1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

benchmarked my new 4870 against my old 8800gt and as my feelings told me it was worse

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by rembrandt, Dec 29, 2008.

  1. rembrandt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    having been very disapointed with my new ATI card I done a 3d bench mark test and it came in 11060 but with my old nvidea xfx8800gt 512 alpha dog it was over 12300 , am I right in thinking theres something wrong with this card and needs sending back??

    cheers dave
  2. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    What benchmark are you using? 3dmark06 im guessing?

    Also what drivers are you using for your 4870? If your not using the latest drivers download 8.12, you should see a big improvement there.
    rembrandt says thanks.
  3. jaxxxon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    174 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Wales
    Nah theres something wrong with it. My 4850 gets 12880 with my q6600 @ 2.7Mhz and graphics @ 700 & 1010. Only small overclocks as you can see, so you should be getting alot more than me.
    rembrandt says thanks.
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,722 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,867
    Your HD4870 should easily be scoring over 13000 in 3DMark06 on the default settings.
    rembrandt says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. rembrandt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yes 3dmark06 havent got vantage yet got lastest drivers installed and its o/c as std as well to 775/1000
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,722 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,867
    Make sure you have completely cleaned off the old nVidia drivers, and it wouldn't hurt to clean the ATi drivers as well and re-install.

    This is a good guide on how to do it pretty quickly, then just re-install the ATi drivers.

    And also remember, benchmarking with 3Dmark06 isn't the end all and be all of performance. Play some games, see if performance is improved there.
    rembrandt says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. rembrandt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I ran driver cleaner in safe mode and it says there all gone, i have found a file named winvista in a nvidea file seperate from my chipset files but there have a question mark by them will try and get a pic up off them
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2008
  8. rembrandt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]



    what are these files for???
  9. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,722 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,867
    I'm pretty sure they are help files, so when you select help in the control panel, those are what come up.
    rembrandt says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. rembrandt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    cheers for that well I have no nvidea driver files on my computer so now I will reinstall the ati drivers wish me luck
  11. CJCerny

    CJCerny

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    852 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Akron, OH
    Probably not anything wrong with the 4870. Unless you've purchased 3dMark06, you're limited to lower resolution tests. At those low resolutions, it's hard for all the extra bandwidth of the 4870 to make itself known. If you can run benchmarks at 1920x1200 or higher, I'm sure the scores of the 4870 will be much higher than the 8800gt, especially if have the AA and/or AF turned on.
    rembrandt says thanks.
  12. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    my 4870 gets about 16.5k in 3dmark06..as above poster said, you must have a driver conflict or are bottlenecked somewhere.
    rembrandt says thanks.
  13. rembrandt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    well reinstalled cat8.12 and redone test and getting 12553 which is better and slightly better than my old 8800gt , could be right about bottle neck but not sure where, allthough the ati drivers do keep crashing in game and also game stopping for a second or to
  14. Fastmix

    Fastmix New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    627 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Heaven
    It sounds like you are having drivers issues, I use driver cleaner, reboot and then install 8.12.

    Maybe you have also removed your chipset drivers if it's a nvidia board, I would reinstall them just to be on the safe side.

    Also when you are up and running, check with gpuz the 4870 specs, especially the pci-e and see if it's running at full bandwith.
    rembrandt says thanks.
  15. rembrandt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    these are gpu-z readings


    [​IMG]
  16. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    It's not your videocard scoring 16.5k. Drop your processor to stock clocks, I bet you loose 3k - 4k points when you do it. Then raise your processor back up to 4ghz and drop the OC on your videocard and you'll only drop a few hundred points.

    3dmark06 is a CPU bench really, use Vantage and go by the GPU score otherwise.
  17. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    You have an e6600 at 3ghz. Quad core machines will trounce it in 3dmark tests. Only reason Jaxxon's score is higher is because of the q6600.

    The e6600 though shouldn't be a bottleneck for most games. Maybe for GTA4, but thats about it.
    rembrandt says thanks.
  18. rembrandt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for all your replys , the only things left to sort really is the poor map load in COD WaW and the ATI display drivers keep crashing raandomly in game going to black screen and you can still here the game going on around you and the only way out is ctrl/alt/delete and the message that the ATI dispaly drivers have crashed and recovered :banghead: :banghead:
  19. mikek75

    mikek75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
    Drop your clocks back to stock and see if the driver still crashes. 775 on the core isn't excessive but not all cards are created equal, some just won't O/C. They are only guaranteed to run at their advertised speeds.
    rembrandt says thanks.
  20. rembrandt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks Im going to try that next and if that cures it its going back as its advertised from palit as O/C from them as std with dual bios
  21. mikek75

    mikek75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
    Ah, didn't catch that its supposed to be factory overclocked! Definitely send it back then if dropping to 750/900 cures it. The only time my Sapphire 4870 1GB black screens is if I go over 810, still not terribly high but its performance is plenty good enough for me so I don't worry.
    rembrandt says thanks.
  22. rembrandt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yep its going back hopefully waiting for reply from retailer , think it also explains the stuttering and freezing in game as well
  23. Falkentyne New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ya definitely sounds like a bum card you have there. Any card that can't run at a factory overclock should never have made out of QA. Of course they probably don't test the cards anyway...

    My 4870 has no problems in Crysis or COD 4 (don't have waw) @ 820/1125.
  24. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Reinstall windows. That did it for me going from a 8800GT to a 4850.
  25. rembrandt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Im wondering if its the cheapish MoBo thats causing the trouble

    ASRock penryn1600sli-110d with invidia 650i sli chipset as I like the card ,just need to stop it crashing out :banghead: it seems it only effects some systems, M8 has a new 4850 and no problems/another has a 4870 on a O/C'd system no problems ,

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page