1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Best GPU from a 350watt PSU ???

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by coolhand83, Dec 8, 2007.

  1. coolhand83

    coolhand83 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey guys

    I run a call of duty 4 clan, and one of the younger members has had the misfortune of having his video card stolen by his uni-going brother ! He needs a new one but is limited by his power supply :banghead:

    Current spec: AMD Athlon 64 Processor 3500+ ~ 2.2GHz
    1.5gb ram
    DID HAVE an X800
    350 Watt PSU

    Basically its all about bang for buck, and futureproofing. I would've said the HD3850, but I don't know if 350W would be scraping the barrel so to speak ! Seems a lot of people are stuck in the same predicament :(
     
  2. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    what brand PSU is it and how old is it?
     
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    AGP or PCIe?

    Whats the budget?
     
  4. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    it might be on the edge but i think it would run.. a lot of people think they need more power than they do.. a 7600gt would work for definite..

    trog
     
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I was just about to suggest a 7600GT, but was unsure of budget.


    Also if you must know, My rig runs CoD 4 on medium settings @ 1280x1024 ~35fps. So it really isn't too demanding of a game.
     
  6. coolhand83

    coolhand83 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Not sure of budget to be honest, he was looking at 100-150 mark i think
     
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Didn't answer so I will ask again.

    AGP or PCIe?

    But since you didn't answer, assuming PCI-e. 8600GT or 2600XT.

    HD3850, may be pushing the PSU and will be bottlenecked in his case, but will be futureproofed if he plans on doing an upgrade soon.
     
  8. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,603 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    your system specs say you have a 7900GTO but I know that the GTO needs more power so I would say a 3850 barely, how much 12V power does this psu put out

    the 3850 would need more power more than likely, the minimum is like 450, running it on 350 might not be very smart,

    I would reccomend buying this psu
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817182017

    I'm gonna look for some X1900/ 7900GS cards for around 100 bucks or less
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2007
  9. coolhand83

    coolhand83 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Some people don't read...

    Not my PC.... ive got 650W, not that dumb either :slap:
     
  10. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    7900gs only uses ~45w
     
  11. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,603 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    does the kid have a prebuilt pc like a dell or compaq, because that would make things harder
     
  12. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,255 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,293
    I would look for a 7900GS, it should run on a 350w power supply with the rest of his rig assuming the power supply is a decent brand.

    Otherwise I would suggest the 7600GT like others have said or the 8600GT if it is in his budget.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  13. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    for PCI-e 7900GS would work great but if he is on AGP 7800GS
     
  14. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,384 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    California, U.S.A.
    Hey coolhand, I don't know where you guys are at but I am guessing the UK because you say uni instead of college? Anyways, if you are here in the States I have a Sapphire pci-e X850XT with AC5 cooler that I have been going to sell. I know a 350W psu will run it fine.
     
  15. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    the real thing here is that one 350 psu aint the same as another.. some simply tell lies.. some are honest.. its the power on the 12 volt rail/rails that u need to know..

    trog
     
  16. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    coolhand could you fine out model/brand or at least the amps on the 12v rail it should say on the side
     
  17. Basard

    Basard

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    586 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Oshkosh
    My friend had a dell. It was a 3800+ athlon x2 with a 7300LE graphics card, and a 300watt power supply. He put a 7950GT silent edition from xfx in there, and a sound card, it ran fine, but 3 or 4 months later he upgraded his whole system and put the dell back together stock, now the dell has an 8600gt from evga, which suits it a lot better, and it has the same turtle beach sound card in it. But the thing did run for 4 months fine with the 7950gt in it. I saw all this with my own two eyes, amazing really, lol.
     
  18. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    NV cards really dont pull much power
     
  19. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Euros? Pounds? Dollars? Rupees? We don't know where you're from.
     
  20. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    according the specs the psu is described as "rubbish" a brand name not known for its quality.. he he he

    with tag like coolhand83 i recon he comes from the good old USA.. he he.

    trog
     
  21. coolhand83

    coolhand83 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    All Of You Are Wrong !!

    :laugh: Nah, just kidding. My PSU isn't bad, but remember guys, its not mine we're talking about. Apparently its a Bestec PSU that he has, ATX-300-12E. It's a PCI-E card we're wanting (sorry for not replying to that). And no, I'm english ! mwooohahahahahah :pimp:

    DOH ! 300watts aaaaaaaaaargh
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2007
  22. coolhand83

    coolhand83 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Oh yeah and he is from Canada !
     
  23. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    its back to that 7600 gt then and hope it works.. he he.. nah it should do it wont draw anymore than the x800..

    trog
     
  24. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,253 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    8600GT. Specs say it should run with a 350W PSU.
     
  25. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,603 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    That psu only has 15A on the 12v rail and is only 300 watts so I say its time for a new psu hooking up a 7600gt might cause some damage to the card as evga requires 18A on the 12v rail for their 7600.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page