1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Battlefield rig

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Martine, Aug 28, 2011.

  1. Black Haru

    Black Haru

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,158 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Location:
    Indiana
    honestly, I don't think even they know yet. we will probably see quite a bit of optimization during the beta from both DICE and Nvidia/ATI.

    who knows; at least we won't have long to wait.
     
  2. Syuzeren

    Syuzeren New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    115 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    You don't need a 900w PSU, A 750 will be more then fine.
     
  3. texaschainsaw01 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    37 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    sorry

    sorry but i think your a idiot lolz think about it how are you gonna develop a game for hardware that hasnt been released how are they gonna test it hell just rendering it would be a mission and why would a game developer release a game that 75% of gamers would have to go out and spend 300bucks on a upgrade to play one game seriously if i didnt have my 6950 already i wouldnt upgrade my pc like that for 1 game i can think of others games that id rather play
     
  4. Shihabyooo

    Shihabyooo

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    568 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    A sad excuse of a country called Sudan.
    Calling someone an idiot out of the blue doesn't help people to think too highly of what you say.
    Remember Crysis ? Released ages ago, and till the day, the fastest computers struggle to play it in max settings/high resolution.
     
  5. texaschainsaw01 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    37 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    they wont till literally 1 or 2 days before release due to close release date of MW3 so that one or the other cant compete and try for better specs gameplay etc
     
  6. d3fct

    d3fct

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,087 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    Upstate NewYork
    just a copy and paste of one of my posts in a bf2 forum.


    Some info i found, hope it helps you guys decide on what you need to upgrade. source bf3blog.com


    Minimum requirements for Battlefield 3

    * OS: Windows Vista or Windows 7
    * Processor: Core 2 Duo @ 2.0GHz
    * RAM: 2GB
    * Graphic card: DirectX 10 or 11 compatible Nvidia or AMD ATI card.
    * Graphics card memory: 512 MB
    * Hard drive: 15 GB for disc version or 10 GB for digital version

    Recommended system requirements for Battlefield 3

    * OS: Windows 7 64-bit
    * Processor: Quad-core Intel or AMD CPU
    * RAM: 4GB
    * Graphics card: DirectX 11 Nvidia or AMD ATI card, GeForce GTX 460, Radeon Radeon HD 6850
    * Graphics card memory: 1 GB
    * Hard drive: 15 GB for disc version or 10 GB for digital version

    Please note: these are our expected system requirements for Battlefield 3.
     
    Martine says thanks.
  7. texaschainsaw01 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    37 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    yes i do remember crysis and thing was optimization for the game i could run it on high settings with a 555be 4gig ramand a hd5450 and that video card was bottom of the heap lolz sorry but ive never had any issues with it lolz its just a matter of knowing what you are doing and what your budget and knowledge allows you too do sorry but my claim of calling someone a idiot stands for a more recent game blackops the biggest baddest pc had problems running black ops and the problem there was optimization
     
  8. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Why would the disc version be 5 GB larger?
     
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Compression maybe to assist in bandwith and download times? :confused:
     
  10. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    While that may be true, would they not have simply listed that as download size not recommended free space? If you are right, it will still take up 15 GB of space once installed, not 10.
     
  11. d3fct

    d3fct

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,087 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    Upstate NewYork
    i dont know, like stated these are predicted requirements. the true req's wont be for a while. this was strictly based off of bc2, wich was frostbite 1.5. bf3 will be frostbite 2.0, wich in the full article(wich i should have posted) frostbite 2 is basically 1.5 but improved and streamlined for better gameplay.
     
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    That is true. Trying to understand the discrepancy myself as well and what makes it so much different.
     
  13. Shihabyooo

    Shihabyooo

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    568 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    A sad excuse of a country called Sudan.
    :wtf:
     
  14. Black Haru

    Black Haru

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,158 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Location:
    Indiana
    first, who ever said that you needed to run the game at max settings to run the game? I played BC2 on lowest settings for almost 18 months and I loved it. I know plenty of others who did the same.

    as for developing for hardware that has yet to be released, it's relatively easy; a gtx595 would not contain anything "new" from a development standpoint. it would simply be a revised gtx590. what they are saying is that currently no single graphics card has been able to max out multiplayer (like I previously said, they had to run SLI/cfX).

    the key to PC gaming is scaling. give the enthusiasts their eye candy, but make sure that average joe can still play.

    again, I played through crysis on a 2001 viewsonic (a P4 with a 6600gt added) on low I loved it. that doesn't mean I could run it at max, and wouldn't necessarily dictate that it was poorly optimized (it was, and still is, but not to the effect you are saying)

    I know nothing of COD and have no interest. console port is a console port.
     
    Martine says thanks.
  15. Martine

    Martine New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    43 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    whistle :laugh:
    I hear more and more that games will need 4 cores, so I want to build a ''future proof'' rig and it's not just for 1 game.
    I didn't want to build it right now. I will wait for half a year or more and see where the development is going.
    As for the budget:not more as 666€=960$=590£
    With that PLAN (which TheLaughingMan kindly posted as a picture) I wanted to ask, if I am on the right track
     
  16. Syuzeren

    Syuzeren New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    115 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    this is very understandable, 64 players, 16x AF, 8x or maybe 16x AA, tanks, jets and stuff, DX11, huge maps, almost fully destuctable, on 2560x1600. Hopefully my 6950 can run it on my good old 1280x1024
     
  17. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,553 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    Its like playing the game through a tube.
     
  18. texaschainsaw01 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    37 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    yeah sorry but for that budget your not going to really future proof your build lol maybe 1500-2000 bucks is even pushing it lol you really cant future proof your build all you can do is build your system and upgrade as you need it
     
  19. Shihabyooo

    Shihabyooo

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    568 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    A sad excuse of a country called Sudan.
    Don't worry, you can probably run it @1600*900 (or anything close). Just nix the AA, and lower the Shadows/post processing. Maybe a little bit sacrifice to the particles' quality should ease up on your processor.
     
  20. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,553 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    The big question is i5 or i7?
    Its not that much to go the i7 when your at 2500k.
    Will the extra threads benefit BF3 that much to justify the few bucks ?
    I think we have to wait for beta to see some benchmarks.
     
    Martine says thanks.
  21. Martine

    Martine New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    43 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I don't mean that my ''future proof'' rig is going to last unchanged for 5 years and still run games at high. What I am trying to achive is to build a rig wich parts can be replaced one they grow old. As time goes, games move on to 4 wheel drive and so must I.
    I am locked with my 775 socket and am unable to upgrade RAM, CPU... I kinda hope that problem will be removed, but I seriously doubt it. :banghead:As now said I have to correct myself and not call it a ''future proof'' rig.
    But if I gather enough money, a better rid will surely follow. Budget is set to not go higher, but with too much money the budget is set higher.
    I don't want to kill this thread, so if anyone has anything to add, be my guest.
    As for others: thank you VERY much:respect:. I will wait for Bulldozer and money and then decide my best option
     
  22. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Your done Martine. You are on the right track and waiting to see what happens in the next few weeks is a good idea. Just try to remember there are other processors on the market besides the 2500k. A lot of people have tunnel vision and only believe AMD and Intel make like 3 products a piece. For gaming right now and up to 1 1/2 years or so, an i3 2120, i5 2300, i5 2400, etc. are all great for gaming. Just stick with at least 4 threads and over 3.0 GHz to ensure you have plenty for a mid to high range gaming rig. Proof is below.

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/4083/...core-i7-2600k-i5-2500k-core-i3-2100-tested/20
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2011
    Martine says thanks.
  23. texaschainsaw01 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    37 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    mate the best thing you can do is wait till the products have been released. Do your research on each and every item you want, need and compare that it fits into your budget, and if something doesnt then you may have to sacrifice something. So for example instead of crossfire system you may have to suffice with a single 6950, at the end of the day its your money and YOU will be using the machine so YOU will have to be happy with it.
     
    Martine says thanks.
  24. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,774 (9.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,236
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    He should be fine with a sandy bridge quad and a Nvidia 560Ti or AMD HD 6950

    Texas, you have too much of an attitude towards people that are giving advice. thread crapping will probably get you an infraction if you keep calling people idiots
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Ev1LrYu

    Ev1LrYu

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    166 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Philippines! :D

    I believe BF3 won't support DX9. Which is good in a way, the first game to make use really want to move forward
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page