1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Best bang for my buck raid setup

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Anath, Oct 24, 2009.

  1. Anath New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    So right now I have a 500gb and with all my games its getting to the point where I need to upgrade. I decided that I would go with a raid setup since I have never done RAID and wanted the experience. So what do you guys think would be a good bang for my buck in regards to raid setup. I want a hard drive that has great speed performance with a decent capacity. I was thinking about doing 2 Western Digital 640gb Black's. I am willing to spend a little more if the performance would be worth it. thanks!
     
  2. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    the best disks for raid are caviar black, blue's and barracuda .12. go wichever you can find cheaper or meets your capacity necesities
     
    Anath says thanks.
  3. Anath New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    performance wise do you have an idea on which are better? Also what about the samsung F1? I heard they were pretty good.
     
  4. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    imo the f1 are good, just they are getting older. performance wise i think the caviar blacks are the best (read somewhere that while the 7200.12 have good read/write speed it had a poor access time). also consider the samsung F3 which i think is the descendent of the F1 but go with the caviar black just to be sure.
     
    Anath says thanks.
  5. Anath New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    thanks man I think I am going to go for the 750gb Black cuz the 640-750 is only a 5 dollar difference
     
  6. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    WD Caviar Black (500GB, 1TB, the 640GB model esp.) With my 2x 640GB Black setup I'm getting speeds comparable to a single Velociraptor, but almost 1200GB of space. Excellent bang for the buck with these drives.

    I've heard from a few people that the 640GB model is a little faster than it's larger-sized brothers. But hey, if you's willing to sacrifice a little speed for more space in your array, then go for it :D
     
  7. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    thats probably true as the 640gb has 2 320gb platters while the 750gb has 3 250gb platters and the 1tb has 4 250gb. The less platter the better
     
    Soylent Joe says thanks.
  8. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    yep ;)

    Really, now that the 500GB version is only $60, I'd say that that's the true performance/price leader.
     
  9. Anath New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Hmmm decisions decisions. What kind of speed difference are we talking? Like seconds or minutes?
     
  10. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    I don't really know the difference, but here's how mine perform:

    [​IMG]

    Surely not minutes, nor even 5 seconds. The 2x 500GB would be really close to if not faster than the 640GB's. In a 2x 750GB array, the access time would definitely be higher, say 20ms, and the avg. read rate a little lower. The 2x 1TB array would be even slower, that's more of something for storage, I wouldn't really recommend that for a main array.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2009
  11. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,055 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,638
    If you can afford it, go with two more 500GB drives in raid 0 for speed or raid 5 for speed and security. Of course, it all depends on what you can afford to spend. I have three OCZ Summits and they run quite nicely in Raid 0:

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Anath New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    that's pretty sweet thanks.
     
  13. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    doesnt that saturates intel's own DMI interface that connect the southbridge with the nb?
     
  14. Anath New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Also in raid say i went with the 2 640 drives, in windows will it just show up as one drive with 1280gb
     
  15. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    It'll show up as this:

    [​IMG]
     
    Anath says thanks.
  16. Anath New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    sweet thanks dude.
     
  17. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,055 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,638
    Three won't but four SSD's will. There is still a marginal improvement from adding a fourth.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I also say look into the WD 640GB Blue.
     
  19. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    You mean black right? The 640GB Blue is $70 with only 16MB cache while the Black is $75 with 32MB cache with the whole dual-processor thing. :wtf:
     
  20. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Nope I meant the Blue. Cheaper and just as fast.

    EDIT:
    Ask DanishDevil, he has a "dark blue" raid setup.
     
  21. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    Only $5 cheaper... and having "Black" edition hard drives just sounds cool :laugh:
     
  22. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    agree, lo but if u mention the serial its better the blue (blue =AAKS, black =AALS)
     
  23. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I agree but $5 is $5. :p For me that $5 is a week of going back and forth from home to work. :D
     
  24. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,824 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Heres the Blue 2x320GB WD AAKS in Raid 0
    About the same as the 640's
    If your looking for more space than i have then the 640's would be about your best bet.
    [​IMG]
     
  25. extrasalty

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    176 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    RAID 0 is like pissing against the wind while running.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page