1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Best Power Supply Calculator I've Seen

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by nflesher87, Nov 16, 2007.

  1. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    a_ump, ShogoXT, sttubs and 1 other person say thanks.
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,582 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,977
    Very nice! Now I know it's my PSU holding me back from going over 3ghz. It makes complete sense to me too, there is quite a large jump in wattage going over 3ghz according to the calculator.
  3. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    glad to see it helped :)
    upping cpu voltage can actually make a significant difference
  4. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,970 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    294
    Is there something different from this one that's been posted before?

    It says my system takes 337 watts...

    Hah, now when is someone going to make an online amperage calculator.
  5. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    No.


    My system takes 468W according to the calculator :)
  6. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    oh I've never seen one this thorough posted
    they seem pretty accurate to me, and I like how you can input your exact overclock (clock and voltage) as well
  7. Beertintedgoggles

    Beertintedgoggles

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    720 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    194
    I've actually used that site ever since my Athlon XP-M setup, mostly just for ballpark numbers regarding my CPU overclocks. However, after performing actual measurements on my systems using both a Fluke current clamp and the on screen display of my APC UPS, the peak power draw as stated on the site is way over the actual number. True this site gives the recommended PSU wattage so it could be taking into account the extra draw on the 12V rail, but I wouldn't use it as concrete fact. My system draws 280 watts at its absolute max (running 3dMark06 for almost full SLI utilization while running Orthos in the backround to use up any free CPU cycles on both cores).

    There is also a pro version of the PSU calculator on their site that will give you the amps per rail but you have to pay for it.
  8. Grimskull New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    197 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Good find..... very useful indeed!
  9. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,773 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,226
    Actually, this isn't always the case. I used to have an AMD Opteron 148 that could do 3.1GHz easy, but after a while I noticed I could no longer get there. In fact, I had to go all the way down to 2.95 GHz to get stable. Turned out that between the high and low, I had upgraded the video card once or twice, and that extra power draw was limiting my overclock. The PSU rails weren't keeping up anymore.

    This calculator has been around for a whle, but a few months back they came up with the Pro version of this calculator, and it does do the amperage calculations for you. However, the pro version has a small nominal fee. If you get the lifetime usage pack, you can use it for 200 years! The author guaranteed me that if you lived longer than that, he's extend the membership for you ;)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    I meant upping cpu voltage can make a significant difference in power consumption :)
  11. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,773 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,226
    Thanks for clarifying. I sounded like you were saying the CPU voltage would help his OC. :laugh:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    :roll:

    Recommended PSU Wattage: * 972 Watts

    That's if I don't upgrade anymore lol
  13. DreamSeller Guest

    ty very much

    Recommended PSU Wattage: 373 watts :DD
  14. crazy pyro

    crazy pyro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,662 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    Newcastle
    This is in the PSU guide thread, it also states specifically that it over estimates the power consumption.
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,124 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,459
    last time i used this, it over estimated my PC's power usage by 200W.
  16. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,121 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    i've used that website a lot to show the estimate wattage lol and its estimated 385w with my system lol
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,124 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,459
    the only power calculator i trust is this one

    http://bakkap.free.fr/Misc/wCalc.html

    handy tool. the only problem is that it goes by whatever knowledge you have... AMD and intel dont exactly release accurate power consumption figures.
  18. sweeper

    sweeper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    796 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    SW, Ohio
    Recommended PSU Wattage: *378
  19. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Mines takes up 600 watts apparently and I have less than you guys :(

    I remember this tool I've used it before but not recently.
  20. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    560W o_O
  21. amit_talkin

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    129 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    India
    538w for me :eek:
  22. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,414 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,394
    Location:
    IA, USA
    My server is 617w, has Enermax Revolution 85+ 850w PSU.
    My desktop is 463w, has Enermax Liberty 620w PSU.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,773 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,226
    I use the pro version now, and IIRC the last few systems I built all required 900+ watts, and the last one was 74 amps!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,729 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Wow, i only need 330w ... Nice.
  25. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    How did this thread get re-awakened after so long? :wtf:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page