe paddle through snipers.
    digibucc says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page