1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Best AGP Card

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by masterxxx, Nov 14, 2006.

  1. masterxxx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    FOR A GIGABYTE K8U-939 F5
    i need a new card soon for vista upgrade
    any suggestions
     
  2. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    Well, when the X1950 Pro AGP comes out, it should be the best. Right now the 7800GS is the best.
     
  3. InfDamarvel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    500 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Gainward 7800GS+ to be exact.
    Plain old 7800GS actually loses to the X850XT stock.

    Id advise to wait for the 1950pro agp 256mb or 512mb
     
  4. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    The above options should be the best yes. However I wouldn't ugprade to Vista the minute it's released. Wait for the world to find the major issues first.
     
  5. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    I agree with Dan 100%. M$ has yet to release a bug free windows. Wait a few months to find out where the security flaws are and the major bugs and m$ will release a service pack, then get vista.
     
  6. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    There yet has to be a bug free OS. It's not just Windows that's full of bugs, basically all OSes are.
     
  7. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    i saw an article a few years ago and they tested xp and linux to see approximatly how many bugs there were in them and xp pro had about 5000 errors per million lines,linux had about 600.

    i dont know if its true or not.
     
  8. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,473 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    if you plan on ditching the agp soon for dx10 just get an x850xt damn good speed and pretty cheap i play 2142 at 1280x1024 all settings maxed with no dynamic anything 2xaa full AF and 100% view distance at 50-70 fps
     
  9. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Yes, they really bothered to find all bugs in both Linux and Windows because they had so much spare time and knowledge and since MS gave them access to the sourcecode, sure why not. Those numbers can't be backed up.

    Perhaps Windows does have more bugs, however the fact remains that Windows is the most targetted OS by hackers and therefor most bugs will be exploited on Windows which makes it look worse than Linux.

    Then again this is totally off topic and just a big can of flamebait, lets not start another Linux/Windows discussion :)
     
  10. masterxxx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks alot gutys you have given me alot to research and discuss truth be told i just want to play more games and run adobe alot better than i do now
    thank you all
     
  11. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Buy something cheap for now, wait and see if Nvida/ATI make new AGP GPUs, look, AGP slot isn't that crap anyway, wait until they plan to make DX10 AGP GPUs...

    DAMN INTEL!!! LETS HOPE THEY MAKE PCI-E 2.0 AGP COMPATIBLE.

    EDIT: X1950, its god damn fast.
     
  12. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    It's not like Intel made PCI-E. Plus AGP can't be PCI-E compatible.
     
  13. ARTOSOFT New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    369 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Singapore
    The AGP and PCI-e slot is hardware different. How can be compatible?

    Regards,
    Arto.
     
  14. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Bah... i mean in the new PCI-E they should make AGP and PCI-E use one universal slot, as in PCI-E 2.0 supporting AGP.
     
  15. Munkul New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    243 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cumbria, UK
    the technology is so different that it would be difficult and costly. the current gen cards have pci-e graphics chips, and if you want them in agp then you need a bridge chip.
     
  16. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    PCI-e will soon do to AGP what AGP did to PCI ;)
     
  17. sodacy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Any of you know if a Celeron D 320 could bottleneck a 7600GT AGP?
     
  18. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    AGP (Accelerated Graphics Port) is video only, it only gave the videocard a new place. It did NOT replace PCI at all. PCI-E is replacing PCI, PCI-X and AGP all at once now though.

    Also a universal slot is pointless, backwards compatibility is a huge problem in computers. It is very limiting.

    Intel did/does have a solution to this, Itanium. From the ground up 64 bit platform without all the limitation backwards compatibility brings. Intel tried but in a way tke would put it: "DAMN MARKET!!! I HOPE THEY ACCEPT A DECENT PLATFORM SOME DAY"

    EFI is the next best thing though. I hope that gets accepted soon, Apple already uses it.
     
  19. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
    a celeron in games is much slower then a normal intel cpu
    although a 76gt should be fine with it
     
  20. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,258 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    966
    Go to ebay and get a better CPU that WILL bottlenect the 7600GT. You'll enjoy your new ride.
     
  21. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    Just get a X2 AMD Athlon 4200+ 939pin and a X1950PRO AGP.
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2006
  22. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    It is absolutely impossible to get s939 Athlon at all except 3000+ single core :slap:
    (At lease where I live it is. Well... Opteron........)
     
  23. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page