1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Been researching for days, Please help

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by bigbadtaz, Mar 27, 2009.

  1. bigbadtaz New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have a Gateway 5032 pc with a Foxconn C51GU01 motherboard, I was using a 7800GT vid card till one day it quit, I had friends from the clan I'm in on Americas Army send me 3 new cards, ATI x2400 worked, the other 2 didn't (although they did in a friends pc) well, last week the 2400 quit. When pc boots, you can tell it tries to start the card, but it reverts to onboard. I have been using everest and pc wizard to diagnose. Here is report from everest: report attachment. Vid card was in slot during this test

    Pc wizard has been correct at telling me whether pci-e slot is occupied or not. If any other details are needed please let me know. BIOS is set for pci-e vid first, mobo drivers has been updated
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 27, 2009
  2. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Could it be that some Nvidia GPU driver pieces remained in the system? Changing from Nvidia to ATI without properly erasing the previous display driver can be bad sometimes. I changed once from a X800 to a 6600, then back to the X800 without cleaning the drivers. And boy did it suck after that.

    Also, is there an option in the BIOS to completely disable onboard video?

    My guesses...
     
  3. mrw1986

    mrw1986

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,111 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    If you had 2 video cards quit, I would guess its your PSU.
     
  4. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Probably your PSU does not have the amps needed, not to mention its now several years old.
    The PSU that came in your Gateway was never very good anyways.

    Have you updated (checked) for Motherboard Driver updates?

    Be sure to properly clean out OLD VGA drivers and reboot before installing new VGA drivers.

    What are the two other cards?

    Link to gateway drivers for your PC;
    http://support.gateway.com/support/drivers/search.asp?st=pn&param=5878
     
  5. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
  6. bigbadtaz New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok, thx for the replies so far! I have a new psu (sorry, thought that would be on report) a 450, as for motherboard drivers, I have tried both, the ones from gateway, and the ones from nvidia. As for BIOS, I found unlocked version here and it works good. The very last thing I tried (in this order); I flashed BIOS unlocked, cleared CMOS, clean install windows w/ gateway recovery cd, reinstalled gatway mobo drivers, then tried nvidia drivers. PC Wizard 2008 picks up whether my vid card is installed or not. but with everest I noticed that it said that I have 2 pci-e x1 slots whereas I only have one
     
  7. bigbadtaz New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'll tell you what I found out today, Thru all the forums I've went and read the last few weeks was that alot of systems that were close to mine had a (PCI-Express Root Port) listed in their system devices. That listing was not in mine, so I found a (nforce4 PCI-Express Root Port) driver and installed it with hardware wizard manual install. Rebooted, I have a 26" flat panel with vga and dvi, upon boot screen I was able to see from both inputs, onboard and geforce 7950, untill windows started.then it rebooted it's self. If this is any help to someone else who knows a little more then me to solve this great mistery:banghead: LOL
     
  8. lebob23 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i have the same problem i bought the gt5056 (c51guo1 motherboard) and put in a 7300gs and two years later it refuses to boot from the 7300gs (the power button light flashes three times) then reverts back to the 6100
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page