1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Best gpu for around $100

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by quasar923, Feb 27, 2008.

  1. quasar923 Guest

    What is the best gpu for around $100. i am selling the comp in my specs and i am ganna build a new one for about $400 because i bet i can sell it for about that on craigslist. so what is the best gpu for around $100 that can handle games. my screen has a resolution of 1600x1200 so its a bit higher than some. i play cod4 most of the time so i need something that can handle that. i will be upgrading to a higher end computer maybe around $1200 after the summer when i get some money i just want a comp thats a bit newer and if i only spend $50 to do it with the money from the sale of the old one then thats fine with me.
  2. tiys

    tiys New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    373 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    The Keystone State (Pennsylvania)
    Maybe a X1950pro.. i dont have any problems with mine :)
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,489 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,900
    You are asking a bit much for a hundred bucks. I would recommend a card with at least a 256bit bus and 1gig of memory. At that resolution most would be looking at high end cards.
  4. tiys

    tiys New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    373 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    The Keystone State (Pennsylvania)
    I cant remember how much my x1950pro costed, but I'd vouch for one of these :)
  5. quasar923 Guest

    im useing a 256 mb ati sapphire radeon x850xtx and i can play all those games at full res now. i got it for i think 100 or maybe less a year and a half a go
  6. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,489 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,900
    1600x1200 resolution would bring your 256mb x1950pro to it's knees. I had one and it was awesome for most things under 1600x1200, but a 1950 512mb should work ok.:toast:
  8. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I agree with the 256bit bus, but I think 512mb will be fine, even at that resolution.
  9. das müffin mann

    das müffin mann New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,759 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Appleton, WI
    i may be selling my 2900pro in the next week, for about 120, it is a beast of a card ill let you know if i'm going ot sell it if your interested (going for a 3870x2)
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    If and ONLY IF you can find a 2600XT with 512MB of DDR4 for $100, get it. Coming from an X850XT though really IMO isn't much of an upgrade.

    If you had a crossfire motherboard, I would suggest looking for another X850.

    @das

    You think his power supply will be fine with a 2900pro?
  11. das müffin mann

    das müffin mann New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,759 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Appleton, WI
    it may be pushing it, i was running it off of a 400w psu before, i suppose as long as he doesn't do anything to extreme with it it should be fine, then again i don't know how efficient his psu is
  12. quasar923 Guest

    well i found a 1950pro for 130 with 512MB its nice. das muffin if you do sell it ill be interested im putting my computer online for sale tonight so it will take some time to sell im only buying after it sells so i have the money. PM if you decide to sell it.
  13. das müffin mann

    das müffin mann New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,759 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Appleton, WI
    alright can do :D, my friend should be paying me next week friday so ill know by then, maybe sooner
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  15. quasar923 Guest

    its only 256 mb. 512 makes me feel safe
  16. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,409 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    394
  17. quasar923 Guest

    ugg that rebate expires in 2 days i dont think ill have my current computer sold by then.
  18. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,304 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    543
    Location:
    AZ
    that's what credit it for. lol
  19. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    well if you can wait a week ill sell you my 8800GS for 120, gonna get an 8800GT.
  20. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    East TN
    i'm with cdwall: go with the 3850 sure it's $30 buck over spending limit. BUT IT'S WORTH IT. I've got 1950 pro, and yes it's a nice card. But there still little pricy even since there almost 1 year and half old. (i think) i bought mine when they first came out, but i don't really remember when i got mine though. just a guess. but back then i paid $210 off of newegg. It's a Sapphire X1950 Pro 512mb. And it overclock really good!!! I think now for a good 1950 they run around $160.

    Here's something that might help you out!
    http://www.hwbot.org/hardware.compare.do?type=gpu&id=1235_1&id=1054_1&id=1035_1

    if can use the pci-x 2.0 i would go with that. but that's me!!! But i was on a tight budget. But i got a x2 2900GT. Just because about this time next i'll upgrade again, i do it ever year. And the 3K series cards won't work in my wife's computer. lol

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page