1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Best matx for 2600k+oc ?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Lazzer408, Jul 27, 2011.

  1. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,534 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Illinois
    Who's got the best board for overclocking the 2600k in an matx form factor?

    I looked at the MSI Z68MA-ED55 and the Asus Maximus IV Gene-Z so far. Not sure which chipset I should go with. I don't need the intergrated graphics so maybe the P over the Z?

    I only need one pcie slot but two would be nice if I ever picked up another 6750 some day. I need to configure it with 3 raid arrays. 2x SSD in raid-0, 2x 750gb in raid-1, and 2x 500gb in raid-1.
  2. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    Gene z

    thats what i would go with, you wont find a better m-atx board out there imo
  3. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I've been looking at the Gene-Z as my next board so my 2 pence (cents) would nod towards that. In regards to OC'ing, apparently it's pretty good according to Bit-Tech...

    Might be worth looking at the P8P67-M Pro and comparing them.

    Source.
  4. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,534 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Illinois
    So the Z68 overclocks? I was just reading somewhere that it didn't but the Newegg threads mentioned a few people oc'ing it.
  5. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    To the best of my knowledge it's the best of both the P67 and H67. So the performance/overclocking of the P chipset and integrated video of the H.
  6. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,534 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Illinois
    If I don't need the video would I save some $$ going with a P67 then?
  7. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    P67 and Z68 are around the same prices afaik

    just go with the Z68, if your video card one day fails you, its good to have the onboard ;)
  8. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Well it's not necessarily a bad thing, if your main GFX card died you'd be able to revert to your on board. You may save some money which could be put towards something else. Really depends on the price differences between the boards you look at.
  9. STCNE

    STCNE New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    242 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Connecticut USA
    I'd go with the MSI, ASUS's RMA service is horrible if you ever have to use it.
  10. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,534 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Illinois
    Doesn't look like Newegg has any good matx P67 boards. Only 4 of them. 2 Intel, 1 Elitegroup, and 1 EVGA. That sucks because they have the case I want. I'm trying to get an order together here.

    EDIT - I take that back. They only have one P67 Intel board.
  11. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I've had the complete opposite experience. ASUS have always been fantastic in regards to warrantable repairs & RMAs. They're fantastically fast and they're customer service was second to none. I even emailed them asking to purchase an old I/O shield and they sent me one for free.

    :cool:

    What case? I've been drooling over Fractal Design's Arc Mini and Silverstone's FT03.
  12. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,534 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Illinois
    Yup! Arc Mini FTW! That's what I'll be ordering. I've done ALOT of looking at matx cases for a small build I can pack with hardware. I like the FT03 too but running cables to it is going to be a pain.

    Ok GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 is out. No PLL voltage adjust. I can save $35 getting the MSI MSI Z68MA-ED55 over the Asus Gene-Z. I like the fact the MSI board has VGA and DVI connections. Still looking...
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2011
  13. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Definitely!

    I really wish I had the money at the moment to build a rig based around the Gene-Z and a 2600K.

    :(

    I blame my GF.
  14. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,534 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Illinois
    Well I'm staying away from the Gene-Z because it only has HDMI out. I've had way better luck with a DVI to HDMI cable into my DLP then I do with a HDMI to HDMI into it. I can't get the screen to fit using HDMI to HDMI. :confused:
  15. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    d'oh!
  16. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,534 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Illinois
    Neither have a PCI slot... I have 6 SATA HDDs and since the boards don't have IDE either I'll have to use a SATA optical drive. My 7th SATA connector could have been this nice PCI raid card I have but no I can't use it. =( I'll have to use a USB to SATA adaptor and plug that into one of the 8? headers on the board.
  17. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,534 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Illinois
    I ordered the MSI Z68MA-ED55 (B3) and a Fractal Design Arc Mini case. :) My gripe on ASUS is the ungodly long post times on my last couple ASUS boards (~30sec). The one MSI build I've done in the past posted very quickly like an OEM board would. I figured I'd give them a shot. Now I need to sell off my other two quads so I can afford a 2600k. :D

    InnocentCriminal - If you want I'll keep you posted about the case and give my opinion on it and how the build went.

    Everyone else - Thanks for the help and opinions. I hope this board works out.
  18. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    That'd be awesome, just post your pictures...

    ;)

    ... of the build in here.

    :p
  19. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,534 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Illinois
    Will do. I have very high hopes for the Arc Mini. I've heard it's heavier gauge steel. The only complaint I've read is that the front panel is plastic with a black anodized aluminum look rather then actually being aluminum. For a $100 case with so many fan options I can overlook the front cover being plastic. As long as it doesn't fall off. :)

    My PSU is a Zalman 750w modular. GPU is a HD6870. Should be a clean build if I can hide all the HDD wiring.
  20. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,534 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Illinois
    MSI Z68MA-ED55 came yesterday and I just got the 2600k CPU today. I'm really liking this board so far. BIOS is loaded. It's an overclockers board for sure. :) Post time is much better then my DX58SO or Rampage Formula. Took a shot at my first 2600k overclock and managed this...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Prime95 was started about 5-min before the screenshot. Case should be here Monday. These temps were with the mobo sitting on a table. I'll compair once it's in the case. CPU cooler is a 120mm Silenx Extreme. Stay away from this $hit cooler. The fan mounting is the worst POS I've ever seen. The rubber mounts are hanging half way out of the heatsink. There's also a big hole the air is blowing out of instead of through the fins. It's a fail. I'll try my Infinity on it to if my modded 775 bracket comes close to fitting this motherboard.

    EDIT - Now 4.6ghz @ 1.35v V-core adjust only so far. (still tweaking)

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 31, 2011
    InnocentCriminal says thanks.
  21. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Excellent stuff!

    Incredibly jealous.
  22. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,534 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Illinois
    If I could email you some ghz I'd do it. :) I could have bought the more expensive ASUS board or better case yadda yadda but this is a "daily use" computer with more focus on noise and simplistic looks then being an "extreme everything" build. The CPU is pricy, that's for sure, but man does it overclock well. Just turn up the multiplier and wa-la. Eventually it hits it's limit on stock voltage and a touch more v-core was needed. I'm doing this on air cooling and trying to avoid noisy fans. Maybe I can push it to 4.8+ghz but for my needs 4.6ghz is a nice kick in the pants overclock for just the cost of a better cooler. I'm stuck with slowish ram for now. I managed 1600mhz 8-8-8-20 1t at 1.65v out of some old Corsair XMS-3 sticks but they're only 2x2gb. I'm pretty impressed with the onboard GPU though. No OC on the GPU. It gets 6.3 6.3 in the WEI score. That's enough to game on. :twitch: And Intel did all this at 95w? I'm impressed.

    I have another computer in the livingroom that I'll dabble with while watching TV. It's just a e-something dual core with a slight overclock and a HD4850 in it. It runs just about anything I throw at it just not at max detail. I actually got it's mobo from the scrap pile and re-flowed the NB with a heatgun and brought it back to the land of the living as my HTPC. Point is, computers are like drag racing. It costs twice as much to go 10% faster.

    Hopefully I can sell off some of my old gear to help pay for this.
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2011
  23. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,534 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Illinois
    I just ran into a MAJOR hang on this board which will render it unusable for my build if I can't solve the problem.

    My drive configuration is this...
    2x Intel 80gb x25 SSDs in RAID-0 (onboard raid)
    2x 750gb 3.5" spinners in RAID-1 (onboard raid)
    2x 750gb 3.5" spinners in RAID-1 (onboard raid)
    1x SATA DVDRW (PCI-E 1x 2-port SATA card)
    1x 120gb SATA removable 3.5" spinner (PCI-E 1x 2-port SATA card)

    All the 750s and the dvdr are disconnected right now.

    When the onboard sata ports are configured as a raid in the bios, it won't boot windows correctly off my backup drive. It keeps rebooting half way through the "starting windows" screen. =( The reason this is a problem is because I back up my raid-0 to a single removable spinner and stick it on the shelf. If the raid dies, I just fix the problem, boot off the spinner, and copy it back over. The backup is a ghost image of the raid. The backup drive doesn't boot fully on the onboard raid -or- the pci-e card. If I set the onboard sata to IDE it will boot the OS fully but that doesnt do me any good because I can't set up the raid to copy it back. =(

    All my other boards had no issues with what I'm doing. I've been doing it this way for years.

    The only solution I can think of is maybe setting the bios to IDE, booting my backup, finding out what's borked in the OS causing the reboots and "fix" it, set the bios back to raid, booting the "fixed" backup and copy it back to the raid. Then boot the raid (hopefully) and have windows reinstall w/e was preventing it from booting off the single drive. >.< What a headache.

    Any ideas?

    EDIT - Ok I think I have this figured out. When I first tested booting my backup, I had the 2 SSDs completely unpluged (as if that raid just failed both drives). This left only one drive pluged into the onboard sata ports. Well it turns out, even if the bios is set to raid, when there's less then 2 drives pluged in it disables the bios for the raid controller (the ctrl-I menu where you configure the raids) and won't detect a single drive. I really don't like when something makes decisions like that for me. If I set the main bios to raid I want that Intel bios to come up reguardless. What if it was a 2 drive raid and one actually did fail? Would the bios turn the raid controller off because there's only one drive? I'd rather the raid bios come up and tell me one drive has failed. See the problem here? If the bios is set to raid that intel screen should come up and tell me wtf is up. If there's nothing in the ports it should just say "no drive found" not completely disable the intel raid bios. >.< Morons. Who decided that so I can slap them?

    Right now I'm booted off the PCI-E card with my backup. I stick 2 3.5" spinners on the onboard to cause the intel raid bios to turn on. They are just temporary to test what works and what doesn't. Apperently my restarts were caused by the intel raid bios not loading. Now that the intel raid bios loads, the os will boot (off the pcie card anyways). I'm about to see if it'll boot the backup off the onboard controller.

    EDIT 2 - I'm now booted off the backup on the onboard ports with the bios set to raid. I'll have to test this one more time booting off the ssd, making a backup, pulling out the ssds and putting something else in there just to keep the raid bios enabled, and try booting the backup again. Needless to say it is totally unaceptable for the intel bios to be automatically disabled when I told the main bios I want it on. Just because it didn't detect more then one drive. It "assumes" it's not a raid so why bother enabling it? Well, um, maybe so I can see the rest of the raid that might be failed?
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2011
  24. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,534 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Location:
    Illinois
    The boot problem is verified. I have to have -something- pluged into the onboard headers to enable the Intel bios. Since Windows was setup with the Intel controller active, if the raid bios doesn't load, Windows doesn't boot. Very anoying but manageable I guess.

    I may have to RMA this board anyways. It's not powering off anymore. The power LED will go off but the system stays powered on.

    Is anyone running a Z68 Asus or Gigabyte board?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page