1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Best card gtx 760 or hd 7970?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by gasolin, Oct 2, 2013.

  1. gasolin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    336 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Best card Asus HD7970-DC2T-3GD5 or MSI GTX 760 TwinFrozr Gaming 2 GB


    need for speed, boorderlands 2, grid racedriver,dirt,crysis 1-2 1920x1080 60hz i5 3470 3.8ghz on all 4 cores
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,810 (13.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,192
  3. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    929 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    373
    I would go with the HD7970 which is faster than a stock GTX 760.

    They are same price?

    Instead, maybe wait for the new AMD cars, nvidia will also drop price..
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. gasolin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    336 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    No theres a difference of almost 40€ where the gtx 760 is cheapest hd 7970 has never settle forever i can sell or mabye buy bf 4 http://sites.amd.com/us/promo/never-settle/Pages/nsreloadedforever.aspx

    The price in denmark i about 100€ more expensive for the hd 7970
     
  5. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    901 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    437
    Location:
    south korea

    This....


    OP suggest to wait for reviews of new AMD cards...

    Nvidia is somehow and finally force to cut their prices...

    you mentioned borderlands 2, maybe go with nvidia as this is one of the game has a hardware phsyx accelerated..

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_games_with_hardware-accelerated_PhysX_support
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. gasolin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    336 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    I am very close of ordering the hd 7970 ist very cheap at caseking.de compared to denmark

    I have heard physx can by done by cpu
     
  7. Fanste

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    97 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    wait new amd Hawaii GPU :) the price of amd graphic will go down
     
  8. gasolin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    336 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    14 days return policy
     
  9. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    901 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    437
    Location:
    south korea
    Yes it can be done but it will not be as good as GPU physx

    Take a look at this

    Metro Last light PhysX CPU vs PhysX GPU - YouTube

    there is alot of videos you can search in the youtube about CPU physx vs GPU physx
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,810 (13.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,192
    R9 280X releases in a few days. It's basically a 7970 and it will be less expensive. Wait it out. :)

    Also, with Borderlands 2 there is a way to have PhysX on your CPU and it works okay. Definitely don't buy a card based on PhysX.
     
  11. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    901 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    437
    Location:
    south korea
    are you saying dont buy green :p
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. gasolin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    336 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    but 281€ for an Asus HD7970-DC2T-3GD5 as fare as i can se it's asuses top model of the normal hd 7970 would tha be possible with the new ones?

    Asus aren't normally cheap
     
  13. gasolin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    336 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Borderlands 2 - PhysX on AMD - YouTube
     
  14. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    901 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    437
    Location:
    south korea
    oh by the way the Asus DC2t is a 3 slot card which restricts you (more or less) from crossfiring...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. gasolin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    336 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,810 (13.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,192
    No I am not. I'm saying don't base the decision off of PhysX... Which seems to be dying and will most likely be irrelevant soon if it isn't already. In this case the 7970 is the superior card.
     
    night.fox says thanks.
  17. gasolin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    336 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
  18. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    901 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    437
    Location:
    south korea

    I highly doubt this... unless you put the 2nd card in the 3rd PCIE slot which runs x4 only, then you are fine with spacing..

    according to this:

    http://www.pcper.com/reviews/Mother...rd-Review/Features-Layout-and-Bundled-Accesso


    I have this board

    http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/mainboards/display/asrock-fatal1ty-z77-professional_3.html#sect0

    based from the your mobo and mine, they almost have same spacing between PCIE slot 1 and slot 2.

    I have 2 vapor x 7950 cards which is more than 2 slot... (about 2.4 or 2.5) slot

    and this is the outcome>

    http://www.overclock.net/t/1342179/lightbox/post/20609074/id/1610919

    so you decide...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. gasolin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    336 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    You right my fault, it's just Asus comes with one of the best coolers, 3gb vram, atm low price compared to denmark and also better performance
     
    night.fox says thanks.
  20. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    901 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    437
    Location:
    south korea
    i know about that feeling... i was eyeing that asus card as well but due to 3 slot card, makes me turn my back of it cause i was thinking of xfiring at that time
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    901 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    437
    Location:
    south korea
    or actually you can buy a pcie3 riser to increase spacing ....if you decide to get asus card
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. gasolin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    336 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Wouldn't a second card (not now) just be on top of the last pci e 3.0 and stop at the last blue pci e where the first card would stop before the second blue pci x 3.0?

    Would the card need more space that there is between the 2 and 3 blue pci e

    Antother question is when do i need another hd 7970,gtx 760 ? 2 screens or higher res then 1920x/1080,1200? I personally just crank the graphics of a game all the way up to the max the card and cpu can handle smoothly
     
  23. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    901 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    437
    Location:
    south korea
    spacing between is very important on aftermarket coolers....

    if you get the 3 slot asus card and crossfire them, they will certainly fit but with no gap...

    your 1st card will die sooner cause it cannot breathe at all!!

    the 2nd and 3rd blue pci space is ideal for watercooling and also its ok for cards which exhaust at the back like the referrence coolers although it will make the top one hotter...


    with regards to your question, if you stay at 1080p res, one 7970 is more than enough... if you go with 3 monitors and eyefinity them, then you might need to add 1 more... although crossfire and EF doesnt get along now unless AMD will fix that one....

    on the other hand, if you upgrade your monitor to 1440p or 1600p, then you may add 1 more card so you can run games at ultra settings with highest res your monitor can display...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. gasolin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    336 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    daaam you caseking.de.

    Gonna buy the msi because it supports physx out of the box, oc's very well http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/MSI/GeForce_GTX_760_TF_Gaming/30.html (a gtx 680,770 that perfoms better stock, is much more expensive) i want to have the option of sli (nvidia better then amd) i bought a sli board when i upgraded, with a 3 slot asus hd 7970 i think cf would be difficult, very low noise
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/MSI/GeForce_GTX_760_TF_Gaming/26.html, if i keep the games (not sell them) msi is cheapest
     
  25. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    901 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    437
    Location:
    south korea

    take note about erocker mentioned about physx.....

    if i were you wait!!!

    AMD releasing new card... NVidia is cutting their price down... so wait... be patience.

    for helvede.... :D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page