1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Best bios for a reference 5870?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by xkm1948, Mar 16, 2013.

  1. xkm1948

    xkm1948

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    404 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    eugene
    I have a sapphire reference 5870 1gb. It's been working great so far but it is showing its age in new titles. I am trying to get the max out of my reference 5870. Right now I can get it to 900/1250 stable via AMD overdrive. I want to know if there are any good bios for reference 5870 1gb than clock higher than the limit of 900. Any suggestions?
  2. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,796 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    674
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Try MSI Afterburner and enable Unofficial Overclocking within the cfg file.

    See if that will work before you flash it.
  3. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,890 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,971
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Check ASUS BIOS. ;)
  4. xkm1948

    xkm1948

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    404 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    eugene
    Would love to. But, which one? There are tons of BIOS in the TPU bios collection page!
  5. xkm1948

    xkm1948

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    404 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    eugene
    I tried AB before, it is a handy tool but I prefer not to use 3rd party softwares.
  6. dir_d

    dir_d

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    848 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Manteca, Ca
    This Bios This is the one i use i on my HIS card so it looks like i have two unlocked ASUS 5870s.
  7. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,568 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    643
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    First things First
    Back up the bios from the vga card - extract it using GPU-Z [*Keep a copy in a safe place]

    Note: open a copy of vga bios in RBE and check to see if the voltage registers are unlocked for GPU and VTT [max clocks will be limited if locked]

    Establish Max Clocks
    use afterburner to find max stable OC
    use GPU-Z monitor temps

    Note: unless you are on H2o, Keep an eye on the VRM temps

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2013
  8. AndrewK New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    31 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    What resolution you trying to game at? My guess is not enough Vram for the latest titles. If you game at 1080p or higher this is probably the case.

    You are in luck though, as I need a 5870... sell it to me and buy you a new card! ;)

    Good luck,
  9. Octopuss

    Octopuss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    826 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Czech republic
    You can always look for a BIOS here on TPU which has higher max clocks, and use it in RBE to inject those values into the current one. Flash, restart, use CCC to OC, profit.

    The main problem with 5xxx cards IMO isn't the performance but rather the amount of memory. I can play BF3 on ultra high (minus MSAA of course), but Windows repeatedly bugs me about not enough video memory.
  10. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,377 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    563
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Saphire trixx allows mine to hit 1000 core, beyond its limit , just disable ulp in trixxs settings
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,890 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,971
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I do believe this is your answer. You can use RBE on these reference cards to edit CCC maximums.
  12. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,377 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    563
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Saphire trixx allows mine to hit 1000 core, beyond its limit , just disable ulp in trixxs settings
    Dp phone error sos
  13. xkm1948

    xkm1948

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    404 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    eugene
    Hmm, do I need to add some voltage to the gpu core in order to get pass 900? Or is it just better to flash the card with the ASUS BIOS?

    I assume the ASUS 5870 bios has higher overclock limit in the CCC right?
  14. xkm1948

    xkm1948

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    404 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    eugene
    Good idea! Thanks!
  15. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,890 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,971
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yes, the ASUS BIOS should have the higher limits. For voltage, I recommend using Sapphire Trixx as already posted by others.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page