1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Best graphic card for this computer

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by wachuwey, Jan 28, 2013.

  1. wachuwey

    wachuwey

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    38 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Asturias (Spain)
    Hello.
    This is my current computer.

    AMD 965 @3.8GHz (slight OC)
    Cooler Master V8
    2x4GB GSkill ARES 1600
    Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P
    Corsair 650TX

    Cooler Master HAFXB
    Crucial M4
    Benq 1920x1080

    Gigabyte GTX 460 OC 1GB

    I was wondering what is the best graphic card to put in that pc without bottleneck.
    Does a 460 SLI worth it?

    Thanks.
  2. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,690 (7.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,011
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Wouldnt jump on 460 SLI personally, lots of power hunger there. All depends on budget I suppose. But with no budget to deal with so far, a 7970 or 680, dont care which.
    inb4 greenvsred.
  3. wachuwey

    wachuwey

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    38 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Asturias (Spain)
    7970 or 680 ?
    Those beasts will not be bottlenecked by the CPU?

    Don't talk about budget because i just want to know the limitation of my actual computer for future updates.
  4. TriggerWolf

    TriggerWolf

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    146 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Well, from personal experience with a 3.66GHz Q9450 @1680x1050 you won't get much better performance of a newer GPU, I tried a GTX670 with it and my frame rates were downright the same as a GTX470 on 3 out of 4 games I benchmarked. Only the extra video RAM was handy, one thing I noticed as an improvement was less stuttering with very high texture detailed games.

    You may be better off at that res with something like a GTX660 or AMD 7950 over a 460 SLI.

    :toast:
  5. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,690 (7.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,011
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Well that CPU is reasonable and will game comfortably, but i dont think there's much left in the way of future gaming, though at this rate it will do ok if engines dont get updated...
    Your build is actually pretty reasonable, i checked it out on the internet, and you would not experience any noticable bottleneck, though the gtx 680 etc might not run at 100% in certain game titles. You could easily get those two cards on your system, but a 7950 or 660/ti would run perfectly i think.
    Apparently with a good overclock on the Phenom X4's you can mitigate the bottleneck to minimal.
  6. wachuwey

    wachuwey

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    38 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Asturias (Spain)
    That's one of my weak points.
    Not a expert in overclock.

    Recently tried to put my cpu at 4.0GHz but it became unstable.
    Also, my cooler is not the best for overclocking, but I liked it.
    For sure I need to give it another try, someday.
  7. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,690 (7.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,011
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Come on the TPU Teamspeak server at 17:00 GMT tonight, I'd be more than happy to help.
    While the cooler may not be the best, the V8 is one of my favorites aesthetically.
    I got my 1055t X6 to 4.2Ghz on 1.45v vcore, without changing much else in the BIOS besides multiplier, voltage and manually setting RAM speed, and that was on a cheap old Asus Evo board. Just keep the CPU below 70 degrees :D
    Big GPU's will certainly improve framerates, and even if they are only 95% loaded with the CPU, if you ever think of upgrading the CPU in future, at least you know your graphics card is boss.
  8. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,566 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    641
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Just my opinion; take a GTX 670 over a GTX 660Ti [Ti has less mem bandwidth over the 670]

    nb: GTX 670 has theoretical Pixel Fill Rate: 32320 MPixels/sec Texture Fill Rate: 113120 MTexels/sec at peak loads [this is without OC; due to the dynamic clock *boost, if temps are kept under control higher clocks can be achived]

    bf3_1920_1200.gif

    Source - http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/MSI/GTX_660_Ti_Power_Edition/8.html

    if you are not in the Nvidia camp then go with a HD 7950

    bf3_1920_1200_7950.gif

    Source - http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/AMD/HD_7950/8.html

    Spec Comparison site - http://www.gpureview.com/show_cards.php?card1=669&card2=664#

    Which ever way you go I hope you have a great experience

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2013
  9. wachuwey

    wachuwey

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    38 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Asturias (Spain)
    Thanks for the invitation, but I have to reject.
    English is not my first language. I can write decently, but speaking is quite difficult to me.

    But thanks anyway.
  10. TC-man

    TC-man

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    348 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi,

    Here's a very interesting article about better performance scaling overall of AMD's HD 7970 (versus GTX 680) in games with PC systems that are running on relatively weaker processors (except in the Crysis 2 test where it shows that the GTX 680 in general is better, though AMD's HD 7970 scales relatively better in the same Crysis 2 test with the Pentium G860 dual core CPU than the GTX 680 does).

    So according to this article (and if we can believe in the results from it) your video card of choice may be an AMD video card, especially when you are afraid that the games may not scale well with your PC that's powered by a Phenom II X4 after a high-end video card upgrade.

    Furthermore, according several replies to the mentioned article, the difference in CPU scaling between Nvidia's GTX 680 and AMD HD 7970 may be caused by how the scheduling is implemented for both cards. Nvidia has introduced software scheduling that's done by CPU in their new Kepler GPUs. Before with the Fermi cards, Nvidia was using low level hardware scheduling that's run on the GPU itself. So the GTX 680/Kepler can really shine with a high-end CPU and not so much with a weaker CPU, at least that's the conclusion of the replies.

    By the way, here's a related article about the mentioned "scheduling".
  11. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,037 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    799
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    I would go with a GTX 660Ti or a HD7950 & no higher due to bottlenecking :eek:
  12. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,766 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,609
    Yes, you do very well with written text, better than a lot of native English speakers.
    wachuwey says thanks.
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,555 (10.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,070
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I speak the worst broken english a southerner can do and still come to the TS.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,587 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    this pc will not bottleneck anything.
  15. tokyoduong

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    478 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Don't go SLI! it only works on some games and have more problems than it's worth the cost/power/headache. But if you got money to blow then sure.
    Just upgrade to 660/Ti or 7870/50 but I wouldn't go any higher. Then your next upgrade should be a 8350/20 if you have the money.
    Crucial M4 is a good choice and reliable :)
  16. wachuwey

    wachuwey

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    38 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Asturias (Spain)
    Talking about this with some friends, they realize the SLI option is not possible.
    My motherboard is Crossfire capable only.
    They told me there are some tricks, but nothing official.

    Reading your answers, things are clear
    from 660Ti to 680 in Nvidia
    from 7870 to 7950 in AMD

    Like RCoon said in the first answer, Green vs Red.
    Now I know the options.

    Thanks.
  17. BraveSoul

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    987 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    u got decent cpu,,,, 660Ti-670, HD7950 ,,,, enjoy
  18. tokyoduong

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    478 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Stick with 7870 or 660 ti. I would save that $100 and upgrade to the later generation of architecture in 6 months and sell your old card :)
  19. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,133 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    458
    Just about any GPU people are mentioning will more than likely bottleneck, but you'll still see a performance gain. A system will always have a bottleneck somewhere, what matters is the severity. A bottleneck that costs you 5% isn't huge, but if you barely see a performance gain (which won't be the case) then you are in big trouble. I would say HD7870, HD7950, or GTX660Ti depending on how much you want to spend, then invest in a new CPU/Mobo when you have the funds. An FX-6300 or FX-8320 will futureproof you for some time.
  20. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,569 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,439
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Taking into account your CPU/system, my money would go on the HD7870, swift performance at a good price and will pretty much run anything high at 1080p.
  21. Cruise51

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    88 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
  22. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,307 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    Personally I'd say sell your CPU + GPU, add some cash, get a Phenom II X4 or a FX CPU and the highest ATI graphics card your budget allows (7870 or similar). But you MUST change that CPU!

    edit: derp derp 965 is a phenom II epic fail, GPU! 7950 is a nice option
    de.das.dude and drdeathx say thanks.
  23. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    You can choose ANY current graphics card will work fine with your system without a serious bottleneck concern.
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  24. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,830 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,518
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    You *might* be alright with a high end single GPU. In the crossfire/SLI charts, Intel SB/IB quads show a noticeably big FPS difference in many games versus AMD FX-8xxx processors. http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/fx-8350-core-i7-3770k-gaming-bottleneck,3407.html

    The above article is about a pair of HD 7970s on an i7-3770K and FX-8350, but essentially, if you are getting low frame rates compared to other users with the same graphics card, your CPU is probably the bottleneck. You could get a new GPU now and upgrade the platform later on if you wanted.

    I'd personally go with a 7850/7870 since they are relatively cheap and are a better match for your CPU in my opinion.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  25. xxdozer322

    xxdozer322

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    437 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Santa Ana, Ca.
    My old 965 (oc at 3.9) handled both of my 580s just fine (Evga 580, current SOC 580) without any bottleneck, i maxed out bf3 at 1080p easily...btw it wasn't sli, just 2 different cards that were in my system.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page