1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Best Ram configuration for 2 slot mobo?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Dizman7, Jan 15, 2006.

  1. Dizman7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    67 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I currently have an Asus K8N-E Deluxe (for 754) mobo it's 8x AGP and 3 ram slot but currently only have two 512MB muskin's in them.

    I'm looking at getting a new mobo for my 754, one that has PCIe as those cards are about half of there AGP counter parts and I'd get a newer chipset out of it. Anyway most the newer mobos I look at that are socket 754 with PCIe but only 2 ram slots (most I see). I recently ran this program that came with my curret mobo and after starting the computer and letting it sit for 10mins I ran this program and it showed before I did anything the ram was already at 44% usage! and this is 1GB of ram!

    So I believe I could use 2GB of ram as I game and have alot running in the background (most seem to be norton (big surprise I know) and x-fi software) but I'm also looking to spend as little as possible.

    So the real point of this thread is, with a new mobo with only 2 slots would/could I run it with one 512MB stick and one 1024MB stick for a total of 1536Mb of ram. or would I be better off (or have to) by two 1GB sticks for it to work correctly? I've always bought in pairs b4 but the different between 1536MB of ram and 2048MB of ram is about $70 or so now.
  2. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    512MB and 1024MB SHOULD work fine. You should really cut back on your background tasks though... Norton is a killer - does more harm than good, the only reason you don't get viruses is because it slows your PC down too much to do anything.
  3. G.T

    G.T New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    573 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    The other side of Hell
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
  4. Dizman7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    67 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Well I had not had any anti-virus for a long time other than common sense. I didn't open attactments from people I didn't know (hell I hardly opened them from ppl I did know), I didn't stray much from mainstream sites and didn't even dl that much other than game patches and such.

    Then after about 2-3 years of not having an anti-virus (had Norton way back in the day) or anything I had someone hack into my computer (I forget how I noticed, it's not like I know how to do this stuff) through my cable connection and drop the bomb of all viruses. I would have been better if it made it so I could do nothing at all but instead it just screwed up my computer hardcore. constant windows opening and closing, programs I want to run crashing, downloading thing I didn't want it too or start, files started disappearing.

    It seemed like what ever I opend on my computer it would spread too. lucky I didn't access my storage drive so it didn't eat that stuff up! I'm 23 now and I have stuff on that storage drive that was from when I was in high school! Stuff I use to backup on floppy, then Zip disc, then 4XCDs, now SATA 250GB storage drive (along with 90GB of game images)! It's all survived the years and the formats!

    I was pretty ticked and I knew I didn't want it to happen again, and I knew Norton would lower performance a bit but it was the lesser of two evils.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page