1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Battlefield Bad Company 2 Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by 1Kurgan1, Jan 23, 2010.

  1. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    BC2 is updating and the file seems to be big. Any idea what it contains?
  2. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Tits.

    Jokes aside, it's concentrating on performance and stability fixes according to the posts a few pages back.
    kid41212003 says thanks.
  3. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,272 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Idaho
    Good I hope so, Then I'll enjoy it thoroughly !
  4. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,074 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    No they shouldn't. I doesn't share anything with the story or environment from Bad Company. If that is how you feel though, fine.

    The random CTD in Bad Company is starting to piss me off.
  5. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,901 (8.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,485
    Punkbuster.
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,003 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,396
    or just hardware. i had a barely unstable OC that CTD'd BC2 all the time (and minidumped other games) but never BSOD'd the machine.
  7. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,074 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    No, know issue with aftermarket designed GPUs, AMD's latest drivers, and a lot of fail to go around.
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,454 (10.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,003
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I got a C2D the other day from Punkbuster :(
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,901 (8.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,485
    AMD's latest drivers are fine. Mine work fine.
  10. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah wut?
  11. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,074 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/AMDCatalyst118ReleaseNotes.aspx

    Unconfirmed info. stated the issue boils down to how the card builders are using specialized BIOS for their aftermarket cooling schemes. They deviate from AMD standards and AMD is only writing drivers for "their" standards. Apparently this could be the cause of several issues in the past as well. The WHQL stamp is suppose to mean this kinda crashing and system hangs should not be caused by these drivers, so they are not checking them properly. AMD should have known about this a long while ago. Card makers either shouldn't have been alter certain sections of the BIOS or releasing special drivers for their stuff. Everyone involved has failed, but it should be resolved now.

    Once again, I am guessing based on what little I know so don't take this info. to heart. The final fact is 11.8 are not stable for Bad Company 2 for some players and testing shows this is limited to those with some aftermarket designed coolers on their cards for all vendors.
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2011
  12. blue.dot

    blue.dot New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    122 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Slovakia, Europe
    [​IMG]
    4 people in choppa :D, owned
    DannibusX says thanks.
  13. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,901 (8.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,485
    Maybe......just maybe you dont have a stable overclock?
  14. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,074 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Maybe just maybe I already tested that. It has nothing to do with overclocking. This problem for me has been an issue with both 11.7 and 11.8 drivers @ stock, OCed GPU only, 2 BIOS revisions, and 2 different processors. Maybe, just maybe you should pay attention to the fact AMD admits there is an issue with the DRIVERS.

    If you want to troll me MailMan, do it is TS.
  15. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    Well the 11.8s do seem less stable tbh but I really don't have any issues with the game provided my OC is totally stable. In fact, I'm presently playing at stock with my new CPU as was getting too many blue screens and it's still too warm in the house to crank up the voltages right now.

    It does say "after a period of time" though and I usually don't play for more than 20-40 mins at a time which is probably shorter than the average.
  16. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    i have to agree with laughing man, Cadaveca, LaughingMan, and myself discussed the drivers and there issues the other day,

    AMD admits theres a driver issue

    AMD admits theres a bios problem on AFTERMARKET gpus

    and my own system hanging is related to the Realtek onboard audio but the black screen flicker / banding is an issue with the Bios / Driver on my 6950 Twin Frozr IIIs,

    Nothering saws awesome like a 4 inch wide black strip all the way across your screen that flickers then turns to full black screen then back to normal again every few minutes.
  17. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,901 (8.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,485
    I dunno what you guys to do to your rigs honestly. Mine runs fine. Also I don't know why you gotta call me a troll because I question something. Don't take it out on me. I didn't break your rig.

    Also AMD admits there is an occasional "hang". Not CTD.
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2011
  18. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    and did you ever take the 3 seconds to look at your own system specs and realize your 5850 is a fucking reference card :roll: thus the main issues people are dealing with dont apply to your gpu namely the bios issues from aftermarket gpus, :toast:

    hang bsod etc are all common issues on 11.7 and 11.8,

    graphics hang usually causes a CTD as the driver recovers

    audio hang from realtek causes a full system lock up which is a well known issue to the point EA's own forums have a 265 page thread of users experiencing the issues but they decided not to fix it lol
  19. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,901 (8.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,485
    And I know a few people running aftermarket without issue. So its not ALL reference cards. Just a few. If its REALLY a driver issue then just roll back. Problem solved. But I am willing to bet thats not the problem.
  20. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,454 (10.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,003
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    My only problem is punk buster when it has not been updated in a while.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,901 (8.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,485
    You have to make sure its running as an admin. See my sig.
  22. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,238 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,583
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Did dice just release another multi-gigabyte update that's impossible to complete (gets stuck midway making you redownload all over again)?

    [​IMG]
  23. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,765 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,809
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta

    Says the dude who admits he knows nothing about overclocking.:p


    Amd admits their drivers have issues, so I expect the game to not work right.

    Oh, and a built a brand new rig last night, with 100% completely new parts. Installed the 10.8 driver and app profile, without any overclock whatsoever. Guess what crashes?


    I'm waiting for AMD to fix the driver issue, and remove BC2 from the list of "known issues" before I start blaming other things as the cause. I'd suggest everyone else to do the same, too.

    Now, I'm not saying you are 100% wrong, but let's get the driver fixed before we jump to conclusions, mkay?

    I mean really now...a 2GB update, well over a year after release, without any new maps or anything? Why so large an update for a perfectly fine app? BECAUSE IT"S NOT FINE!!!:laugh:
  24. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,525 (13.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,922
    Actually yes. There is supposed to be an update today. As far as how it is updating, your description sounds spot-on to a Battlefield update... Untill they "fix" it of course.
  25. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,901 (8.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,485
    I do know how to build a stable system. :laugh:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page