• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

beginner modder 1st ever build

Processor i7 Sandybridge 2.7ghz
Cooling Noctua
Memory Corsair DDR3 6GB
Storage 1TB Seagate
Case Antec 300
Power Supply Corsair TX860
Software Windows 7
As the title suggests I am a very novice modder who is looking to do his first ever build/mod to an Antec 300 case, ideally I have an idea in mind but i'm not sure how to go about it really. I was initially thinking of putting in 2-3mm acrylic L shaped window starting from the top and dropping down past the fan grill already in place on the side and then etching on 3 symbols that mean alot to me. The assassins Creed logo, Horde logo (world of warcraft) and the Heartless logo from kingdom hearts. By doing this i can finally add my own personal touch to my case as its always something that i've wanted to do. I've sourced most of my materials already without a real start which was kind of stupid:

• - 4010 mounting tape from mnpctech
  • - a bi-metal 18tpi jigsaw blade set from B&Q
  • - acrylic sheet (just have to figure out which would look better 2 or 3mm)
  • - window trim 2m (ebay just waiting on hearing back if they ship to where I am)

ideally i have seen some amazing work that i'd love to sort of emulate, as seen in the pic link:

http://extreme.pcgameshardware.de/ca...rgelmodus.html

Half way down the modder who made the work log cut his own custom logo and made the edges highlighted using LED's with what looks to be blue cold cathodes deeper within the case. My question to experienced modders out there is that:

• - would i be able to use an LED strip around the acrylic to generate the same effect? if not what LED's etc do people recommend?
  • - would i need a secondary light within the case to highlight the etched planes?