1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

best bang for the buck to play Diablo 3 max

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by JanJan, Apr 14, 2012.

  1. JanJan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    497 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    I have been out of the loop for quite a while. I want to build a new desktop for the new D3 coming out in the summer (and future proof). budget as close to $500 as possible

    What I already have:
    -19inch monitor
    -dvd drive
    -speaker
    -keyboard/ mouse
    -3 hard drives
    -hd4870 (upgrade later)


    What i need:
    -mobo
    -cpu
    -psu
    -ram
    -case (least priority)
    (-possibly add graphic card)
    (-may be cpu cooler if really necessary. i wont OC for a while tho)
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2012
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Friendly insight; wait to pickup your video card.
  3. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Best bang for buck,

    Go second hand for everything. have a look around online in the B/S/T or Ebay for bargains

    Dont buy a case, looks pretty but adds no performance. one large fan blowing across the components is all you need.




    are you able to use that PSU in your system specs?
  4. JanJan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    497 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2012
  5. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,863 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,465
    for price or is something good coming out in the next month?
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,414 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,984
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    H61/I3-2100/2x2GB/AMD HD7850

    Sounds good?
    JanJan and JrRacinFan say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,278 (8.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,320
    JanJan says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Just for price reasons. Never know, maybe even the midrange nVidia will be out to give variety.


    Can do this even on a 2nd tier 400W. Good call, B. Will keep the costs down.
    digibucc says thanks.
  9. JanJan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    497 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    do you have a specific brand for the MB, ram, and vid card (runs cooler etc)?
    wow this is a really good deal...i just kind of want to pick up newer tech
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2012
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Can't really depict a brand because its mainly going to be on a board-by-board basis and what kind of feature set you're interested in. As far as ram goes, you may want to pick it up soon. Heard there might a sudden price surge on DDR3.
  11. JanJan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    497 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    im not gonna do much tweaking except may be some OC later on. may be something reliable?
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    With brandons suggestion, no overclocking on that CPU. I myself just recently went 2120 and won't look back, I've been using the 555 black and sold my previous chip/board, I5 655k and Asus board. What I do suggest not matter what you get, look for 1866 cl9 as a minimum for ram speed.
    JanJan says thanks.
  13. JanJan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    497 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    is hyper 212+ still king of bang for buck? if i were to go i5, what board and chip should i buy?
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2012
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Yup! Most places carry it for $25 shipped.

    Again it's more of a feature set perspective, first I will ask what are going to be other uses of your PC? WIsh to overclock, would like to but not needed, or rather not aka do you like to benchmark?

    As for board, multi-gpu or just having the option just in case you were to try it?
    JanJan says thanks.
  15. JanJan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    497 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2012
  16. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2012
    JanJan says thanks.
  17. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,356 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    544
    you can overclock the i3, just not through the multiplier. you'll have to do it via the buss speed.

    here's the current requirements: http://us.battle.net/support/en/article/diablo-iii-system-requirements

    cpu should be plenty... as for gpu something along the lines of a 6850 should be good enough for high settings. the 4870 you have should be fine for now, but it's not quite as powerful as the card they recommend, though overclocking could fix that.

    actually, your current system as is should handle D3 fairly decent... then again blizzard's recommended could be for "High" settings and not Ultra or w/e

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page