1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Best video card that supports 4 monitors?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by kciaccio, May 8, 2011.

  1. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    I am looking to get a gaming video card that supports my four monitors.

    I don't want to use two cards for this because I want to crossfire in the future.

    Trying to keep the budget for the card to under $300.

    I don't do a lot of gaming but want the option too whenever I see a game I like.

    My monitors are only 1440x900.

    Right now the CPU I am using a AMD Athlon II X4 630 over-clocked to 3.3 from 2.8.


    Any suggestions?
     
  2. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,241 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,893
    Location:
    04578
    that would be ATi / AMD and your going to need active display port to DVI connectors if your monitors dont support dvi your screwed

    otherwise 6950 2gb.
     
  3. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    I guess i should have told you about my current GPU set up. I am using a HIS HD5750 to run three monitors-one thru display port, one tru DVI and one thru HDMI. The fourth monitor is thru a USB video connector(A lot slower than the video card outputs).
     
  4. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,241 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,893
    Location:
    04578
    well 6950 it is then, but your still going to need a 2nd Displayport active adaptor to DVI etc to make all 4 work correctly.
     
  5. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Excellent! Display port adapters are only $20 at Monoprice so that works!

    Probably in six months I would get the second card and play with crossfire.

    Not that I need that much power probably, but I love to tinker if you know what I mean.lol

    Thanks for your help.
     
  6. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,241 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,893
    Location:
    04578
    remember it needs to be an ACTIVE adapter not passive passive wont work when it comes to gaming etc.
     
  7. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    I currently use this-http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=104&cp_id=10428&cs_id=1042801&p_id=5135&seq=1&format=2

    Is it bad to use VGA connections?
     
  8. Meaker New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    52 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I thought passive modules could now handle 1080p at 60hz?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page