1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Best, safest way to flash a bios

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by ShadowFold, Jan 23, 2009.

  1. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I need to flash my DFI to the latest PII bios and I REALLY cannot kill it. I don't have a floppy drive sadly, I do have a CD burner and USB flash drive. I also have an Athlon X2 4200+ but it's my friends and I would have to borrow it if that's safer to flash it on because my semperon is slow. I was thinking the USB drive would be safer but I need a good guide.. I have seen a few but I don't know if I can trust them or not. Thanks
     
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,710 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,229
    when you find the bios at DFI there is Winflash to download with the bios file to flash in windows. If done correctly it's issue free. Done all my flashing with it and never had a bad flash with an approved bios. i did brick a board once but I knew it was comming when I did it!
     
  3. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I really don't want to flash in windows.. I have done it before on my old foxconn but this board can't die.. I don't have a backup.
     
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,710 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,229
    understood
     
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Flash from your USB drive. Only way I do it.
     
  6. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
  7. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,997 (5.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,086
    Location:
    Ohio
    I did it from a USB drive one time on my DFI board. I just downloaded the floppy drive flash program and edited the .bat file to read from c:\ instead of a:\ (the floppy drive is recgonized as c:\ when you boot into DOS)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,571 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    675
    I either use WinFlash or throw it on a flash drive.

    To put on a flash drive jsut extract the rom file to the usb drive, restart computer, get into BIOS, go to wherever it is you need to go to update bios, choose the location and flash away.
     
  9. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    DFI doesn't have a BIOS flasher in the BIOS? all my boards since an i865 GB have had the ability to flash from a USB in the BIOS....
     
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    No it actually doesnt. I know I find it odd also ....
     
  11. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    i have an msi and i flash with the windows utility as it seems reliable
     
  12. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Is there anyway I can recover from a bad flash if I do the Winflash thing? If not I will just do it via USB stick. I already formatted it. Just gotta load the BIOS onto it.
     
  13. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't it really easy to just reflash whil you're still in Windows?
    I don't know if the utility will report if a flash went bad, but the BIOS is only used during powerup of your system, so in my reasoning you should be able to flash and reflash it from Windows as long as you don't power down...

    I could be wrong though, experts please correct me ;)
     
  14. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    can anyone confirm this?
     
  15. Exeodus

    Exeodus

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    625 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    A suburb of Chicago, IL
    Here ya go. Follow the instructions on this link to setup a usb flash drive to be bootable.
    http://tw.dficlub.com/tw/modules/ne...c_id=1837&forum=27&post_id=6679#forumpost6679

    Then, copy the contents of the bios downloaded folder to the main drive folder, do place in a seperate folder. Then put in the pen drive, reboot, enter the bios, change the hard drive boot priority to the usb drive, the reboot. The usb drive will boot and and will automatically load the bios flash utility. Follw the prompts and and reboot when requested. Then load optimized defaults, save, reboot, then go back in the re-tweak your bios settings.

    This also works with Abit as well. I have a usb drive dedicated to just bios flashes.
     
  16. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Windows flashing is not that dangerous if you have stable system, power and clean OS. And in DOS is safer I guess because background processes are minimal or none there is nothing to interfire with flashing. I don`t think there is difference if you flash from floppy or USB. Ok maybe USB is little bit safer considering floppy failure rate but software before starts flashing is loading BIOS in to the RAM and checks if it is OK.
     
  17. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Possible if you have the option to shadow your bios.
     
  18. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    I'm not sure I get you correctly. My scenario would be:
    - Boot into windows
    - Flash BIOS
    - OMG BIOS is bad! Flash again
    - AFTER that reboot

    shouldn't that just work? You can take out a BIOS chip while the comp is running...
     
  19. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    On 80% newer systems they have the option of shadowing system bios already enabled and no option to disable it. What I meant by shadowing is leaving bios cacheable into system's memory.

    In other words yes, you can. But how does one do a check for a bad bios?
     
  20. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Well, at least the Asus utility does a check after flashing...
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  21. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Cool, see now that I didn't know. You teach me, I teach you . ;)
     
  22. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    - Boot into windows
    - Flash BIOS
    - OMG BIOS is bad! Flash again Ooo shit PC freezes
    - AFTER that reboot
    - Go to local store :D Or prepare for Blind FDD flashing :D
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  23. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Windoze flashing is supposed to be slightly less reliable. Some boards will let you post even after a bad flash (check your manual). Sometimes the update package + bios file > 2mb so you must use a flash drive rather than a floppy.
     
  24. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Asus was also kind enough to provide me with CrashFree on this board... I have needed it.
     
  25. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,948 (4.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,029
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    You should google "Tmods bios CD". If it's still up to date, it will be your best solution for DFI bios flashing. You simply burn the ISO, and boot from the CD. Awesome utility.
     
    ShadowFold says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page